Chevron Left
Back to SQL for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for SQL for Data Science by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
6,983 ratings
1,814 reviews

About the Course

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top reviews

JP

Apr 06, 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

AL

Aug 22, 2020

A comprehensive course that covers major aspects of query building and retrieval in a management system. The topics were delivered well and the materials/assignments were relevant for skill-building.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 1,808 Reviews for SQL for Data Science

By EMMANOUIL S

Sep 17, 2020

I really liked this course, it was very informative and educational. It is perfect for someone that wants to learn SQL language and use it for data analysis.

By Benjamin H

Dec 30, 2019

A well-structured syllabus for non-technical background learners. The materiel is in great detailed, and the practices are helpful to reinforce new concepts.

By Gaurav D P

Jul 14, 2018

A very well structured course from the beginning excluding the final exercise that could have been better. Overall, an excellent effort by the UC Davis team!

By Job Q

Jul 27, 2020

Great introductory course. I had no knowledge about SQL and I get to understand its principles and write some interesting queries. There is a lot to learn.

By Lionel M

Apr 02, 2020

Started with no knowledge of SQL and walked away feeling like I can use this in my future career. Good starter course if you don't know anything about SQL.

By Scott A S

Jul 27, 2020

Excellent course. Great course overall. The quizzes and assignments were great at testing our skills and very interactive format to utilize SQL queries.

By Fábio M d S P

Jan 07, 2019

This course is a great option for both beginners in SQL and people with some experience that want to improve the knowledge of SQL focused in Data Science.

By M D M

Apr 16, 2020

Interesting content, nicely explained. I appreciate the quizzes and the last assignement. I will highly recommend this course as an introduction to SQL.

By ALTAMASH A S

Dec 30, 2019

I had a great experience and gathered some knowledge about the SQL which was truly good and total new for me and this course has really helped me a lot.

By David C

Jan 19, 2019

Excellent course structure. Thorough lectures and examples. Working with a real database from Yelp was very useful and made the course work enjoyable.

By Jennifer B

Jul 31, 2018

Great class. Well organized, clear, and easy to follow. The class assignments really tested my knowledge and understanding of the material. Thank you!!

By harsh r

Jan 17, 2018

Thanks for your courses as it help me understand SQL and data science as whole in a better way than I ever could have.I would recommend people join it.

By Brice A G

Apr 11, 2020

This is a great starting point for Data Scientist Enthusiasts who would like to gain or map SQL basic knowledge to the daily life of a Data Scientist.

By Burak H

Mar 10, 2018

It does a good job in teaching SQL in a simple and effective way. At the end of the course, you get a good grasp of how to use SQL to tackle problems.

By Eugene V

Aug 17, 2020

Listening to Ms. Sadie makes me attentive, her diction is perfect that I can easily understand the topics being discussed. She is also beautiful btw.

By Boris K

Jul 26, 2020

All the exams and quizzes in this course are based on the material covered within it and all concepts are explained very well and easy to understand.

By Alex K A D

Apr 19, 2020

I am very grateful to Coursera for the opportunity and Sadie St. Lawrence and Uni of California for this wonderful course. Good content and delivery.

By kalai s

Apr 14, 2020

Hello Guys.. It is a great platform to learn the SQL for Data Science

Here, Very Excellent Teaching and Its really amazing. Try it and enjoy to learn

By OGALA W I

Mar 02, 2020

This is the first course that I have taken in SQL, I must say that it is really a good course to start with. Highly recommended for a starter in SQL.

By Lyubomir H

Apr 26, 2019

This is an incredible course! It provides the basic knowledge to start exploring how to retrieve data using SQL! I strongly recommend you enroll in!

By PRATEEK V

Jun 13, 2020

Great questions to give exposure to those who are new in SQL. MCQs in between the lectures keep your focus on and helps you keep listening. Thanks.

By Jacob P R

May 01, 2019

Great course based on instructional videos and design. However, mentors in the forums seemed not to always be helpful or sometimes even misleading.

By Daniel Z

Jun 27, 2019

learned a lot of SQLite and basic SQL knowledge in a short amount of time. exercises and lectures were pretty helpful in understanding everything.

By Emilija D

Apr 23, 2020

Wonderful and easy going cource. I have missed only a bit more examples and maybe links to certificated websites where I could use SQL knowledge.

By Paulo F

Feb 10, 2020

Sadie was wonderfull and all te materials where a great help! Enjoyed doing the assignment! This will help be a great deal on my day to day job!