Chevron Left
Back to SQL for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for SQL for Data Science by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
9,569 ratings
2,493 reviews

About the Course

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top reviews

JP
Apr 5, 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

MP
Jul 17, 2020

best course for learning SQL for beginners.I learned so much from this course.the speaking language is also simple ..So i Recommended this course for beginners who's 2nd or third language is English.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 2,483 Reviews for SQL for Data Science

By Ronny f

Oct 5, 2020

Very nice and clean course. There is a discussion useful forum and the instructions are clear and contributed to my knowledge of understanding the fundamentals of SQL

By Eli G

May 7, 2020

Excellent Course for SQL beginners! The modules are very well done with just enough information to equip learners with important nuisances of SQL. Highly recommended!

By Hadar S

Feb 25, 2020

This course helped me refresh my SQL knowledge and get me ready for some Job interviews, Sadie is a very good professor and the practice quizzes are great. Thank you!

By Wanxin H

Aug 16, 2019

Good and systematic course settings, combining knowledge with real world practice. Not only prepare you for coding itself but provide the proper mindset. recommended!

By Fernando E S B

Nov 25, 2020

Es un curso bien estructurado y ejecutado, la instrucción impartida es clara y concreta, por lo que este curso es una magnifica opción para quienes vayan a usar SQL.

By Mridupawan D

Feb 7, 2020

It has been a great pleasure to learn this course. Many thanks to Sadie Lawrence. Great teacher with equally great presentation of this vast and complicated subject.

By Livio R

May 23, 2019

Short but concise videos! I also liked the mix of videos, quizzes and coding assignments. In general, the course is a very good introduction for beginners. Good job!

By ALFREDO B

Apr 12, 2021

The course was very clear and easy to understand. The timing is also reachable.

I already knew come concepts, but I learned lot of ideas and new uses of SQL. Thanks

By Lisa K

Jan 25, 2021

Clear and interesting course. I would have preferred to have practice exercises earlier. Not just at the end of each week, but after the specific explanation video.

By Chris W

Apr 29, 2020

Great introduction to SQL and its use in Data Science. Some great practical applications from someone that uses it on a daily basis. I would definitely recommend.

By J S

Oct 14, 2020

Sadie was an excellent instructor. She was engaging and professional. I should have taken this course before jumping into the SQL / Python course in Data Analysis.

By Viacheslav V D

Jul 29, 2020

I think this course gets its purpose right for the starters, but you'll need to learn more to progress in the field of data acquisition. Good course, nevertheless.

By VIJAY V

Jun 29, 2020

It is extremely fine course with meticulously designed syllabus, delivery methodology and evaluation mechanism. Enjoyed learning the course and wish to learn more.

By Alok K

Dec 22, 2017

This course builds blocks to work with SQL. After week-2 it requires logical thinking to solve assignments. The lectures and the way it has delivered ain't boring.

By Cesar A A R

Oct 25, 2020

Al final se me complicó mucho el ánalisis de datos dado que mi experiencia era nula en ese ámbito. Creo que podrían recomendar bibliografía básica para ese rubro.

By Aditya B

Mar 27, 2019

A great experience. The material was very appropriate and precise. I would love to see more details added in it as Data Science is a continuously expanding field.

By Eric Y

Dec 23, 2020

The course is helpful for beginners of SQL. You can learn basic but useful knowledge. I believe the concept can really implement in our real working environment.

By PRADEEP P

Nov 25, 2020

BASICS of SQL - this course will do wonders !!!

Easy to follow and the content is quite understandable.

Nice assignments and Peer Evaluations gave new insights !!!

By harsh k

Jul 7, 2020

The small things are explained beautifully and I really like the way the course is structured. It enables a new learner to gather the skills in a logical manner.

By saket c

Sep 29, 2020

the teaching is really good but I when did the final peer review quiz , i fount some questions difficult to solve , as in they were pretty hard for a beginner .

By Shikari H

May 30, 2020

One of the most transparent and easy to follow courses on SQL! Thanks very much, I wish there was a whole specialization so I could continue with the same pace.

By Marco A S B

May 24, 2020

Amazing course, it gives you a clear vision of how to use SQL in data analysis. Also, the instructor is very clear and give a lot of good complementary material

By chaitanya

Aug 19, 2019

The course content was good and educative. The quiz and coding exercises are challenging to the point of enforcing your brain to register what you have learned.

By Edgar C P

Aug 11, 2020

Excelente curso. Se aprende de manera sencilla y se termina programando SQL con soltura. Eso sí, hay que trabajarlo y recomiendo encarecidamente tomar apuntes.

By Arundhati J

Jul 2, 2020

One of the most important skill that is required these days . The course was very nicely planned ad all the key concepts were nicely explained by the teachers.