Chevron Left
Back to SQL for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for SQL for Data Science by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
9,527 ratings
2,485 reviews

About the Course

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top reviews

JP
Apr 5, 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

AT
Nov 17, 2020

Well it was a short course, the assignments are a little bit repetitive (mostly in the last). The course reviews every 'practical' aspects of SQL, how to assemble the bricks while writing queries,...

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 2,475 Reviews for SQL for Data Science

By Pieter W

May 2, 2021

It was just fun doing this course. Explanations were clear and the assignments did right to the course and left room for own initiative building code.

By Stephen M

Sep 24, 2020

This is a fantastic course. Well packaged and presented to give insights into practical, useful concepts and principles. I enjoyed every bit of it.

By Gateka B A

Apr 11, 2020

This is a great starting point for Data Scientist Enthusiasts who would like to gain or map SQL basic knowledge to the daily life of a Data Scientist.

By Burak H

Mar 10, 2018

It does a good job in teaching SQL in a simple and effective way. At the end of the course, you get a good grasp of how to use SQL to tackle problems.

By Eugene V

Aug 16, 2020

Listening to Ms. Sadie makes me attentive, her diction is perfect that I can easily understand the topics being discussed. She is also beautiful btw.

By Boris K

Jul 26, 2020

All the exams and quizzes in this course are based on the material covered within it and all concepts are explained very well and easy to understand.

By Alex K A D

Apr 19, 2020

I am very grateful to Coursera for the opportunity and Sadie St. Lawrence and Uni of California for this wonderful course. Good content and delivery.

By kalai s

Apr 14, 2020

Hello Guys.. It is a great platform to learn the SQL for Data Science

Here, Very Excellent Teaching and Its really amazing. Try it and enjoy to learn

By OGALA W I

Mar 2, 2020

This is the first course that I have taken in SQL, I must say that it is really a good course to start with. Highly recommended for a starter in SQL.

By Kseniia K

Nov 10, 2020

The lecturer explains very clearly, and there are just enough tasks to understand how is it used on practics. A good thing to understand the basics.

By Lubomir H

Apr 26, 2019

This is an incredible course! It provides the basic knowledge to start exploring how to retrieve data using SQL! I strongly recommend you enroll in!

By Yusuf C K

May 9, 2021

If you want to learn sql and looking for solid foundations. This is the one you need. Combined with a real good assignment and real world problems.

By PRATEEK V

Jun 13, 2020

Great questions to give exposure to those who are new in SQL. MCQs in between the lectures keep your focus on and helps you keep listening. Thanks.

By Jacob P R

May 1, 2019

Great course based on instructional videos and design. However, mentors in the forums seemed not to always be helpful or sometimes even misleading.

By Daniel Z

Jun 26, 2019

learned a lot of SQLite and basic SQL knowledge in a short amount of time. exercises and lectures were pretty helpful in understanding everything.

By Daniel R B R

Dec 12, 2020

It is a very good course, it explains the importance of a previous analysis before executing any code and being very aware of what you want to do

By Emilija D

Apr 23, 2020

Wonderful and easy going cource. I have missed only a bit more examples and maybe links to certificated websites where I could use SQL knowledge.

By Rakshit D

Feb 11, 2021

Excellent course to understand SQL and important points and hints are covered. Assignment, Questionairs and Peer-Graded project is very helpful.

By Kristina M

Oct 25, 2020

Great material and lectures that cover a lot of great material. Instructor made it feel like an in-person class and was very pleasant and clear.

By Paulo F

Feb 9, 2020

Sadie was wonderfull and all te materials where a great help! Enjoyed doing the assignment! This will help be a great deal on my day to day job!

By Saurabh P

Jan 7, 2019

An amazing course! Covers so many topics in these lectures yet it feels like it was just done so easily and the way of teaching is just amazing.

By Emilio G P

Nov 25, 2020

I started learning SQL from 0 and it has been a nice course to follow to have a good basic understanding of what SQL is. I highly recommend it.

By Aveek A

Nov 17, 2020

Very impressive course for beginners to learn all about SQL. This course is very in depth learning and lots of exercises to practice and learn.

By Rishi P

Jun 30, 2020

I liked the lectures of the course a lot. They were informative while being concise. The assignment at the end was the best part in my opinion.

By Sourabh S

Jun 21, 2020

Such a great course provided by Coursera with great teaching faculty who made this course very easy to understand by giving real life examples.