Chevron Left
Back to SQL for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for SQL for Data Science by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
9,847 ratings
2,553 reviews

About the Course

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top reviews

JP
Apr 5, 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

MP
Jul 17, 2020

best course for learning SQL for beginners.I learned so much from this course.the speaking language is also simple ..So i Recommended this course for beginners who's 2nd or third language is English.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 2,547 Reviews for SQL for Data Science

By Imran C D

Aug 18, 2020

To be honest I learned a lot of things from this course which I did not learn from the Database courses which I took in University.

By Siddharth K

Jul 7, 2020

A course with full of concepts for beginners as well as for advance ones

theory part is interesting and Question are also very good

By Chandira I

Jan 26, 2021

This provides a very good foundation for beginners in SQL. Also, really appreciate the enthusiastic tutor that keep me focused! :)

By dipen p

Jun 26, 2020

As finance professional, there is great demand for knowing basic SQL. This course did just that and more. Well structured. Amazing

By RISHIKA J

May 11, 2020

Helped in increasing my interest towards Data Science. Amazingly designed course. Will surely recommend to everyone in this field.

By Toan V T

Feb 3, 2018

Great course for getting a good general understanding of SQL. The course material was paced very well and explain items very well.

By Shankar G L

Dec 19, 2020

Best course for freshers. But in order to complete the assignment we need to learn some extra content from other websites.Enjoy!

By Ngo D K

Jul 2, 2020

This is a great course for learning SQL. The material and quiz are well organized. The instructor is really nice and professional

By Katarzyna B

Apr 22, 2020

Perfect course for beginners as well as for people with some experience in SQL. Information is presented in an understandable and

By Sachin t

Jan 30, 2019

This course is structured very well. Used concepts widely used in Data Science/Engineers work.

Few concepts required more details.

By Tyler K

Aug 31, 2020

This was an enjoyable approach to learning SQL. I felt that some areas could have been more in depth but overall a good course.

By Surjit S

Aug 12, 2020

I find this course really interesting and useful. Things are clearly explained and that makes it easier to understand and apply.

By Mohammed B S

Nov 11, 2020

Good course for beginners but last assignment needs some clear instructions and guidelines to make questions understand easily.

By Ritwik K

Aug 16, 2020

Very nice course, I loved it. Instructor was very good. This course was structured in a very nice way to understand everything.

By Vaibhav N

Jul 21, 2020

This course helped me a lot, As had no previous knowledge about SQL, And Instructor will hold your hand through out the course.

By HITESH K

Apr 5, 2020

I loved it very much. Interesting to play with data. I will continue to learn more deeply on data science.

Thanks to Coursera :)

By Louis C

May 13, 2019

great introduction course for SQL, devoted lecturer, good teaching style, sufficient exercises to practice, highly recommended!

By Janet C

Nov 11, 2018

The assignments were fun and helpful in learning SQL and presentational slides were also very clear and effective for learning.

By Levaine H I

Apr 4, 2018

This course was very good, easy to follow and understand. The quiz and coding tasks were useful and made it easier to practice.

By Account R

Oct 19, 2020

This course was truly useful, interesting, with easy explanations and gradual complication. Many thanks to Sadie St. Lawrence!

By Klorence W

Sep 25, 2020

This is a very good introduction to those who are unfamiliar with SQL and I've gained a lot from it. Thank the course team !!!

By Pakomius Y N

Sep 21, 2020

Pembelajaran dalam coursera terutama topik SQL For DataScience sangat mengasyikan,karena penyajian kursus yang begitu menarik.

By THABANG S M

Jul 21, 2020

It's a fun course to learn and introduces you to a simple, easily used programming language that is used everyday in industry.

By Calvin C

Jun 23, 2019

easy to understand with hands-on on examples and this is from someone who had never worked with sql or coding software before!

By Andreas A

Jan 28, 2021

I really recommending taking this course. Just be aware that it is not so obvious how to get started on the final assignment.