Chevron Left
Back to SQL for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for SQL for Data Science by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
11,149 ratings
2,904 reviews

About the Course

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top reviews

JG
Aug 22, 2021

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

JP
Apr 5, 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 2,956 Reviews for SQL for Data Science

By Victoria A

Jul 14, 2020

I can't pay for the course to get certificate. The free 7 days subscriptions never ends. So I can't send the tests to get results and get the certificate.. Lost a lot of time... Too bad

By 鄭明軒

Jan 2, 2020

Week 4 assignment isn't prepared well for the students to use the skills they learned, and issues posted on the forum left uncleared forever.

By Deleted A

Dec 29, 2020

Questions scored incorrectly though they are correct.

By Rajnish K J

Jul 5, 2020

Most of the command line does not work.

By Шайдуллин А

Aug 3, 2020

In general, the course is not bad, but there are a number of disadvantages, ranging from minor to serious omissions. I wanted to give the course 3 stars, but the last homework was quite fun and productive (you can put 4.5, according to the rules of mathematics, round to 5, but with a very large advance). The basic skills were acquired during the last assignment.

First, about the benefits of the course:

1+ In the course, you can practice on real data without using other software, it is really useful and productive;

2+ Theoretical aspects are more than enough;

3+ Theoretical tests correspond to the lecture materials.

Now to the disadvantages (there are still more of them), first to the serious ones:

1- There is a lot of so-called "Water", information that is completely unimportant and purely theoretical. Almost the entire first week was devoted to theory ("Why is this subject important? Separation of duties among employees, etc.). I think the course would have done well without these materials. Often, one fourth of the length of each video is an explanation of what we will be studying today. I think , the student wants to quickly learn important material for him.

2- The first 2 weeks of coding looks very good, easy to understand and solve for yourself. But something strange happened on week 3, the tasks became much more complicated, they did not correspond to the lecture materials, where theoretical material was mainly given. Week 4 has already been done normally. Probably, without prompts (sometimes direct), I could not have done these tasks. It was very difficult!

3- The course is rather short (only 4 weeks), little time is devoted to programming, there is not enough practice, maybe it was even worth adding a small invaluable practice after each video.

4- The lecturer tried to convey the idea that the usual repetition of programming steps may be ineffective. Unfortunately, today, nothing is better than "I copy after the lecturer, who explains something in parallel, and then independently practice it on real data." The lecturer's methodology was not the most effective; nevertheless, after completing the course, many questions remain.

Minor disadvantages:

- For the convenience of work, you can download the presentation of the lecture, but I think it is convenient for some students to print these lectures and work. Unfortunately, the design and background were chosen in a dark color, which is why the material after printing is inconvenient to read (-a lot of paint is wasted), it is rather difficult to correct it yourself.

- The material chosen for reading by the lecturer is slightly robotic, it is convenient to set at a speed of 1.25 or 1.5.

In any case, I was able to familiarize myself with this programming language, I was able to learn something. I think one day it will suit me. At the moment, I still prefer to work in Python and other programs. I was still able to get a certificate of completion of the course. Thanks for the course and thanks for your attention to this long comment! Hope it helps you get better! Good luck :)

By Alois T

Nov 18, 2020

Well it was a short course, the assignments are a little bit repetitive (mostly in the last). The course reviews every 'practical' aspects of SQL, how to assemble the bricks while writing queries,...

By Dheanda A

Jun 22, 2021

Thank you for the material that was presented well and clearly. I got to know better how to use SQL for data science. Hopefully, by learning this, I can implement it in the future as a Data Analyst.

By Ashley A M

Jun 8, 2019

Great introductory to the SQL programming. This will definitely not only add another programming skill but also give me more capabilities programming in SAS. I would recommend this to anyone.

By Mohamed A

Sep 29, 2019

The Course was quiet good & descriptive, yet it didn't cover a lot of SQL such as how to use its platforms and how to connect to database, also, the differences between other platforms.

By Gary L

May 3, 2018

This was an amazing course. I learned so much practical and application skills from the course. The lectures are great, as our the assignments and tests.

Thank you for a great time!

By Tanmay C

Jul 1, 2020

Great course with lots of things to learn about SQL. Assignments were pretty challenging and the instructor explained the concepts nicely. A fantastic course to start with SQL.

By Victoria T

Sep 16, 2019

Sadie St. Lawrence is a completely motivating person. Thank you, Sadie, for such an excellent combination of professional teaching and interesting tasks. Well-balanced course

By Maxine L

Dec 22, 2018

Very clear and useful class! The outline of each module is easy to understand and follow, and the assignment is helpful to strengthen SQL skills.

By DIVYA M

Jun 30, 2020

Even though i have learned SQL from many sources but this is a complete package, felt completed after completing this course.

By Megan H

Dec 21, 2018

So helpful! Really helped me learn SQL on a level that I am confident enough to add it to my resume.

By manish r

Nov 30, 2018

Good course. The peer assignments was a bit challenging hence most interesting as well.

By UDHAYA P V

Apr 22, 2020

Comparing to other stuffs, this is really brilliant

By hridaya s

Jul 1, 2020

Very nicely communicated

By shubham

Jan 24, 2019

i want my money back

By Sandipan C

Nov 11, 2019

The course was pretty good for a beginner. The instructor was very clear and explained all the concepts in a very easy to grasp manner. However, the entire course could do with more coding exercises. Concepts such as joins, group, etc could be better understood if there were more exercises. Also, during the coding exercise (at the end of the week) it would be really helpful if correct answer and an explanation would have been provided. Having said that, its really good for beginners and I would and have recommended this to others.

By Chloe W

Oct 31, 2018

=) Very clear walkthrough of important concepts in SQL and why use certain functions for certain tasks.

=( Wish there were more practice questions so it's more interative.

=( Also it would be great if there are more "real-life" SQL practices that involve solving for an actual question that you might encounter as a data scientist working for a tech company.

Thanks so much for sharing this with us, Sadie!

By Alex H

Jun 30, 2020

Thought some of the intuitive thinking was a bit challenging, but really liked how the sqlite server was built into the course and didn't require any download or off-site work. Think some of the time estimates should be a bit longer, but overall good course.

By Prashanna G

Mar 5, 2020

Good course for anyone starting to learn SQL but the course needs more assignments to ensure that the learners have got a good understanding of the concepts. Also, the final project is a bit overwhelming to do without prior experience in SQL.

By Sagar

Jul 29, 2021

course was designed good. but i would advised to have a bit of Sql knowldge from youtube so that you will be able to understand everything much better.

By Deepak G

Jul 1, 2020

A nice course for introduction with SQL but they could have used the software currently used in the industry like oracle's MySQL or SQL server.