Chevron Left
Back to SQL for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for SQL for Data Science by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
11,171 ratings
2,910 reviews

About the Course

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top reviews

JP
Apr 5, 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

JG
Aug 22, 2021

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

Filter by:

2351 - 2375 of 2,961 Reviews for SQL for Data Science

By Andrzej J

May 6, 2020

Good course, but in my opinion it should be less general talking and more coding examples:) thank you for sharing the knowledge:)

By Sidy S

Oct 22, 2020

C'est très pratique, même si j'avais eu des difficultés de compréhension au début. Mais ça m'a beaucoup aider. Merci d'avance.

By Vivienne L

Sep 4, 2019

Surprisingly good teaching. The course was well structured and I felt like I got a solid foundation in using SQL query building.

By Chandrakant k

Jun 19, 2020

This course is designed with a lot of effort and is surely for a industry ready approach .

assignments are also at a good level.

By Alvee A

May 14, 2020

Solid basics provided throughout the course. However, mentors' and instructor's activity in the discussion forum is not enough.

By Chirag P K

Jan 1, 2020

The course is very well framed,i like the way the teacher delivers her data to us. Thumbs up!

Thank you Coursera for such a gem!

By Cristhian R A G

Aug 5, 2020

The only thing I would add to the course is a how to install sql database management platform. Otherwise, it is a great curse

By Abhinav G

Jul 10, 2020

a brilliant course.

a few more examples and simulations needed and how the output looks like should be included in the videos

By Yeduresam R K

Aug 20, 2020

this course will very help full. please give some coding examples along with answers. that will help us to understand more.

By Martín M R

Aug 17, 2020

Some more practice excercises could be useful. The explanations are very good and the pace of the lessons is easy to follow.

By Pradeep K Y

Aug 13, 2020

I like this course , it's cover all the topics with proper assignments that help me to improve my sql skills.

Thanks Coursera

By truthcompels

Mar 23, 2021

Honestly, wish the course had practice problems. Maybe I'm just new to coursera, had to practice with my own utilities haha

By Nishant P M

Jun 16, 2020

The course was pretty well compiled and presented. However, would have liked if they had gone more in depth into the topics

By Hector

May 19, 2019

This is a comprehensive SQL course. It might take a bit more time to complete the assignments than stated by its creators.

By Dane P

Dec 14, 2018

Mostly good- the week with joins was rough (made too many conceptual leaps, didn't make sense with prior course knowledge).

By Mohammed M S

Dec 10, 2017

I think you should allow audit people also to look into the quiz results, Its a good course and i really enjoy the learning

By Jeetash R

Nov 5, 2018

The course is good for Data science. It would good to add more concepts like store procedures, functions and index .. etc

By Derek H

Feb 8, 2018

A great introduction to aggregating and extracting data from data tables with the data scientist as the intended audience.

By Guillermo S

Feb 14, 2020

Loved it! But sometimes they used terms that are not explained before and there are small and few mistakes in the videos.

By Pooja P

Jan 25, 2020

The course helped me understand the basic concepts in SQL which are required to be a good data scientist. Thank you Team.

By Stefano M

Dec 2, 2019

I've learn a lot about retrieving data and writing simple query. Really Useful course to learn how to handle lot of data.

By Dipanjan C

Nov 11, 2018

More Practice sessions with real world complex SQL queries are requested, to build confidence for interviews and the like

By Cristopher E M M

Sep 3, 2021

This course is so easy to manage and is complete. If you have some troubles you cand find your answer througth internet.

By Prasad G

Jul 20, 2020

Great experience! I learnt more about data and how to manage data as well. Yes! It helps m in improve my database skills

By Michael F

Jul 14, 2021

I must say for a video learning course that wasn't too bad. It videos were not too long or too short for each section.