Chevron Left
Back to Supply Chain Management: A Learning Perspective

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Supply Chain Management: A Learning Perspective by Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology(KAIST)

4.6
453 ratings
135 reviews

About the Course

As a human being, we all consume products and/or services all the time. This morning you got up and ate your breakfast, e.g., eggs, milk, bread, fresh fruits, and the like. After the breakfast, you drove your car to work or school. At your office, you used your computer, perhaps equipped with 27” LCD monitor. During your break, you drank a cup of coffee and played with your iPhone. So on and so forth. You probably take it for granted that you can enjoy all of these products. But if you take a closer look at how each of these products can be made and eventually delivered to you, you will realize that each one of these is no short of miracle. For example, which fruit do you like? Consider fresh strawberries. In order for the strawberries to be on your breakfast table, there must be numerous functions, activities, transactions, and people involved in planting, cultivating, delivering, and consuming strawberries. Moreover, all of these functions, activities, transactions, and people are connected as an integral chain, through which physical products like strawberries themselves and virtual elements such as information and communication flow back and forth constantly. By grouping related functions or activities, we have a supply chain, comprised of four primary functions such as supplier, manufacturer, distributor, and finally consumer. A supply chain is essentially a value chain. For the society or economy as a whole, the goal is to maximize value, i.e., to create satisfactory value without spending too much. In order to create the maximum value for the strawberry supply chain, every participant in the chain must carry out its function efficiently. In addition, all of the members must coordinate with each other effectively in order to ensure value maximization. We have to face the same issues for almost all the products and services we take for granted in our everyday life, e.g., cars, hamburgers, haircuts, surgeries, movies, banks, restaurants, and you name it! In this course, we want to understand fundamental principles of value creation for the consumers or the market. We try to answer questions like how the product or service is made, how the value-creating activities or functions are coordinated, who should play what leadership roles in realizing all these, and so on. As our course title hints, we approach all of these issues from a learning perspective, which is dynamic in nature and emphasizes long-term capability building rather than short-term symptomatic problem solving....

Top reviews

MP

Apr 04, 2017

Thank you for giving me excellent information on supply chain management.It is very helpful course for me. Thank you Korea advanced institute of science and technology and coursera.

SS

Aug 01, 2016

I was really an honor to have certification under KAIST and professor Bowon Kim, it was really a great experience to have this certification under your guidance. Thank you.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 131 Reviews for Supply Chain Management: A Learning Perspective

By 李予周1314

Jun 19, 2018

真的非常喜欢KIM教授,讲的简单易懂。希望能有PPT可以日后复习!!Thanks,!!!

By OMOTAYO

May 28, 2018

Quite interesting and elaborate. It was very practical for me as i have the responsibility of managing raw materials where i work and i also interact with both internal customer i.e users of the materials and eternal customers i.e suppliers. I immediately started applying the principles learnt and it has been quite helpful

By Heraimatam m

Oct 14, 2018

THANK YOU , VERY MUCH FOR PROVIDING ME THE COURSE

By Shihab I A

Aug 10, 2018

Great course! Everything is explained from the basics and very detailed,

Would recommend!

By Cristian C G C

Aug 16, 2018

Amazing Course

By Natalia

Nov 17, 2018

Thanks a lot! Very useful course, well explained!

By Bing W

Jul 04, 2019

Very good one

By Shashank S

Jul 08, 2019

This particular course helped me gain knowledge in supply chain

It has changed my perspective about the same.

The lecturer is great Mr bowon kim.

I thank the KAIST Community for helping me with the course and also thank Mr brown without which it would have been impossible to complete the same .

By Prasanth B

Jul 09, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. This course really helped to gain theoretical knowledge about Supply Chain Management and the different factors involved in it. I liked the real-life practical examples of companies given by Professor Bowon Kim and he is absolutely awesome at teaching and explains things so well. I can tell he genuinely cared about making the material interesting to everyone. I would recommend this course to whoever wants to gain knowledge in the field of Supply chain management.

By Julio J S A

May 26, 2019

Es un enfoque muy bueno, la teoría muy bien sustentada, es un visión muy completa de la cadena de valor, muy recomendable

By Carlos A M d O G

Jun 09, 2019

Amazing teacher and an amazing course.

By Katrina C

Jul 23, 2019

The course is informative and the lecturer gives plenty of real-world examples, making it easy to understand and enjoyable to learn.

By Aditya S

Aug 06, 2019

Excellent Course for beginners

By Bernard N

Apr 23, 2019

I like the course and the new knowledge of the supply chain management, i would like to achieve the certificate for this course

By Niranjan M

Sep 01, 2019

It has been a very good knowledge enhancement for SCM course

By Ahmed E

Oct 01, 2019

Great introduction to Supply chain management. Great lectures, easy to follow and understand.

By Armando G E S

Nov 04, 2016

A nice introductory overlook to SCM intricacies. Very complete with a lot of useful examples, and explaining a lot of basic concepts.

By Iman

Nov 18, 2019

it is really useful and i have learnt a lots of things. highly recommended specially for student

By Pritam D

Oct 20, 2019

It was a really good course and it helped me in learning lot of useful SCM concepts

By Agus M

Nov 23, 2019

The course is very clear and the contents are value, I have clear understanding of many things about SCM after this course, many thanks and highly appreciated

By Christopher D

Nov 02, 2019

Great course to start off with SCM!

By Debojit S

Jan 19, 2019

This course beautifully lays out major concepts involved in Supply Chain Management. It is great foundation course for a beginner who is interested in taking up this subject.

By j d

Feb 21, 2019

it helps me a lot in the field of management

By sergio a o d

Feb 28, 2019

Clear and easy teaching,

thanks mister Kim.

By Quinn E

Mar 29, 2019

Great course, very informative.