Chevron Left
Back to Introduction To Swift Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction To Swift Programming by University of Toronto

3.9
stars
1,362 ratings
359 reviews

About the Course

Introduction to Swift Programming is the first course in a four part specialization series that will provide you with the tools and skills necessary to develop an iOS App from scratch. By the end of this first course you will be able to demonstrate intermediate application of programming in Swift, the powerful new programming language for iOS. Guided by best practices you will become proficient with syntax, object oriented principles, memory management, functional concepts and more in programming with Swift. This course is unique in its dedication to teaching Swift programming. With new features and capabilities you will be at the forefront of writing iOS apps. Currently this course is taught using Swift 2. The team is aware of the release of Swift 3 and will be making edits to the course in time. Please be aware that at this time the instruction is entirely with Swift 2. Please note that to take part in this course (and the full specialization) it is required to have a Mac computer and, though not required, ideally an iPhone, iPod, or an iPad. NOTE: This course has been designed and tested (and content delivered) on a Mac. While we are aware of hacks and workarounds for running Mac in a virtual machine on windows we do not recommended a PC. We hope you have fun on this new adventure....

Top reviews

SI

Jan 14, 2016

The course seemed to be very easy, I'd say even disappointingly easy, but then, when I started the final assignment, I realized that I was wrong. And it was so much fun developing filters.

HU

Jan 31, 2016

This course, specifically the last week, really helps in gaining understanding of how the digital images are being processed on the back of a applications. Nice job tutors!

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 351 Reviews for Introduction To Swift Programming

By Victor I

Jul 11, 2020

This course does walk you through the basics of Swift. However, I was disappointed that various steps along the way, the version of Swift was outdated. This was especially apparent in the last assignment, when the supporting provided code didn't compile.

Also, it took many days to get someone to review my assignment.

Bottom line: you will learn the basics, but you will be hampered by the Swift and Xcode incompatibilities. I'm not going to proceed with this series, and instead go with an alternate course.

By Mark B

Apr 10, 2016

There are only a few hours of content across the five weeks. The whole course can be done in a single evening. However, if you try this starting from no programming experience it will likely be extremely hard to complete. Since the course has as a prerequisite that you can already code this shouldn't be an issue for anyone.

By GrantvS

Oct 02, 2015

A resource if your starting with Swift. Video quality is often poor. Examples are a bit too contrived. Generally, presentations should be better prepared, too much figuring things out during the video. Good choice of project for the practical.Many interesting coding practice tidbits along the way but needs polish.

By Lucas R A

Apr 08, 2016

I think its good that its given reference material for further readings, but this shouldn't exonerate you from explaining the details of the language, if I wanted to learn swift from apple's documentation I would be there right now, not here, if I'm watching your course its because I expect to learn it here.

By Martyna M

May 23, 2016

The videos are poorly done, and it's hard to follow with practicing in a Playground at the same time. Also, some of the optional material, is required for completing the assessment, which a bit unfair. The material covered in the videos is too basic to be able to apply the principles to a larger programme.

By Nick A

Mar 14, 2016

Thank you for the course.

With all my respect to authors, I have something to say:

I beleave all 4 cources in the spesialization could be combine to one. Looks like authors may invest more time and passion to it. I just skipped all videos with Parham Aarabi.

By Magali B

Dec 05, 2015

The course was very well organized, but the main topics of the course were still covered. The lessons needed to be more structured and not so ad-hoc. The final assignment was peer reviewed, but the feedback (based on student feedback) was not very useful.

By Yağmur D A

Jun 27, 2018

I think this course should not be based on image processing as the name of the course is introduction to swift programming but image processing is not that common. You could teach about database, feed and that kind of more essential things.

By Rimantas L

Dec 08, 2015

The format and structure of this class needs some improvement. Having to write some code each weak would be better than answering quizzes and doing the first lines of Swift at the end of the class.

By Liya, H

Jun 01, 2016

The teaching content is not at the same level of what required to complete the final project, which frustrated the beginners and also stop me from finishing the whole course. What a pity!

By Philipp S

Sep 01, 2017

Good course and the basics are well explained, but the final exam is way more difficult than the rest of the course and for beginners it´s impossible to do this without researching.

By Amador C

Sep 22, 2015

The material is OK, the video quality is regular and the instructors are childish. I prefer the Android specialization where the instructors are more mature and professional.

By Ziyu L

Oct 13, 2016

Overall the course provides a good introduction to the swift language. However, this course is not suitable for completely new learners.

By Fedya S

Jun 07, 2017

Very basic language features are covered by course. A lot of external links to Apple.com which is more up to date then this course.

By Jussi S

Jun 19, 2016

Good course. Somewhat odd levels of difficulty. Like the weekly lessons are easy and then the wall goes up in the task at week 5.

By Erkin U

Oct 26, 2016

The course should have more programming assignments than just having simple quizzes. And please update the language for SWIFT 3.

By Salvatore P

Oct 19, 2015

Professors talk too fast and in an English for those who do not speak often difficult. Extra Stress: swift and English

By Babak F

Oct 21, 2015

Somewhat useful, but suffers from what seems to be bad planning and a general lack of focus.

By 卢燚

Oct 11, 2015

Tedious introduction, delayed second week. Hope that the following section will be better.

By Mauricio C

Jan 29, 2017

It definitively could be a whole lot better, look and learn from Udacity's nanodegree.

By David M

Feb 03, 2016

Good introduction, it would be even better with a few more presentation on SWIFT.

By Daniel H J

May 08, 2016

Enjoyed the lectures. I wish there would be more materials to practice with.

By Deleted A

Jan 25, 2016

I'd like to have practice tasks during the course not only the final one

By Guru P C S

Dec 06, 2015

Went in a slow pace. Enjoyed the modules, especially final assignment.

By Simon G

Oct 20, 2015

This course really need examples in final assignment