Chevron Left
Back to The Science of Well-Being

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Science of Well-Being by Yale University

4.9
stars
32,685 ratings
11,571 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will engage in a series of challenges designed to increase your own happiness and build more productive habits. As preparation for these tasks, Professor Laurie Santos reveals misconceptions about happiness, annoying features of the mind that lead us to think the way we do, and the research that can help us change. You will ultimately be prepared to successfully incorporate a specific wellness activity into your life. THE SCIENCE OF WELL BEING WAS PRODUCED IN PART DUE TO THE GENEROUS FUNDING OF THE DAVID F. SWENSEN FUND FOR INNOVATION IN TEACHING....

Top reviews

LH

Aug 21, 2020

Great fun way of learning about personal thought processing, attitudes and well-being.\n\nVery helpful course to get me to assess my life and how to make the changes I needed to improve my well-being.

AA

Jan 12, 2021

This course really helped me a lot, I am grateful with Laurie Santos and her team, the people involved into this great project. The oriented me into understanding valuable states of being and actions.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 10,000 Reviews for The Science of Well-Being

By Courtney H

May 28, 2020

So glad I took this course. I had been eyeing it out for over a year and decided to finally take it once I was home all the time due to the pandemic. I learned a lot from this course, much more than I expected, and I have been telling everyone I know to take it as well. Dr. Santos is warm and engaging which makes the course content easy to learn and understand. My happiness levels have increased significantly since completing the course and I honestly can't recommend this course enough. If you even have a slight inclination toward taking this course, just go for it!

By Dawn S

Jun 17, 2020

This course has supported me through this Covid -19 lockdown period. I have found much benefits and self development over the whole 10 weeks.

I have been supporting UK front line health-care workers with their emotional and mental wellbeing via counselling, and this was a restful place to return to and engage in my own grounding and kindness to self practices again.

I would recommend this course 100% to anyone wanting to tap into their own experiential learning and self-development as I have grown much and reflected lots on my 'New' choicefulness and requirements .

By Kirsten M

Jun 2, 2020

I enjoyed this short course as a dive into what makes us happy and to challenge what we *think* makes us happy. The interesting lectures and assignments to work through flow well and give you just the right amount of work without feeling too overwhelmed, making it suitable for someone in a full-time position or those not working at all. I would recommend this course to anyone wanting to check in with your own thoughts on the issue, to make adjustments and to really make lasting changes that can help make your personal well-being journey attainable on a daily basis.

By Merza I

May 23, 2020

I’ve learned more about myself. I am very grateful for the Rewirement Challenges, because Dr. Santos showed, which activities can be done to make us happier. These activities are very effective, they are for free and can be done in all kind of circumstances – it’s hard to say any excuse why someone can’t do the Gratitude Rewirement, as it can be done during traveling or if someone is sick. Lot of times we think we need to buy something to be happy, and after the course I am more aware of the advertisings which refer to this – “Buy me to be happier/more beautiful!”.

By Kimberley F

Apr 30, 2018

Great course, very practical suggestions that have easy to use suggestions to guide you. I like simple changes you can make with daily habits that are not hard to work in. I Like the supported science behind it, for clarity and answering the why's. It is encourages positive daily reflection time that directs and re-redirects you look at problem solving for yourself and As a high school teacher, I like that I can take this information and use it with my students, who are finding it useful to accomplish their goals. They especially like using the WOOP strategies.

By Kristiina H

Jun 8, 2020

Changing personal habits is hard. But when you learn about the science and the evidence behind what works and what doesn't work you feel supported in your efforts to learn habits that contribute to your happiness and well being. This course is based on research and it is presented in digestible chunks. This makes it applicable to act on. I highly recommend this course because as individuals increase their sense of happiness, the whole world benefits. Maybe, when the collective mind gains a better sense of wellbeing, we are actually contributing to world peace.

By Janis G

Jun 13, 2020

I highly recommend this course. I accomplished the goal of improving my mind set to a more positive one. I love learning about what brings about true happiness. Many of the things we think will make us happy don't have a lasting effect. Most importantly the course taught me great strategies for improving my well- being. I got to put these strategies in action long enough for them to become a more frequent habit. It was nice to see I was on the right path and also learn how to progress in a way that was meaningful to me. As the famous quote goes..."Just Do It!"

By Ramón C

Jan 20, 2021

A very pleasant and inspiring course. Prof. Santos does a cheerful job here. The course has exercises called "rewirements" that help understanding the presented information but, most important, help building actual routines heading for real, sustainable well being, if done as indicated (this also means following the pace of 10 weeks the course is designed for). I recommend it to everyone looking for a fun still effective programme that helps building resilience and well being.

Thank you very much for this course. / October 2020 (after 10 weeks of "rewiring").

By Renee B

Jul 27, 2020

I was recommended this course by a friend. It seemed interesting enough, and since we are on quarantine I figured, why not? I have plenty of time. The lecture videos were interesting and not too long in length. The additional readings and materials provided were helpful and interesting. The quizzes were easy if you watched the videos and read the materials. I learned a lot from this course and how to actually practice and utilize these skills in life moving forward. I was excited to see that my overall happiness scores improved a lot at the end of the course.

By Lim B Y

Jul 24, 2020

I enjoy the course very much as it propounds that one's well-being can be achieved by cultivating healthy mind-sets coupled with regular physical exercises substantiated with scientific findings; their respective research papers were shared in the course content. More importantly, it encourages the learner to participate in a rewirement challenge to put these findings into action and make it a personal transformation. A special shout-out to Professor Laurie Santos for her dedication, "pings" and prompts of encouragement to complete the rewirement challenge!

By 孟蕾

Apr 5, 2021

This course has had a great impact on me, not only has it made a qualitative leap in my happiness level, but it has also brought me closer to my family, friends and colleagues, and I love that feeling. will continue to practice deliberately, exercising, meditating, testing and maintaining a healthy sleep. I will also pass on such a good way to the people around me, let them feel my happiness, and improve their own level of happiness.At the same time, I am also very grateful to the coursera platform to give me the opportunity to learn, which is really good.

By C N

Jun 25, 2020

What an amazing course and a very different way to approach life, both on the professional & personal front. Its been an amazing 10 weeks of commitment to the course and the rest of my life. Deepest Gratitude to Dr Laurie Santos for moving into an area of life where we more often get lost and showing the way forward. My sincere thanks to the pioneering scientists like Martin Seligman, Ed Diener, Barbara Fredrickson, Sonja Lyubomirsky, Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi, Daniel Gilbert, Robert Emmons, Liz Dunn, Mike Norton, Nick Epley, Gabriele Oettingen and others.

By Claire L

May 17, 2020

Personally, I am quite grateful, that I stepped out of my comfort zone to register and successfully complete this Well-Being course. The modern use of technology to provide this course has been an outstanding educational delivery format. The course flow, lectures, videos and content have been pivotal during this time, and I truly learned self-improvement skills and techniques. Moreover, this course has brought me a much better understanding of how I can implement changes in my life to improve my own ‘authentic’ happiness. Thank you, Claire Lang/student.

By Jio C O T

Jun 6, 2020

Opens your eyes to the world and to what is going on inside your head, This course has nudged me to become a better version of myself and I will never ever forget what this course taught me. I have no regrets in enrolling and spending hours and hours into this course. I definitely recommend this course if you're starting with doing MOOC's because this is amazing. I am actually a bit sad now that the course is over to the point where I want to start it all over again. I could not recommend this course enough. Professor Laurie Santos is an awesome teacher!

By Rebecca L

Jun 10, 2018

This course gives a lot of practical and easily applicable advice and scientifically-proven techniques on how to improve well-being. It has the potential to give life-changing insight to just about anyone - from those who are just looking for ways to appreciate the little things to those who are trying to shift their entire paradigm of happiness. It is a course that requires self-dedication, self-searching, and a healthy dose of honesty in regards to changing the habits that we practice everyday that are detrimental to true happiness. I highly recommend!

By Rashad M

Feb 13, 2021

This is an excellent course and worth your time. The course goes through all the myths about happiness and then unleashes the mysteries of happiness! Interestingly, it did not feel like a traditional course (for a biomedical science student) and I was glad it was this way. I also encourage to go through the happiness lab podcast (suggested in the course) for which you don't have to sign-up for anything. I felt it was very helpful throughout my journey.

Special thanks to Dr Laurie Santos for making Rashad a little more knowledgable and, I guess, happier.

By Roger C

May 18, 2021

The course lays out a simple strategy for well being recommending simple actions taken daily to boost happiness/fulfillment/well-being. The insight is that our daily self-care efforts have a bigger influence than we believe and that reflecting on their impact requires us to override our negative/survival bias. Dr. Santos does a superb job in summarizing decades of research and interviews current thought leaders to support these ideas. The ReWi app is wonderful and makes daily reflection easy. Through daily reflection, our habits can become "Atomic".

By Paulien v D - v D

Jun 5, 2020

My compliments! Thank you so much!

I am a radiologist, mother of 2 kids, living in the citycentre of Amsterdam, lots of stimuli all the time. A wonderful life but it felt like I was racing through life. Your course makes me step out of the ratrace and appreciate my life and therefore does make me a lot happier, truly amazing, thank you!

There are 2 subject I was surprised not to hear about in this course. The first is sex, the second are psychedelics (microdose). My apologies if I am to upfront, but well, I am Dutch .

Again, thank you so very much!

Pien

By Juli M

Jul 7, 2020

I am truly grateful to Yale University for provide these courses for us to continue our learning and better understand how to engage in the challenges we face and cultivate our own happiness. To build and develop healthy consistent habits in our lives. Professor Laurie Santos has provided us the the foundation and tools to living and designing our own happiness and being more accountable for our habits. The research has given us the tools and foundation to be more proactive and help us to be the change within our own lives.

Thank you and God Bless.

By Jennifer H

Jun 10, 2020

This was an amazing course. By implementing what I have learned in class, I have the tools to increase my overall happiness all of the time. The method used in teaching this was simple to grasp and made it easier to explain to other people. I feel blessed having the opportunity to participate. Earlier this week I listened to Dr. Santos' podcast with Lewis Howes that aired on June 1, and found myself shaking my head yes the whole time. I was already in my rewirement weeks and not only was everything said science supported, but Jennifer supported.

By Kelly R

Jul 1, 2021

T​his was a very practical course that supported the application of well being skills. It modeled that mindfulness and wellbeing are skills that can be taught, practiced and skillfully used in everyday life and to great personal benefit. As a teacher with a heavy caseload and mentorship role, I have used the course to navigate my own work/life balance and support new teachers in a very demanding career with mindfulness framing. I would highly recommned this course. The workload and lecture seriers was manageable with a full time job and family.

By Irene Z

Jul 20, 2020

Professor Laurie Santos is engaging and the way she cured scientific research into the course topics is brilliant. As an aspiring educator, I want to learn from her the way in which she can simply explain complex research in a way any student can understand, and at the same time demonstrating vast knowledge of the literature. Moreover, the contents of the course are effective in improving well-being. Despite the pandemic and the effects of it gradually deteriorating my work and personal life, my overall well-being score increased from 8.06 to 8.9.

By Cira C

Jun 7, 2020

I enjoyed the psychological framework of the class, the empirical references and the tangible tools to put the teachings into practice. I am very appreciative for this course during these stressful times and think everyone would benefit from taking this class. I've taken many courses in science, many of which included psychology and enjoyed them, learned from them and/or possibly improved in someway. However, I think this is the only course that actually made me happier; it made be better my state of being and that is invaluable in any experience.

By Jenny F

Dec 31, 2019

I really enjoyed this class. It also woke me to a realization of how I’ve been perceiving my level of well being, my happiness, and really a better realistic way I should be looking at it. It has been fascinating.

I also appreciated the layout of how the class was taught, the ease of being self paced and the personal satisfaction of completing the assignments and by default of the nature of the class, my personal goals. I think many people could benefit not only from this specific course, but from the less traditional way of taking the class.

By Lidia L

Mar 30, 2022

I would like to express my heartfelt gratitude for have gotten the opportunity to follow this course. This is a very good program. You have endless opportunities to learn something new. Savoring my willingness to learn something and enhance my abilities in life. My overall experience was great, being motivated to continue applying what I have learned beyond this course. Savoring every moment in my life, continue sharing my experiences with the people around me and living a life I desrve. I am extremely Grateful. Thank you, thank you, thank you.