Chevron Left
Back to The Social and Technical Context of Health Informatics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Social and Technical Context of Health Informatics by Johns Hopkins University

4.1
stars
319 ratings
100 reviews

About the Course

Improving health and healthcare institutions requires understanding of data and creation of interventions at the many levels at which health IT interact and affect the institution. These levels range from the external “world” in which the institution operates down to the specific technologies. Data scientists find that, when they aim at implementing their models in practice, it is the “socio” components that are both novel to them and mission critical to success. At the end of this course, students will be able to make a quick assessment of a health informatics problem—or a proposed solution—and to determine what is missing and what more needs to be learned. Who Is This Class For? Physicians, nurses, pharmacists, social workers, and other allied health professionals interested in expanding their understanding of digital health, big data, health information systems, and the unintended consequences of disruptive innovation in the healthcare system. The course is also aimed at those with technical, engineering, or analytics backgrounds who want to understand the nuances of those topics when it comes to healthcare....

Top reviews

SI
Jul 13, 2019

Very good information and the teaching material is easy to process and understand. I think the stack is a brilliant method to assess and to learn it is one of the important aspects of informatics.

MS
Jul 7, 2019

This course is great for beginners in the field of Health Informatics. I really enjoyed it and learnt some new fundamentals concepts and models. Thanks for the effort put in this course

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 102 Reviews for The Social and Technical Context of Health Informatics

By Vipin V S P

Nov 9, 2020

The Course was good and i am happy that i learned lot from this Social & Technical Context of Health Informatics. I came to know the difference between Health IT & Health Informatics, then Population Health Informatics & Public Health Informatics. Overall this is a good course and i hope, i will be able to complete other 4 courses under this specialization soon.

By TULSHIDAS M

Jan 15, 2020

This Course is the best glance at health informatics and its context at present level in health science. Unfortunately because of college exams and other activities in between i couldn't able to use the course and complete at its fullest,

Thanks for the opportunity ,Coursera , Best online course certification site .

By Njuguna K

Apr 12, 2020

Very detailed and to the point. I have gained a new appreciation for what I should do, application of the stack every day and having fun. The slides are worth their weight in gold and I will be revising them back and forth in the coming months and maybe years!

By Reena S

Sep 14, 2021

it is a well structured course,

I applaud the two professors here for taking the time to create an easy to understand course for something so complex.

I feel empowered and hopeful for the future of IT,electronic health records and improved healthcare systems.

By Paloma P

Jun 6, 2020

This course helped me to understand the basis of the application of informatics in a health system. Even if you are not from the U.S., you can get the big picture of how things work behind. A recommendable course indeed.

By Vichol L

Jul 6, 2021

Thank you everyone who played a part in creating this course. This course gave a detailed introduction to the world of health informatics with comprehensive diagrams, flowcharts as example for explanations.

By Leah K

Oct 29, 2019

The peer-assignment helps solidify all of the learning with applying it to a real-world situation. It was very informative and applicable to leave this course with a new tool: Informatics Stack Analysis.

By Eric A

Dec 21, 2020

New to this field yet inspired and motivated to learn and pursue a career in health informatics. Excellent presentation with clarity and knowlwdge -based information.

By Héctor E S P

Aug 26, 2020

As a biomedical engineer, I am very excited and grateful to John Hopkins University for the opportunity to acquire this knowledge of health information technology.

By Roxane G

Nov 29, 2020

I am incredibly impressed with this course. I have enjoyed Harold P. Lehmann, MD, PH.D videos. I am grateful for the opportunity to take this course.

By Fuzuki N

Jul 28, 2020

The whole course including slides, lecture videos, and exams is organized well and would be very helpful to those who want to dive into the topic.

By Srivalli S M

Oct 13, 2020

This course was very informative and helped me learn new things that i can apply in my life. This can definitely help me in the future.

By Peck M

Nov 25, 2020

Well-organized and helps me develop conceptual, learn to synthesize ideas, and begin constructing knowledge in informatics

By Isabel M

May 19, 2020

excelente para un químico farmacéutico que necesita conocimientos en la linea de la informática, excelente curso.

By Wong S M

Jul 8, 2021

Useful and Practical, I like the last part on written analysis which could test our understanding to the course.

By Dave M

Jan 2, 2021

Good start to the specialization, very comprehensive, slides are informative, quizzes are challenging.

By Dr. R R

Jan 24, 2021

I learned a lot about the concept of STACK social and technical application of health informatics.

By Anjali S

Jun 2, 2020

Well experience and knowledgeable course , I really enjoy .

By Merve B

Feb 6, 2021

It was really useful for me.Thank you for everything. :)

By Sheila A T

Jan 26, 2021

Great course. I recommend it highly. I learned so much

By Roberta A C

May 6, 2020

Well structured and extremely interesting!

By Hamada H A

Nov 16, 2019

Very well organized and delivered course!

By Ilona R

Jun 15, 2020

Very important information presented.

By Elimane N

Nov 28, 2019

Great and very suseful course!