Chevron Left
Back to Transformation of the Global Food System

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Transformation of the Global Food System by University of Copenhagen

4.8
stars
770 ratings

About the Course

The UN predicts we will be 9-10 billion people on Earth in 2050. Providing so many people with nutritious foods is a massive challenge and one that cannot be met by simply upscaling current practices regarding food production and consumption. Providing humanity with nutritional food is at the center of all decisions related to sustainable development. Agriculture is responsible for 80% of global deforestation. The food systems release 29% of global greenhouse gasses. We use an area equivalent to North and South America combined for the production of meat for consumption or to produce the food necessary to feed the animals we eat. 70% of fresh water use is related to agriculture. These figures are staggering, and they show us, that we need to rethink and transform the way we produce, distribute and consume food worldwide. This course focuses on how food systems can become more sustainable. It consists of four modules where each focuses on an essential ingredient towards developing more sustainable food systems: (1) Boosting the small, (2) Transforming the big, (3) Losing less and (4) Eating smarter. In each of these key areas, we will meet people from different countries around the world, who labor every day to find and spread solutions that work. Connecting the challenges that must be overcome to develop a sustainable global food system with the solutions being developed by the amazing group of people you meet in this course has been a huge source of inspiration for me. I truly believe that the global food system can be transformed to sustainably meet the needs of 9-10 billion people and, with this course, I dare you to join me!...

Top reviews

RW

Oct 29, 2020

This was a fantastic course and along with the other course in the sustainable development goals has only highlighted my interest in continuing this on after my masters research into a PhD. Thank you!

HM

Jul 11, 2022

Thank you for giving me very production time and valuable information on transformation of global food system. I understand better now what is my role in this challenging, but possible process.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 206 Reviews for Transformation of the Global Food System

By Jędrek R

Jul 26, 2021

Very professional and inspiring, I recommend to everyone as an intro level course who cares about our future and our planet.

By supervisor s

Jan 10, 2021

Очень интересный курс! Расширила свой кругозор и поле интересов. Знания полученные на курсе планирую использовать в учёбе.

By Dramani N

Jan 1, 2021

The course is very enlightening. It has indeed broadened my understanding of food systems and way forward into the future.

By Jessa H M

Jul 4, 2020

hi... i am so pleased and thankful for the learning i gained during the course... hope i can have my certificate... thanks

By Andrew R

Apr 4, 2022

not only did this course help me toward my future career path but it also helped me understand how i should shop for food

By christelle n

Dec 13, 2020

Mrs Katherine Richardson knows how to deliver the information in the best, apprehensible and educational way! BIG THANKS

By Iris J A

Oct 14, 2020

The course covered all aspects of food systems. It has also involved large private corporations and medium enterprises.

By Alfonso E G

Jun 27, 2020

Very well organized! videos and articles to read well choosen and informaive. Broad but detailed scope of the issues.

By Tiffany C

Apr 7, 2022

I​t was very infortmative and I learned lots of new information that I didn't know of. Will take this course again!

By Дрегваль І В

Apr 15, 2022

After the course, I have a clearer idea of how to create a sustainable food future and mitigate GHG emissions.

By Gonzalo M R

Sep 13, 2020

Very interesting course, it highlight the importance of a change in the food production systems and practices

By Ma. C F

Nov 23, 2020

A real eye-opener of the global status of our food system. Definitely a must-enroll course here in Coursera.

By NICOLE L

Sep 22, 2020

This course has inspired me and helped me think of ways we can work together to save this planet. Thankyou!

By pepe v

Aug 11, 2021

I really am now more aware of the challenge we face and what we (individually and as society) need to do

By Priya C

Jan 25, 2022

The course is very informative. I really liked all the case studies and additional reading material.

By P. D N T

Nov 29, 2021

Wonderful Course for those who are passionate in sustainable food culture and sustainable lifestyle.

By Elisa F

Oct 26, 2020

Extremely helpful to understand what needs to be done in order to live a sustainable life as humans.

By Mohammed S A

May 12, 2021

The course was good and it was in line with my work life, I benefited a lot from it. My greetings

By ALEXANDRA S

Dec 1, 2020

Very useful course and well presented information about how to achieve a sustainable food future!

By NIKHIL V J

Sep 19, 2020

This is the Best course which is I choose. And I learn transformation of the global food system.

By Leonardo P M V D L

May 12, 2022

E​xcelente e necessário. Muita informação util que ajudará a repensar nossas ações e pesquisas.

By Jason S

Dec 13, 2021

This course embodies a practical approach to a frightening problem. It gives me a lot of hope.

By Elzbieta M

Oct 22, 2020

Excellent!!!

I learnt a lot. Well illustrated problems - tackle from all angles!

Congratulation!

By Natalie R M

Oct 1, 2020

A am just in love with the course. I just finished and I want to go through it all over again.

By Joan K

Oct 21, 2021

This was a really good course. I like the information and the actual practical examples.