Chevron Left
Back to Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments by Duke University

4.6
stars
2,235 ratings
607 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Top reviews

SM

Jun 11, 2020

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

FY

Jul 06, 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 598 Reviews for Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

By Dylan J O

Aug 07, 2020

The instructor presented the material methodically, at times a little too slowly for my liking, but he was clear and thorough. The pace of the course seemed quite reasonable and I hope to use some of it to help my students analyze arguments.

By Matthew B

Jul 15, 2020

I think the course would benefit from more complex questions, and even a component of written analysis, such as a task where we are provided with a full article to reconstruct.

Otherwise, terrific course. I will continue onto Think Again II

By Karim H A M

Aug 27, 2017

Nice experience, it was my first time to do a course from COIRSERA and I like the format and technical delivery of the of the program. I would like to thanks our professors at Duke for consolidating this wonderful program.

By YOUSEF A Z E

Dec 11, 2019

This course is very useful for me, but actually it is very hard to understand all material especially the English is not my native language and must know the small different between the meaning of words and using its

By Lee J Y

Jun 30, 2020

The course grinds the brain a lot. There's a lot of linguistics involved, which can get tiresome really fast, but I supposed it's there to prepare students for II, III, and IV, which I shall continue after some rest.

By Esther M

Jan 08, 2018

The lectures were a little long but were thorough. I didn't realize this course was part of a series. I think I would like to see a more condensed version. I will have to take the other course(s) to find out.

By RAFAEL A M A

Feb 16, 2017

Percibí áreas de oportunidad en la claridad de algunos de los ejemplos que el expositor empleó a lo largo del curso. El caso que más crítico fue el de "Búfalo, Búfalo, Búfalo.... hasta llegar a 11 Búfalos..."

By Chua C X

Jun 12, 2020

It has been good in strengthening my understanding and structure of arguments. It is a very fun subject looking at some of the small things that make up arguments. Do try this out on your own free time.

By Pablo E

Jan 03, 2018

A structured way to make and understand arguments. I recommend it. Advice for future students: Pay strong attention in the lectures to the concepts of validity, soundness and argument markers.

By Daniel M

Jul 04, 2020

It was something completely new to me. I had a bit of a rough time understanding to begin with, but pushed through. Glad I did. I'll be continuing with the remaining four soon. Great stuff.

By Amal K

Jul 28, 2019

Many thanks, i have had fun in the course. Material was easy to comprehend and flow easy to follow . I am just giving it 4 stars, as i think more practical examples should be provided

By Deneil L

Mar 15, 2017

I found this course to be very interesting. I certainly gained a better understanding of arguments, my own shortcomings and steps I can take to improve/put into practice. Thank you.

By Dysprosium

Jun 25, 2017

Great intro course. The skills taught can be useful for both academic pursuits as well as making our way through the bombardment of information we navigate in our daily lives.

By Quỳnh N

May 10, 2020

This course helps me improve knowledge about arguments a lot. I studied many interesting things with a friendly professor. But I found hard to apply it to practice.

By Bridgette F

Jul 15, 2019

The Instructor Is Fun,I Really Enjoyed The Entire Course Up Until The Awful FInal Quiz.I Have Not Encountered Another Final Test/Quiz Quite As Annoying As This One.

By Andrew C

Nov 16, 2016

An excellent course, but it is hard going (took me 3 attempts to get through the final quiz!). Recommend for anyone interested in how people present arguments.

By Guillermo P

Aug 05, 2017

Very well explained every aspect of an argument with examples explained in great detail. Clearly lot of work has put into this and I thank everyone for it.

By Ricky S S

Oct 18, 2017

Interesting view on how to construct and deconstruct arguments. Not enough focus on more complex issues though. The examples, in general, were too simple.

By Gregory R

Sep 08, 2020

Professor was fun and entertaining. This course provided information on how to break down an argument and actually get more out of what you are reading.

By Nargis l

Jul 28, 2017

It was interesting working through this course and though I had to repeat my assignments I understood that I need to enhance my skills in argumentation.

By Will M

Dec 28, 2016

Weekly quizzes instead of just the final (that actually counts for a grade) would be very helpful to me, but it was a great course and I learned a lot!

By Vincent A

Aug 06, 2020

Really enjoyed the course, although some of the videos did give me grief because of the length. Loved learning all the content throughout though.

By Win K K

Jul 15, 2020

I do enjoy it but this course is mainly focused on theory. Sometimes, it is hard to understand and I still think it should be more practical.

By wai c c

Sep 24, 2016

I do enjoy the course through interaction with other participants and like to express my sincere gratitude to Coursera and Duke University.