Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Design by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
stars
3,273 ratings
817 reviews

About the Course

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Top reviews

AO

Oct 23, 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

MC

Sep 26, 2016

This is an insightful introductory course to User Experience Design. While it is just an introduction, the lessons and the examples provided were comprehensive, leaving you with a thirst for more.

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 810 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Design

By Serhat E

Aug 15, 2017

It is a very nice, basic course (maybe too basic). I wish Alternative Designs and Prototyping sections were expanded some more. One feedback to lecturer is to look at the camera directly; she was constantly looking sideways to read the text. It was very distracting for me. Nevertheless, Thanks Georgia Tech!!!

By Anisa C

Jun 28, 2020

Pretty good course. Enjoyable to work through with great additional resources. Spelling errors were frequent and a bit distracting and the transcript could do with another edit. No practical tasks to complete but i believe the paid version has some. Great first experience with Coursera and Georgia Tech.

By Preston L

Apr 14, 2020

While the videos were good at introducing certain concepts to a novice, I found the quizzes to be lacking in helping one remember useful information from the videos. For the reading, many articles and websites were linked to, but on more than one occasion I found these to be a bit dated.

By Hannah E

Jul 15, 2020

Very good course to get a general overview of UX Design and Research. Specific terms introduced and defined and good lists of electronic resources. Was disappointed with charts and figures used to illustrate concepts (i.e. not always easy to understand purpose of graphic or confusing).

By Bharath N S

Jun 01, 2020

Very basic course, could have learnt the whole content in a textbook directly in one hour. This is an explanation of some text and one method and didnt have to be a course. Could have contained more learning than just explain all basic concepts available online in Google

By David V C

Jul 05, 2020

The information is valuable. However, it may feel a bit dated (specially the examples and the links they provide), and it might be too compact. A lesson includes too much information in a very short time, so it's a good idea to watch the same lessons more than once.

By Andrew B

Dec 14, 2017

It's difficult to follow the instructor as they are reading their script. I would prefer a more natural delivery. Content was good, but I think a little more effort could be put towards the visuals as the existing diagrams were at times difficult to understand.

By AUBREY X

Apr 16, 2020

Good introductory class. Clearly structured and have relevant quiz questions to test on key concepts.

However, I was expecting more in-depth content on these fundamental concepts, and more relevant and modern examples of these in principles in applications

By Joseph D

Oct 02, 2020

While it seems this course offered a well rounded look at the iterative User Experience/Interface design cycle, the interchangeable technical jargon was ultimately confusing and I felt that a lack of definitive terms detracted from the final product.

By Vikram P

Jun 19, 2020

The course provides a good overview of UX, but there are hardly any activities. The activities are limited only to Quiz. There should be peer graded assignments. Also, quiz questions need to be better.

By Stormi A

Jul 05, 2020

This would have been more comfortable delivered in nine to ten, 45-minute segments. The shorter videos made the course feel endless. At least I learned that Coursera has terrible UX design.

By Korel

Aug 19, 2020

The content is shallow, the course will be better if it incorporates real case studies and the application of UX design tools. Anyways, this is generally nice for a free course.

By Aditya S

Jul 10, 2020

1 - Needs More Animations and better visuals

2 - Some videos that are 8 or 9 mins long can be broken down into smaller videos of 4-5 mins

3 - Needs better real Life examples.

By Dana P

Aug 10, 2020

Very basic. Good if you just want to understand terms and how the process works at a high-level. Not good if you are interested in learning how to actually do any of this.

By Kiki C

Oct 17, 2020

Would like to engage with more hands-on applications of the ideas presented. Sometimes difficult to connect the academic, abstract taxonomy with real-world processes.

By Luka T

Mar 19, 2020

I expected a bit more from the introductory course. I gained a slight better understanding of what user experience is all about, but I hoped to gain a deeper insight.

By Nikhil S

Oct 28, 2016

While the course is basic, the tests don't test user concepts (for example the order of the 4 step design process is asked 10+ times through the 5 modules)

By Mercedes A

Oct 03, 2020

Good introduction, I felt that a lot of the material was mostly common sense, nothing really new. (For the average unexperienced in design person.

By Suraj T

Sep 18, 2020

Just the right amount of complexity for a beginner. However, the delivery was rather uninspiring. But that might come down to personal taste.

By ruby b

Sep 20, 2020

Its a good theory course but would be fun if more practical examples are given with some creative use of infographics or any other media.

By Roxie W

Mar 07, 2017

Lean too heavily towards theory instead of practice. I do think peer-graded assignments work better than quiz in term of UX lessons...

By Christina B

Jan 30, 2018

Useful to get a sense of what UXD is, but not much else. It is VERY basic and also very short - you can easily complete it in a day.

By Emilio G

Oct 09, 2016

The videos did not seem very interactive. The teacher just read the slides. Good as an introduction, but not very hand-on course.

By Roy L

Apr 08, 2020

The class is super thorough in terms of the basics, however, the interactions could be improved from Week 3 onwards. :)

By Natália P

May 31, 2017

As a product designer the concepts were not very new. But it was interesting to see how they apply to digital designs.