Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Design by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
stars
3,295 ratings
820 reviews

About the Course

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Top reviews

AO

Oct 23, 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

RT

Jul 05, 2020

For an introductory course, this is very efficient and effective in learning terminologies and get a good high-level understanding of Process, types and common techniques used in Design process :)

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 813 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Design

By Emilio G

Oct 09, 2016

The videos did not seem very interactive. The teacher just read the slides. Good as an introduction, but not very hand-on course.

By Roy L

Apr 08, 2020

The class is super thorough in terms of the basics, however, the interactions could be improved from Week 3 onwards. :)

By Natália P

May 31, 2017

As a product designer the concepts were not very new. But it was interesting to see how they apply to digital designs.

By Tatyana K

May 25, 2017

Good for really newcomers but also possible to catch some details for a bit experienced professionals

By Israel O A

Jul 29, 2019

Muy básico pero siempre aportan nuevos conocimientos para quién desconoce este mundo.

By Yuchen Z

Sep 07, 2017

it is really an introductory course, therefore very easy and basic ideas

By Yan K

Apr 26, 2020

Материала мало и много воды, много вопросов тестов высосано из пальца.

By Celine B

Jun 07, 2020

Je m'attendais plus à une formation orientée sur le design des UI

By Priya R

Jul 07, 2018

This course was too basic, despite being an introductory course.

By Pooja L

Jan 16, 2019

Really basic. Only quizzes to pass no practical projects.

By Jeremy R

Apr 20, 2017

visualized examples? - good content but lacked engagement

By E. C C

Apr 14, 2017

Very simple overview of the UX process.

By Huzaifa S K

Sep 08, 2020

This course was quiet an easy one.

By Julie B

Oct 14, 2016

Good base to start building a site

By Vanessa w

Nov 06, 2016

A little too common sense.

By Nivedita

Mar 10, 2017

Easy to understand

By Róża T

Nov 10, 2016

Lack of examples.

By Yugansh G

Apr 17, 2020

course was great

By Arvind C

May 31, 2020

na

By shane d

Jul 18, 2020

The video content production came across as very amateur, lines of flubbed dialogue left in, and overall just came across as unprofessional. Very little attention to detail, you can tell this was throw together in a matter of maybe a few weeks. That might be being too generous. Here's the development cycle for this course: Talking head, garbage slides, bad green screen, lazy video production, minimal information, and now lets charge money. Thankfully I just did the free version. I will say I did learn a few things and the layout of being able to save notes from the video was nice. However I would never recommend this to anyone when you can go find all this information elsewhere and with much higher quality. If any passion or care was shown to this course to get me excited then I would recommend it but as it stands right now. This is a hard pass. I can't believe you are actually charging money for this, simply stunning.

By Teresa B

Aug 23, 2020

I had no prior UX experience, this course was painfully slow and lacked content in the videos. I learned more from the reference reading material than I did the videos. The quirkiness of the lingo specific to UX is not explained well in this course. Despite being a beginner at UX, I learned very little directly from this class. I gave it two starts because at least I learned things from the reference materials.

By Alexandr L

Jan 17, 2018

Very basic course. Lack of practical tasks and to much of external links - instead of covering material within the lessons - made this course too short and not very involving... I get that this is Introduction, but I was hoping for more 'in depth' approach.

By Grant S

May 22, 2020

An introduction, no doubt. But almost no depth and surface level explanations. Even as a beginner I would have expected better structured quizzes and content.

By Gaelle E

Aug 26, 2020

Okay if looking to see what user experience is about, you will need to do more courses to get a more solid foundation as it isnt enough to give you that.