Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Design by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
stars
5,180 ratings
1,215 reviews

About the Course

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Top reviews

AO
Oct 22, 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

KJ
Oct 4, 2020

It was fair introduction to UI / UX. I moved away from front-end development a long time ago but wanted to know about the new techniques used prior to starting that sort of development these days.

Filter by:

1126 - 1150 of 1,222 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Design

By Anisa C

Jun 28, 2020

Pretty good course. Enjoyable to work through with great additional resources. Spelling errors were frequent and a bit distracting and the transcript could do with another edit. No practical tasks to complete but i believe the paid version has some. Great first experience with Coursera and Georgia Tech.

By nafiso a

Sep 13, 2021

this is mainly focused on the 4 stages of user interface design. I found that the information present was only on the breadth level and could been more in depth, however, this is just a beginner course, so be mindful when doing it. You can probably get the same content from a google search though.

By Marco S

Feb 1, 2021

It's very useful but at times is a little boring and its hard to keep up. The background is too monotonous and some slides are an eyesore for designers. I noticed one typo (effect instead of affect). You have to be committed to finish, I almost didn't. And I passed all quizzes on the first try.

By Preston L

Apr 14, 2020

While the videos were good at introducing certain concepts to a novice, I found the quizzes to be lacking in helping one remember useful information from the videos. For the reading, many articles and websites were linked to, but on more than one occasion I found these to be a bit dated.

By Hannah E

Jul 15, 2020

Very good course to get a general overview of UX Design and Research. Specific terms introduced and defined and good lists of electronic resources. Was disappointed with charts and figures used to illustrate concepts (i.e. not always easy to understand purpose of graphic or confusing).

By Gautam K

Nov 16, 2020

Some of the concepts were explained well but others went a bit too quickly without examples. Thinks like data gathering and prototyping are understood by most people but other slightly complex topics like the wizard of oz could have been explained a bit better with a simple example.

By Omar A

Apr 13, 2021

As a beginner in this field, I know now how can I start but I think the course its not full covered most of the question are not working I like the teacher I really like it but I think it can be improved in the future thanks for everyone who made this course and thanks to Coursera

By Jaan-Eerik

Mar 24, 2021

There were numerous typos, bad formatting or other mistakes in the lecture slides. Additionally, some of the links to reading materials were broken and many of the materials listed seemed quite an odd choice. Still, I believe this course gave a good overview of the topic.

By Bharath N S

Jun 1, 2020

Very basic course, could have learnt the whole content in a textbook directly in one hour. This is an explanation of some text and one method and didnt have to be a course. Could have contained more learning than just explain all basic concepts available online in Google

By David V C

Jul 5, 2020

The information is valuable. However, it may feel a bit dated (specially the examples and the links they provide), and it might be too compact. A lesson includes too much information in a very short time, so it's a good idea to watch the same lessons more than once.

By Andrew B

Dec 14, 2017

It's difficult to follow the instructor as they are reading their script. I would prefer a more natural delivery. Content was good, but I think a little more effort could be put towards the visuals as the existing diagrams were at times difficult to understand.

By AUBREY X

Apr 16, 2020

Good introductory class. Clearly structured and have relevant quiz questions to test on key concepts.

However, I was expecting more in-depth content on these fundamental concepts, and more relevant and modern examples of these in principles in applications

By Joseph D

Oct 2, 2020

While it seems this course offered a well rounded look at the iterative User Experience/Interface design cycle, the interchangeable technical jargon was ultimately confusing and I felt that a lack of definitive terms detracted from the final product.

By 0_65MM x

Aug 29, 2021

The material is good, the delivery was unpolished. For a UX course it felt hard on many places when it shouldn't be, of course is not impossible to complete due the fact, but some links are dead, typos everywhere and basic slides didn't add up.

By Omar e H

Sep 17, 2021

It was a great introduction to UX design, however the information provided was very superficial and I felt that the course was missing some depth. I would have loved to dive in to real world UX design / Research projects

By Joshua Y

Jan 12, 2021

I don't know that I would call this a whole course. The amount of content in this introduction is so basic that I wonder how much I am still missing before I jump into UX design. There must be more to it than this.

By Vikram P

Jun 19, 2020

The course provides a good overview of UX, but there are hardly any activities. The activities are limited only to Quiz. There should be peer graded assignments. Also, quiz questions need to be better.

By Stormi A

Jul 4, 2020

This would have been more comfortable delivered in nine to ten, 45-minute segments. The shorter videos made the course feel endless. At least I learned that Coursera has terrible UX design.

By Wendy Y

Jan 14, 2021

The content itself was decent, but the quizzes need some help. In addition to some formatting issues, some of the questions were not intuitive in that they were easily misunderstood.

By Korel

Aug 19, 2020

The content is shallow, the course will be better if it incorporates real case studies and the application of UX design tools. Anyways, this is generally nice for a free course.

By Theresa K

Dec 12, 2020

I am a total beginner. It was nice to receive an overview. The slides were not helpful and I had a hard time to follow - needed to focus very well (which is also good, ofc ;))

By Rateb A D

Mar 24, 2021

Concepts are very high-level and instructor seems to be reading from the slides.

If you like to read you won't miss anything if you just read the transcript at your own pace.

By Aditya S

Jul 10, 2020

1 - Needs More Animations and better visuals

2 - Some videos that are 8 or 9 mins long can be broken down into smaller videos of 4-5 mins

3 - Needs better real Life examples.

By Dana P

Aug 10, 2020

Very basic. Good if you just want to understand terms and how the process works at a high-level. Not good if you are interested in learning how to actually do any of this.