Chevron Left
Back to Marketing Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Marketing Analytics by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
5,498 ratings
1,588 reviews

About the Course

Organizations large and small are inundated with data about consumer choices. But that wealth of information does not always translate into better decisions. Knowing how to interpret data is the challenge -- and marketers in particular are increasingly expected to use analytics to inform and justify their decisions. Marketing analytics enables marketers to measure, manage and analyze marketing performance to maximize its effectiveness and optimize return on investment (ROI). Beyond the obvious sales and lead generation applications, marketing analytics can offer profound insights into customer preferences and trends, which can be further utilized for future marketing and business decisions. This course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia, gives you the tools to measure brand and customer assets, understand regression analysis, and design experiments as a way to evaluate and optimize marketing campaigns. You'll leave the course with a solid understanding of how to use marketing analytics to predict outcomes and systematically allocate resources. You can follow my posts in Twitter, @rajkumarvenk, and on linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/in/education-marketing. Thanks, Raj Professor of Business Administration at Darden...

Top reviews

AG
May 10, 2020

Great course.Coursera provides wonderful opportunity for analytics learners through the course.Well designed course packed with assignments.Just Loved every lessons of the course.Thank you Coursera.☺

SW
May 7, 2020

This was a good and challenging course. It really gave me the basic foundations of marketing.\n\nIt challenged me to think and I enjoyed the projects that were incorporated to give hands on training.

Filter by:

1251 - 1275 of 1,577 Reviews for Marketing Analytics

By Vinayak N

Jul 11, 2020

It was a great course for introducing the world of Marketing to a beginner/novice. With the right mix of concepts and sufficient mathematical backing to hold the intuition, it provided a great experience overall. The professor Raj has a vibrant and cheery personality and uses humor and breaks to supplement his methods of teaching. Had there been more practise problems for solving, it would be great!

By Dr. P R K

Sep 5, 2018

Good introductory lectures on the topics. However, as Raj repeatedly makes clear his arithmetic is terrible and thus misleading in many places. If the lectures can't be redone, at least an updated formulary with correct formula should be provided. In many places when he means percentage he uses fraction and viceversa. Otherwise, the course material is all good and informative.

By Muhammad A

Nov 20, 2019

It was very simple to understand after a while, however, if you're a newbie to marketing and if you think marketing is only selling your product then you're very mistaken. At least I was. I would recommend before enrolling into this course you study at least something before enrolling. Also, do get yourself some paper and pens because you'll need to write down some formulas.

By Soumyabrata B

Jun 28, 2020

The course was overall very good. It was extremely knowledgeable. But the tutorial on 'Projecting Lift' could have been a little explanatory given the questions that were asked in the quiz. I took down all the notes and took the course very seriously but while doing the quizzes when I referred back to the notes from the lecture I thought I am not getting a clear picture.

By Lokesh J

May 10, 2020

This course provide very good understanding of Marketing Analytics. The syllabus is designed so well with precise concepts. There are case studies as well which helps to enrich one's decision making skills. There are nice brand examples provided in the course like Snapple, Etch A Sketch and Betty Spaghetty. Overall I enjoyed, learned and developed new skills.

By Sagar B

May 27, 2020

I want to say that the curriculum for first 3 weeks are easy to understand but in 4th week and 5th week a beginner will not understand the concepts like regression analysis,Breakeven units,lift,contribution margin so precisely. If the consult faculty add more key elements and examples to make understand to us...then the course will be a icing on the cake.

By Wutthichai M

Apr 25, 2020

The instructor should provide more resources and slides for students' better understanding. As a beginner in the field of Marketing like me, I felt confused in some parts because of inefficient resources and explanation. So, I believe that if you could provide more resources, it would be very excellent! Thank you for your hard work, I really appreciate that.

By Kanishk P S

Aug 14, 2020

It is a good course however I personally felt that some places it needed to explain things further. I like to understand a topic while going in depth, here I felt the lack of it while dealing with different topics. Some topics were explained nicely but the course is not supported now and there were no replies in doubts section from teachers side.

By Shiva A

Dec 28, 2020

It was so helpful and informative, I really recommend to every one who wants to get promoted in this field. I watch the whole course twice and ever time I learned more . I can tell that there were some insufficient description in some segments that make you a little confused, but if you review the contents again, most of them can be solved.

By Josephine F

May 6, 2019

The professor was great! Easy to understand. Loved how I could pause my course when I needed and resume anytime that was convenient to my schedule. I learned a lot about what it takes to make a good marketing decision. Hope to use what I learned in real life marketing experiments.

-Josephine Fermanian

Founder of Mother of Innovation

By mutiara k

Jun 4, 2020

The course was great, it gives me a whole more understanding towards marketing analytic, Raj was a great teacher. However, I feel like the question, especially when it comes to math equation, the case on quiz is not very exploring our ability, rather it mostly replicating the math and the case that we have faced on the lecture.

By Sidney W

Mar 11, 2019

Excellent overview of introductory and foundational elements of marketing analytics. Nice balance of concepts and real life examples. Introduction but no deep dive into statistical concepts that underlie the analytics. Needs to be updated for how AI is impacting the use and quantity of data in these models.

By Owais S

Apr 15, 2018

This was a very comprehensive course! Professor Venkatesan's good nature , humor and expertise made many of the classes go by quickly! I do recommend this course to anyone looking to learn more about Marketing Analytics in a manner that is detailed and informative! Thank you, Professor Venkatesan! :)

By Shah J S

May 15, 2020

This is a very compact course. I have learned very crucial calculations. Few times I faced challenged with quiz and calculations. This is not easy, as expected. It will be better if the course slides are more organized. Also, there should be an incorporation of marketing literature and book contents.

By Ignacio S

Jul 1, 2020

I would rate 5 stars if the name of the course was Introduction to Marketing Analytics, since it doesn't go in depth in the matemathical concepts or the reason of use in certain parts of it. Either way, It is a very good course to open up about different ways to doing marketing analytics

By Martez M

Jun 24, 2019

Class was wonderful and very insightful. It was challenging and I had to work very hard. The only negative, is no access to a professor, mentor, or any other class governance to help you out with questions. Teachers never respond to emails or questions. Otherwise, highly recommended!

By Davis F K

May 7, 2020

Great course! Was productive despite being concise. The faculty made it easy to understand and grasp the concept, while adding a fair sense of humour to keep the motivation levels high. A good recommended course for anyone who wants to step into analytics in the marketing side.

By Bruno S S

May 5, 2020

Some things are not explain so well, and that have a big impact during the course, and in the exams application along the course, but besides that , for me, that course was a good challenge and i learn a lot with Raj, a special thanks for all the crew and eat your vegetables!

By Shinji O

Oct 31, 2016

I found this was a well-organized fundamental course, despite my slight disappointment that I wanted to gain more knowledge and concepts on some other analysis methods. If you look for analytics course that focuses more on tool or skill, this is not the one.

By Urmit S

Feb 10, 2019

Extremely useful for beginners. However, it does require a basic understanding of marketing.

My recommendations before starting the course

1) Brush up basic math

2) Brush up basic marketing

3) Get access to Google Analytics (Demo Model) for practical learning

By Henry F

May 1, 2020

This is a good course in terms of content, but the testing and quizzing is quite relentless. A long practice quiz before every graded quiz just takes too long. Raj is a great teacher, but this course is for people who have a good math ability already.

By Tarun b

May 27, 2020

The course covers all the part of marketing which is really reqied to understand the senario of the market. the faculty member explain it in a very well manner.i like the activity also which they give.over all course is too good and intresting.

By Vipul G

Apr 17, 2020

It is a nice course for conceptual knowledge on Marketing Analytics. Very nicely delivered by the professor and easy to understand the concepts. i would recommend this course if you want to learn the basic concepts of Marketing Analytics.

By Parima S

Jul 10, 2020

I had a lot of fun learning this course. The instructor is very active and tries hard to explain all the aspects of marketing analytics, but it has some points that are hard to understand, maybe it needs more examples. Thank you so much!

By Vipin B

Nov 26, 2018

Easy to understand and applies to the project you are working on. Explains why you are doing certain things and what extra can you do when you are working on a marketing analytics project.

A good course to get your basic clear..