Chevron Left
Back to Marketing Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Marketing Analytics by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
5,714 ratings
1,642 reviews

About the Course

Organizations large and small are inundated with data about consumer choices. But that wealth of information does not always translate into better decisions. Knowing how to interpret data is the challenge -- and marketers in particular are increasingly expected to use analytics to inform and justify their decisions. Marketing analytics enables marketers to measure, manage and analyze marketing performance to maximize its effectiveness and optimize return on investment (ROI). Beyond the obvious sales and lead generation applications, marketing analytics can offer profound insights into customer preferences and trends, which can be further utilized for future marketing and business decisions. This course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia, gives you the tools to measure brand and customer assets, understand regression analysis, and design experiments as a way to evaluate and optimize marketing campaigns. You'll leave the course with a solid understanding of how to use marketing analytics to predict outcomes and systematically allocate resources. You can follow my posts in Twitter, @rajkumarvenk, and on linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/in/education-marketing. Thanks, Raj Professor of Business Administration at Darden...

Top reviews

AG
May 10, 2020

Great course.Coursera provides wonderful opportunity for analytics learners through the course.Well designed course packed with assignments.Just Loved every lessons of the course.Thank you Coursera.☺

SW
May 7, 2020

This was a good and challenging course. It really gave me the basic foundations of marketing.\n\nIt challenged me to think and I enjoyed the projects that were incorporated to give hands on training.

Filter by:

1526 - 1550 of 1,630 Reviews for Marketing Analytics

By Luis H M R S

Aug 27, 2018

Good Course.

By Snehil P

Aug 25, 2020

good course

By Somesh M

Jul 15, 2020

Insightful!

By Ammar A

Jul 4, 2020

thank you

.

.

By sourabh

Jun 18, 2020

Nice course

By suraj

May 3, 2020

good course

By Uyen H

May 22, 2020

I like it!

By 肖夏

May 1, 2020

wonderful!

By robinmourik

Nov 21, 2019

good one

By Francisco A M M

Nov 12, 2020

Thanks!

By abhinav p

Dec 12, 2020

great

By JODY T

Jul 7, 2020

Good

By Hasib U

Jun 15, 2020

good

By Arnab D

Aug 1, 2020

Gd

By chetan s

Jul 31, 2020

ok

By MRIDULA J

Jul 5, 2020

no

By carlotta v

Dec 10, 2020

.

By Siddharth S

May 22, 2020

.

By Yu W W

May 2, 2020

Good examples for calculations are used. For the peer assignments, I try to adapt the questions to the industry that I'm working in to apply knowledge learnt to real work applications. Some parts may need to be clearer, for example, even if you are not going to go through the formula of R-squared, it will be good to inform the learners how the number originated.However, there is much disappointment in the experience I have gone through when it comes to the peer assignment as I observed many submissions to be copied from the sample report given by the course and the candidates only went about changing brand names and city name to submit their work. The copying was so bad to the extent that some of the candidates did not bother to even make changes to other variables (such as summer and winter season) stated in the sample copy when the cities they have named do not even have 4 seasons. We will really need to look into the effectiveness of peer review as it affects not only on the work put out by such candidates, but also how effective are these candidates in reviewing true good work when they are unsure of the content itself -- which possibly signifies why they had to copy. This is eventually reflected in the scores they give others and also their remarks, which was mandatory during the peer review. True meaning of education is acquiring knowledge, not just getting a certificate. Hope the rest of the candidates on this platform understands. They will affect the value of the certificates of such meaningful courses to drop in credibility and value in the hiring and educational field.

By Cameron T

Jul 26, 2020

This is an absolute waste of time if you have any background or prior understanding of marketing basics, such as what a brand is, or can reasonably guess the types of data companies have on their users. I could see this being useful for someone with little or no prior background but this is in exceptionally untechnical, seemingly outdated course teaching exceptionally broad strokes.

There are also clear lacks of deeper thoughts into things as if they're rushing to check-off the topics and keep moving.

If you want Marketing Analytics skills or a deeper understanding, there are far better courses on here like Wharton or one of them. This feels like an Undergraduate introductory course from a middle-of-the-pack school with a nice guy as professor. But not worth you time if you even somewhat know what you're talking about already.

By SIDDHARTH C

May 10, 2020

Started off as a good course but eventually came with its own set of flaws. Most of the data being provided is from 2014 or so and is hence extremely outdated. Could do with some more current/relevant data. Also, some of the questions in the test are unnecessary and redundant. Be it the quiz or the final tests. Could have more of application based questions instead of questions on the theoretical parts. Raj's teachings however were phenomenal. Overall, a good course but could be much better.

By Maria C L C

May 14, 2020

It's not what I was expecting. I don't feel comfortable with the way the instructor conveys the topics of the course. On the other hand, in general, I found the content too soft (and I do not have a marketing background) so I get bored easily with the lessons. Since I am more a quant person, I was hoping to delve into the quantitative approaches to analyze marketing data but simply the course isn't designed that way. Maybe I did not read the description carefully.

By Liza P

May 27, 2020

Material is interesting and the instructor seems knowledgable however he does not explain concepts clearly and moves way too fast. Formulas are not provided and quizzes test concepts not taught. I spent a lot of time conducting outside research to actually learn concepts. I was also disappointed in the lack of resources for help. I wish the instructor or mentors were available in the discussion forums.

By Saheli B

Jul 13, 2020

The course was good enough. It had enough problems and assignments to give a clear understanding of the concepts. Although the explanation was mostly understandable and simple, in a few areas, like in the experiments module and calculation of sales lift, it got very confusing. I had difficulty in understanding that module. Nonetheless, this course proved valuable to me.

By Mari I

Jun 17, 2020

While the course was fairly easy to get through, I wish the professor would introduce formulas in its blank form before filling it in with examples. I struggle with math and it's difficult to try to learn a formula and how to apply it to certain marketing techniques outside of the course when your only exposure to it is filled with example numbers.