Chevron Left
Back to Story and Narrative Development for Video Games

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Story and Narrative Development for Video Games by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
1,134 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you will examine how storytelling acts as a vital mechanism for driving video gameplay forward. Looking at several historical and contemporary games, you will be asked to evaluate and interpret different story styles with the goal of identifying themes and procedures for your own game ideas. We'll examine traditional narrative story processes, such as three-act structure, and how they fit into game story flows and the strategic elements of gameplay. Ultimately, you will learn how to define character, setting, and structure to create a compelling game concept....

Top reviews

CS

Dec 30, 2015

This is my favorite course ever. Dariush teaches in such an engaging way and it shows you how to have a creative yet objective and analyzed mindset for creating a story and narrative for a Video Game.

DA

Nov 6, 2017

This is so helpful. It covers all the essentials of developing a good story, applicable in any form of media, then it focuses on converting the story to a game by adding interactive gameplay elements.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 275 Reviews for Story and Narrative Development for Video Games

By Gregorio M

Oct 25, 2022

Really well structured course with the first 2 lessons mainly focused on the storytelling part of video games and the last 2 parts, on how to apply those storytelling techniques to videogames related document.

By Juan U G C

Aug 11, 2021

it was good but i think more visual elements would have been pretty cool. Also more examples of official documents that they use in big studios, those are pretty cool but i would like some more.

By VANSH P

Jul 12, 2020

The course is really good and really educational and i would recommend people about it. Though the thing that i didn't like was that i wanted some more examples for different types of games.

By Alexey Z

Mar 14, 2018

A very good course to a beginner with no education in script-writing. A good relation to game industry. Interesting methods of organizing your work. Good cooperation with classmates

By Ramon M L

Mar 9, 2016

I learned good stuff. i gave four star because there could be more content some parts were written instead of a lecture. But i will recommend this course.

By Büşra T

Nov 14, 2021

It was an enjoyable course. maybe better ideas could be given on how to start writing the story because sometimes you don't know where to start.

By W B

Mar 28, 2019

I really enjoyed this course and the instructors materials, I just wish we were given the chance to work on our own games in the assignments.

By Mateus F

Apr 2, 2016

Makes you think. Interesting for any developer or anyone intested in narratives as a whole. Really nice exercises and lists too!

By John L N d S

Oct 28, 2016

It was a great course and I`ve learned a lot with him!

I recommend for all student who want to get start on game design area.

By Marina Z

Aug 1, 2016

Course materials are a little bit obvious, but I really like the original version of The Shooter and Jane's personality

By Jorge T

May 16, 2016

The course is fun, but as the previous part of the specialization a bit simple for what it charges for the certificate.

By Paul B

Dec 4, 2015

Fun, interesting, good pacing and case studies. Instructor was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and presented material well.

By Eduardo B M

Jul 30, 2019

This really makes you work hard. Lots of writings. Definitely a good way to practice how to create a Game document.

By Sergio C

Mar 22, 2016

I liked the course. To improve, could become more dynamic , but the teacher is to be congratulated .

By Elena S N

Aug 3, 2020

It is an excellent course, funny and interesting, but sometimes the content is too basic.

By E. C C

Aug 14, 2017

Great course for expanding your writing skills in relation to storytelling in games.

By Antonija A

Mar 17, 2023

I think I learned a lot about the story design process and I'm keen to learn more

By Leo W

Nov 12, 2022

Good course, I really enjoyed re-interpreting the game scenarios presented.

By Dan R

Feb 24, 2016

This course gives actionable ideas about design characters and story lines.

By Antonia P C

May 30, 2017

I enjoyed a lot this course, showed quite well technics and tips to write

By Anirudh C

Dec 17, 2018

pretty interesting. so many aspects to learn about story writing.

By Carlo S C

Sep 10, 2016

A nice course, but there is lack of teachers participation.

By Angel A S M M

Jun 2, 2021

Curso para aprender a redactar historias y sus personajes

By Mikiodelg

Nov 17, 2015

Really nice way to know hot to present a Story!

By Andrea G A

Jul 16, 2021

Good course but a little bit less talking head