Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Virtual Instruction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Virtual Instruction by University of California, Irvine

4.4
stars
1,080 ratings
336 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Foundations of Virtual Instruction! This course will help you 'up' your game and develop the advanced skills and techniques that elude even some of the most experienced virtual teachers in the K-12 space. Examine pitfalls and learn how to overcome them by focusing on the fundamentals that have the most significant impact on student learning in a blended or online environment. When you complete this course, you will be able to: • Craft virtual learning experiences that align with your student's needs. • Set up a learning environment to get to know your students, and they get to know each other. • Use a variety of online tools to provide feedback and personalize the learning experience. • Identify at-risk students and employ effective strategies for teaching them. • Compare and contrast online and face-to-face learning communities. • Apply strategies to make virtual courses more human....

Top reviews

MD
Nov 18, 2020

I am very thankful to all the creators and developers of this course, It really gave me the opportunity to understand the terminologies, legalities and a lot more,\n\nOnce again Thank you very much!!

JH
Jan 18, 2018

Excepcional, debido a que toda la secuencia de la aplicación y el desarrollo de la educación virtual, impregna los profesores y estudiantes en un universo de excitación y deseo de aprender. Gracias

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 332 Reviews for Foundations of Virtual Instruction

By Evgenia K

Dec 2, 2016

All in all I liked the course, it's easy to comprehend and well structured. Nevertheless, I missed the lecurer, I'd really liked that the lectured didn't read the script but retold it in the camera, it would be more of a face to face communication. Besides, some interviews would be nice.

By Brian C

May 9, 2020

Decent course regarding the history of online learning and some other superficial areas, but much of the information seems to be at least 7-10 years old and is in need of updating to be relevant in regards to current trends in Virtual Learning.

By Dr. A K P

May 21, 2020

Final Quiz should have only wrong questions in re attempt. Unnecessary one has to keep doing right MC questions again and again. Multiple choice should be one instant of choice of selection form many answers. Thanks

By Ruben S

Apr 16, 2020

The material is decent, but outdated (in 2020). Also, it's very US-centric in terms of school systems, funding, legislation etc. I would say the course has little value if you're not a USA-based K-12 teacher.

By Mujeeb U R A

Jun 26, 2020

It is a nice course specially for the beginners in online learning. However, a lot of links are outdated i would recommend the course moderators should check those out and provide with updated links.

By Stefan R

Jul 10, 2020

It's a nice overview, but overly specific to the US context (which is also part of quizzes etc). I hope and expect the following (more in-depth) courses of this specialization will be better.

By Joel V

Jan 1, 2019

I find the video a little old-fashion and the supporting material hard to navigate.

Content however was great, at the exception that it is no so easier to apply to non US-audeince

By Arun P

May 12, 2020

The course has given a lot of new insights to Virtual Instruction. The course is well designed and the contents are appropriate. It is more focused towards US schooling.

By ANAND P P

May 23, 2020

Videos are too lengthy and downloaded ppts have no content as such to be referred to. Instead of voice-over, video will be more interactive.

By Ivan C

May 5, 2020

It's way too focused on US legislation, which sound completely unuseful for students abroad and provided little to no value at all.

By Krzysztof F

Jul 15, 2017

Some of the content does not relate to policies and regulations anywhere outside the USA. Otherwise the course is very informative.

By Julio C T R

Jan 2, 2020

I suggest that the course does not have videos of more than 10 minutes, nor that the exams are of more than 15 questions

By Suresh G

Oct 8, 2020

The course has a significant US leaning and needs to be more Global in content and delivery

By Malleswara R B

Aug 17, 2020

Not much useful. Practical aspects of the virtual education have to be improved.

By Remi E d L

Aug 15, 2020

The course needs to be updated, and needs to be less focused on a US context.

By Austin M N L

Oct 12, 2016

This was a good course, a little hard to follow at times but very beneficial.

By RAMLATH K

Aug 4, 2020

Excellent Course, but little tough.

By Amit K

Aug 11, 2020

no words

By Jessica S

Jun 24, 2020

Outdated

By SINDHU S

Aug 18, 2020

good

By Dale Z

Apr 14, 2020

Some engaging content but much of it is out of date, particularly some of the different platforms for virtual education. Very American-centric during some weeks with the focus on funding and legislation. Quizzes are common sense or recall of very specific facts eg. which school wouldn't get funding under x model.

By Karolina F

Jul 27, 2020

It was too much laws, and LMS examples. I do not need this to be a good teacher. I am glad this course is over, and am looking forward to other ones.

By Prathibha M

Jul 3, 2020

Did not add beneficial meaning to my progress as a virtual educator. The quizes felt more like trivia than application of knowledge.

By Vineeta R

Sep 1, 2020

It was not as good course as the following courses in Virtual teaching specialization package.

By Seema N

May 2, 2021

For a virtual instruction course its too textual and does not use any virtual tools or videos