Chevron Left
Back to Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript by University of London

4.6
stars
5,905 ratings
1,603 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn three key website programming and design languages: HTML, CSS and JavaScript. You will create a web page using basic elements to control layout and style. Additionally, your web page will support interactivity. At the end of the course, you will be able to: 1. Define the purpose of HTML, CSS and JavaScript 2. Make a simple web page using HTML 3. Use CSS to control text styles and layout 4. Use CSS libraries such as Bootstrap to create responsive layouts 5. Use JavaScript variables and functions 6. Manipulate web page content using JavaScript 7. Respond to user input using JavaScript In this course, you will complete: 2 assignments writing HTML, CSS and JavaScript, each taking ~1 hour to complete 4 quizzes, each taking ~20 minutes to complete 1 programming exercise~30 minutes to complete multiple practice quizzes, each taking ~5 minutes to complete Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes....

Top reviews

CM

Oct 10, 2017

Thought the course did a great job of teaching the basics without getting too ahead of itself. All of the sample code was well commented out to explain exactly what the code did which was very helpful

DA

May 26, 2018

This is an excellent course for the basics in html, css and js I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wanted to build a simple but interactive website using one of the many frameworks available

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 1,597 Reviews for Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript

By dave

Aug 9, 2016

i started with web 1.0 back in 1996 and did not go further with html because too many constraints for layouts back then. wow, css and javascript really solved many problems encountered back then. thanks for a great intro to what's possible now making responsive sites.

By Muhammad U

Apr 21, 2020

I really enjoyed learning with this institute,excellent teachers and excellent place for study online.i am really thankful to the all team members to provide us with such excellent platform.Thanks Coursera, Thanks UNIVERSITY OF LONDON GOLDSMITHS, UNIVERSITY OF LONDON.

By Dana N

May 7, 2016

Good class, easy if you've already studied the subject before. But, it does provide you a simple way to get started on some projects. Could use some proofreading on some of it's quizzes (possibly the British English influencing the syntax of the written language).

By Manuel R

Oct 8, 2015

This is could be too basic for some peolple with experience in programming but its learning curse is smooth and gives all necessary background for make more complex projects and as they say, don't limitate yourselves with just what you were given.

Great job, guys!!

By Lemme V

Feb 18, 2016

Very good start to front-end programming. The instructors engaged the audience well and explained the concepts clearly and in detail.

There was a exponental jump between week 3 lectures and week 3 quiz. I had to do much additional research on the web to pass that.

By Lucas G D

Jan 31, 2016

Great basic course!

Some parts are really easy if you know basic programming, but it is REALLY simple and straightforward for people with no experience at all programming.

Very well done! I highly recommend this introduction to Responsive Website development.

By 何秋鸣

Dec 11, 2015

The course covers some aspects of front-end web development lightly and give me a good start to interactive web app.I have an idea to construct my last homework to a very simple game but encountering some troubles.To summarize this course,it is wonderful!

By Kanerain S

Mar 20, 2016

This lecture is what I desirably wanted. It is the perfect course for especially such a novice like me. I didn't know how to start the web and I couldn't distinguish between HTML, CSS and Javascript. Through this course, I think I have great chance to try

By Gerelmaa

Oct 27, 2015

It was very nice and valuable course for me. I teach myself how to code and make website. In the result of this course, I obtained new valuable things such as bootstrap, jquery, etc.

Thank you very much.

I wish the success for your impressive great job.

By Eleonora V R

Mar 4, 2016

Sono rimasta molto soddisfatta di questo corso: ho imparato un sacco di nozioni in più e ora posso dire di saper creare un responsive website. Oltre al fatto che, essendo in inglese il corso, ho rispolverato il mio inglese, imparando i termini tecnici.

By Adnan Z

Oct 19, 2015

The instructors at the University of London were excellent personalities with very good communication skills. Once again, perfected online education surpasses expensive in-class university classes in preparing people for the digital economy we live in.

By Aashish L P

Nov 11, 2020

A great introductory course in HTML, CSS, JavaScript, jQuery & Bootstrap. It doesn't goes very deep into each of these technologies but it gives you enough foundations for you to pursue further.

By Isaac

Dec 7, 2015

Very nice overview of how web-development is done. It has been of great help to me for developing basic human machine interfaces for robotic systems

By Hao D

Feb 9, 2016

What tutor said is articulate. What tutor taught is easy to understand. What assignment asked to do is useful. This is a easy but practical course.

By Ashraf S

Feb 15, 2020

Very informative makes your concepts clear about everything related to the topic. Would recommend this course to anyone going for web development.

By Jesus

Jan 12, 2016

Da muy buenas bases para empezar como desarrollador Web y se entiende muy bien los temas. Me gustó mucho el ritmo de aprendizaje. Muy recomendado.

By Carlos Q A

Mar 21, 2017

It was a really great course since it really got me out many doubts and it gave me what I needed to actually get a good grip for web development.

By ALDECI G D S

Oct 13, 2015

Ótimo curso, foi muito dinâmico, didática clara e objetiva. Só tenho a agradecer e recomendarei a todos meus amigos, família e colegas de classe.

By Viplav M

Sep 30, 2015

It's a good introductory course for understanding the basic of HTML,CSS and JS. Examples are well explained and the course delivery was good :) .

By P S

Jul 3, 2020

It's the best course on coursera for HTML CSS and JS. With a real life restaurant website, it covers all the topic in depth including bootstrap.

By Rizwana S

May 18, 2018

Best course to opt for beginners. The instructors are quite good at explaining the basics and keeps us engaged in the course by using examples.

By Rodrigo B d S C

Jul 2, 2020

Great overview of HTML for the structure of the site, CSS and bootstrap4 for style and responsive, JavaScript an jquery for interactive sites.

By Sergio A D A

Nov 18, 2020

Excellent course, you understand the Basic of HTML, CSS, JQuery and JavaScript and you put that Knowledge in practice doing a basic web page.

By Omar F

Apr 18, 2020

This is the first course I took online in my life. I love this course. And all the teacher style of understanding has given me a lot of joy.

By Manuel M

Oct 2, 2020

It is a good opening for web programmers. I enjoyed every class of this course and I know that I will enjoy the rest of the specialization.