Chevron Left
Back to Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript by University of London

4.6
stars
5,685 ratings
1,541 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn three key website programming and design languages: HTML, CSS and JavaScript. You will create a web page using basic elements to control layout and style. Additionally, your web page will support interactivity. At the end of the course, you will be able to: 1. Define the purpose of HTML, CSS and JavaScript 2. Make a simple web page using HTML 3. Use CSS to control text styles and layout 4. Use CSS libraries such as Bootstrap to create responsive layouts 5. Use JavaScript variables and functions 6. Manipulate web page content using JavaScript 7. Respond to user input using JavaScript In this course, you will complete: 2 assignments writing HTML, CSS and JavaScript, each taking ~1 hour to complete 4 quizzes, each taking ~20 minutes to complete 1 programming exercise~30 minutes to complete multiple practice quizzes, each taking ~5 minutes to complete Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes....

Top reviews

CM
Oct 10, 2017

Thought the course did a great job of teaching the basics without getting too ahead of itself. All of the sample code was well commented out to explain exactly what the code did which was very helpful

DA
May 26, 2018

This is an excellent course for the basics in html, css and js I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wanted to build a simple but interactive website using one of the many frameworks available

Filter by:

1151 - 1175 of 1,519 Reviews for Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript

By Adwitiya P

Jul 18, 2017

Pretty good course outline and structure. The focus on the CSS part was a little less, and on JavaScript a little too much. It's a good launchpad for anyone looking to get the basics of web development right!

By howard z

Dec 30, 2015

very nice fundamentals. I like the way they begin with the most basic elements. Then add on additional incremental elements to make the projects more sophisticated and our knowledgebase more sophisticated.

By Sabrina T

Mar 22, 2016

I like this course, it`s fun and useful. But on the other hand it`s sometimes a bit difficult to follow the teacher as he`s sometimes doing things to fast. So I have to rewind and pause to see, what he did.

By 赵越

Oct 26, 2015

Well prepared lesson for those who has no background of coding. However, the topic is too wide to cover, so the depth of the lesson is not satisfying for those who already have some knowledge of coding.

By Amritanshu A

Sep 24, 2018

The course was for absolute beginners. I also felt that the content was less in comparison to other similar courses. But this introduction will be enough for beginners to explore further on their own.

By Advait L

Aug 29, 2020

Course is well structured and up to date.Also material provided is also excellent.But Jquery and JavaScript should be explained in more detailed.And some realistic website project should be provided.

By AMAN K M

Apr 28, 2020

Coursera is best online learning platform. i learned "Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript" course from university of london. i thankful university of london and coursera.

By Asen B

Nov 9, 2015

It's a good start for everyone interested in the creation of responsive websites. It's easy in the beginning but then with JavaScript you have to read additional sources to get the whole picture.

By Raymond D

Oct 28, 2015

When they say basic, they mean BAAAASSSSIIIIC. Good course to start with if you're not used to web development. If you have developed web pages and web applications, this course will be a breeze.

By Jiří L

Sep 21, 2015

Nice introductory course in responsive web design. It might be a little fast for students with close to none experience with HTML and CSS, however all the examples given were explained very wel.

By Samiullah K

Feb 7, 2016

I like this course because it was jumping directly into latest and greatest of frameworks or libraries and making things easy to get started.

The instruction give on assignment wasn't clear

By George E B J

Mar 28, 2016

Great course! I wish I could take a regular semester class, but good job with the amount of material included within this class. I'm looking forward to learning more from this specialty.

By Diego A N

Feb 17, 2020

They need to update the initial files for the assignments and some videos because they don't match the current version of meteor or compatible and in some cases use outdated packages

By Danilo C

Jul 4, 2018

If you are considering paying for the course so you can do the assignments, just don't. Assignments were extremely easy and boring. Nonetheless, the overall content was fantastic!

By Satyender K M

Oct 9, 2015

I have worked on Oracle's proprietary systems and just wanted to know how are several awesome websites are made with html, css, javascript, jquery etc. Thank you so much guys...

By Ahmed N

Aug 21, 2016

the course is quite simple and informative. I really like how it is done as hands on experience not just lectures and assignments. I would definitely recommend it for beginners

By José L E S

Apr 22, 2021

It is a good course to quickly understand the basic concepts of web development, but I suggest to complement it with other similar courses to learn more about these topics.

By Milena N

Apr 27, 2020

Se requieren más subtitulos en español en los vídeos faltantes. Un poco difícil las explicaciones del profesor Andrew. Buena base para comenzar con el diseño de páginas web

By Rahul S

Jan 4, 2017

Its a damn awesome course

the main thing about this course is i didnt lose intrest in course till last

as most of the times i start the course but never complete it before.

By Ivan B

Jun 8, 2017

After the "first week", covering HTML, I can only say "thumbs up" for the content and presentation, but a little bit too "shallow" and not for the complete beginners !

By Vivek S

May 28, 2017

Very informative and helpful, but not very fluid, like there is small pacing issue, though its not a big deal! I'd definitely recommend this course for all beginners

By Jay Y

Nov 29, 2020

A little more advanced than I thought, and a lot of snippets are not well explained. But this course has triggered me to explore more. Thank you for the lectures.

By Om C

Jun 20, 2020

Things should have been in more depth. But the course was nice. Also I would suggest that the instructor should discuss about the questions asked in previous quiz

By BOLLA G K R

Apr 11, 2020

This is one of the best course for basic website design using the HTML,CSS,Java script i.i. to structure,style and interaction can be done with the website design

By MOHD S

Dec 29, 2018

assignments were too easy for this course any one do them probably within two to three days

i have hope rest of the courses of the specialization will have level