Chevron Left
Back to Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript by University of London

4.6
stars
5,634 ratings
1,526 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn three key website programming and design languages: HTML, CSS and JavaScript. You will create a web page using basic elements to control layout and style. Additionally, your web page will support interactivity. At the end of the course, you will be able to: 1. Define the purpose of HTML, CSS and JavaScript 2. Make a simple web page using HTML 3. Use CSS to control text styles and layout 4. Use CSS libraries such as Bootstrap to create responsive layouts 5. Use JavaScript variables and functions 6. Manipulate web page content using JavaScript 7. Respond to user input using JavaScript In this course, you will complete: 2 assignments writing HTML, CSS and JavaScript, each taking ~1 hour to complete 4 quizzes, each taking ~20 minutes to complete 1 programming exercise~30 minutes to complete multiple practice quizzes, each taking ~5 minutes to complete Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes....

Top reviews

CM
Oct 10, 2017

Thought the course did a great job of teaching the basics without getting too ahead of itself. All of the sample code was well commented out to explain exactly what the code did which was very helpful

DA
May 26, 2018

This is an excellent course for the basics in html, css and js I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wanted to build a simple but interactive website using one of the many frameworks available

Filter by:

1426 - 1450 of 1,501 Reviews for Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript

By Diego L

Dec 27, 2015

I believe the two first modules (html, css) are way too basic to really learn anything. The javascript segment is better because the concepts are explained more in depth.

By Brajesh V

Oct 12, 2015

This course have excellent title but not that great contents. It touched html, css, javascript, bootstrap and jquery most of part as just touched. contents are too less

By Felicea V

Oct 8, 2015

The course feels too rushed/condensed for someone with no real scripting/coding background. I honestly felt this course wasn't for me because I wasn't learning enough.

By Amr E

May 12, 2016

I was a little lost during projects, there no extensive videos for languages but on the other hand there was good materials and refereed links that could help.

By Bogdan R

Oct 13, 2015

Plus: responsive web programming, notions of bootstrap and jQuery

Negative: ultra-beginner level, very low-level basics, not much hands-on use of HTML/CSS/JS

By Jorge L L U

Apr 27, 2020

Easy to understand, but not so deep in terms of concepts. The activities per module seem irrelevant and too easy in correlation to the content presented.

By Daniel M

Jul 19, 2017

Good to learn basics, but would like to have more chances throughout to apply lessons and not just listen/write notes/try to use at the end of each week.

By Prajwal R P

Jun 5, 2020

I was unsatisfied with the tests and assignments given.

the concepts being learned in the week were not applied to the given assignments of the week

By Luis M

Aug 18, 2020

Is not updated.

Good for starters, Javascript course base in jquery so complicated to understand. The way you write code is not appropiate nowadays.

By Brindha

May 14, 2018

Course content is good. But the assignments could be a little more complex. Also, jQuery could be handled separately for better understanding.

By Thaer S

Apr 23, 2021

is not suitable for beginners.

just general information.

how you can expect beginners to learn bootstrap and jQuery form the first course.!

By Moisés P

May 3, 2018

I would say 2.5 of 5. The content doesn't go deep but isn't bad. The practices are way too easy, I think they should be more challenging.

By Ritesh K

Dec 4, 2018

Nice course to start with, Had the programming experience, But Never tried my hands with UX, This course got me started well. Thanks..!!

By Yanxiang L

Apr 27, 2019

Pros: Good course to begin, and the course was clearly presented.

Cons: Errors on quiz, bad coding styles introduced in some lectures.

By Omar S

Mar 17, 2018

it jumped so fast from Elementry level to Advanced. And starting from JavaScript then using only jQuery got me frustrated.

By Tkachenko V

Jul 27, 2020

In my opinion it is wrong to say about frameworks first. Developer needs fundamental knowledge to grow faster and easier.

By matt

Sep 16, 2019

The teachers were good buy to cover HTML, CSS, and Javascript the course should have been longer or broken up by subject.

By namhla

Jan 22, 2020

This course is basic, these are things you could easily learn in a tutorial online.The syntex that is used is dated.

By Anil G

Dec 8, 2015

Could have covered more areas and with more examples for features. Not bad for what it is to serve as guidance.

By Onurcan Ö

Feb 27, 2019

It can be more detailed course but it is very helpful to understand main concepts of responsive websites.

By Feriel R

Aug 17, 2020

It was good , but the JavaScript and the jQuery part should've been explained in more depth .

By Jinendra J

Jun 1, 2020

only for absolute beginner of programming. Not for them who know basic programming languages.

By sagarika

May 20, 2020

it would have been bettter if the javascript and jquery were taken in a more ellaborate way

By Nourin A E

Apr 6, 2017

Way too basic.

A bit more realistic and complex practice assignments will enrich the course.

By Venkatesh k

Jun 29, 2020

Javascript module is not clearly explained by the instructor. It's bit of tough to get it.