Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models by University of Pennsylvania

4.2
stars
3,669 ratings

About the Course

The simple spreadsheet is one of the most powerful data analysis tools that exists, and it’s available to almost anyone. Major corporations and small businesses alike use spreadsheet models to determine where key measures of their success are now, and where they are likely to be in the future. But in order to get the most out of a spreadsheet, you have the know-how to use it. This course is designed to give you an introduction to basic spreadsheet tools and formulas so that you can begin harness the power of spreadsheets to map the data you have now and to predict the data you may have in the future. Through short, easy-to-follow demonstrations, you’ll learn how to use Excel or Sheets so that you can begin to build models and decision trees in future courses in this Specialization. Basic familiarity with, and access to, Excel or Sheets is required....

Top reviews

MM

Jun 21, 2017

This course has made me understand cost accounting, has provided a fresh perspective on how to solve some of the challenges i had with management accounting and as a bonus, made me love maths again :)

RJ

Jun 11, 2020

The course is worth the time , the faculty teaches you about some complicated advance formulae with so much clarity and ease that even beginners can be pro in excel related to business and finance.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 684 Reviews for Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

By Chris A w

Feb 7, 2020

This course was very informative.

By Aditya T

Oct 6, 2019

Need models to be more realistic!

By Santiago C

Aug 2, 2019

Very basic exercises and topics

By Shantanu K

Jan 6, 2018

Videos can be more informative.

By Ted T

Apr 28, 2017

Useful and practical course

By Mykola B

Aug 29, 2016

It was not very informative

By Tarun S R

Mar 10, 2019

Good course thank you.

By David W

Dec 29, 2021

Great depth on usages

By sajjad s

Jan 16, 2021

The course is so easy

By Mikhail S

May 8, 2016

It seems too easy

By Francisco S d T

Aug 15, 2017

Short and sweet.

By Mayur S P

May 6, 2020

Good training

By wendy a s r

May 5, 2020

GREAT COURSE

By Deleted A

Mar 29, 2020

Very Helpful

By Hang L

Dec 30, 2021

very useful

By IBRAHIM D A

Mar 6, 2022

very good

By Blake E

May 5, 2020

Decent

By Lucas V M

May 31, 2016

Great!

By Oscar P S R

Feb 18, 2021

good!

By Justin O

Jul 27, 2021

Okay

By Kiran G G

Apr 19, 2020

Good

By Tom K

Jun 23, 2017

V

By Chintamani D

Apr 11, 2021

This had the potential my to be so much better but instead it was made a complete waste of time. Its ridiculous how the professor thought that the manner in which the concepts were explained would be understandable. I had no excel experience and all of it was totally new to me. Before enrolling I thought there would be clear and step by step explanation of the concept for new users to understand but instead they just assumed that we already knew what was being taught and we would understand the whole thing in a matter of a few minutes. The quiz had some issues.

This is one of those courses that I came across on Coursera that does not show you the answers if you get them wrong. Now it makes sense to not reveal the answer but what would be better is to show how the answer was reached at but in the next attempt provide a different question. Coursera hopefully looks into this and does the needful. Otherwise if you get stuck, there's no way of knowing how to solve the question.

By Jason P

Aug 6, 2017

I'm not entirely sure that this course should have been separated out on its own. The material was too high level with very minimal examples/practice questions. It made it kind of difficult to tease out what was important in a 3-5 minute videos. I felt like it left you stretching to match the objectives with the content. In regards to the quiz questions, I think it'd be useful to see the correct answer when it comes to formulas. This would be important because an answer may actually be correct but marked incorrect due to the fact it wasn't typed exactly as the specified answer was. For example, $F$8 <= $H$8 could be construed differently than $F$8 < = $H$8. Again, I'm not saying that this was the case, but it does happen frequently in these types of quiz formats.

By Alan H

Apr 20, 2020

This course was well-organized and I appreciate the no-nonsense, fast pacing. I was introduced to several functions and tools I was not familiar with and think I benefited from the course overall. However, the quizzes are terrible. I found the questions to be either 1) extremely trivial or 2) ambiguous in wording of the question or in the answer choices provided. As a result and as someone else noted in a review of this course, you can't learn anything from the quiz feedback. For some of the questions in which I erred, I'm still scratching my head as to why I got it wrong in the first place, or why my subsequent answers upon retaking the quiz were right.