Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Marketing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Marketing by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
10,576 ratings
2,062 reviews

About the Course

Taught by three of Wharton's top faculty in the marketing department, consistently ranked as the #1 marketing department in the world, this course covers three core topics in customer loyalty: branding, customer centricity, and practical, go-to-market strategies. You’ll learn key principles in - Branding: brand equity is one of the key elements of keeping customers in a dynamic world in which new startups are emerging constantly. - Customer centricity: not synonymous with customer service, customer centricity starts with customer focus and need-gathering. - Go-to-market strategies: understand the drivers that influence customers and see how these are implemented prior to making an investment. Complete this course as part of Wharton's Business Foundations Specialization, and you'll have the opportunity to take the Capstone Project and prepare a strategic analysis and proposed solution to a real business challenge from Wharton-governed companies like Shazam and SnapDeal or to a challenge faced by your own company or organization. Wharton-trained staff will evaluate the top submissions, and leadership teams at Shazam and SnapDeal will review the highest scoring projects prepared for their companies....

Top reviews

AS
Apr 29, 2021

Learnt a lot of concepts in marketing that were hiding in plain sight. I want to thank all the professors who were part of making this course and Wharton online for making this accessible to everyone.

MK
Dec 10, 2015

Great! I am taking the course with almost no experience in this area. Really enjoyed this class and learned a lot. A lot of practical examples which helped me to understand all the parts. Thank you!

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 2,025 Reviews for Introduction to Marketing

By Hervé M

Jun 22, 2020

Great insights into the purpose of marketing within an organization. Coming from an R&D background, I never really understood how marketing worked, other than thinking it was synonymous with advertising. This was a really great course!

By Yash M

Jun 7, 2017

The professors explained and elaborated every thing related to subject very clearly and briefly. I liked the course very much and will definately refer to my friends. I from the depth of my heart appreciate the efforts of the lecturers

By Rafiq Z

Apr 9, 2017

I love the fact that you can download the lectures and also that you provide the text so you can read it while professor is talking. Also the fact that professor stays on screen the entire time makes you feel more like the class room.

By Abhishek B

Feb 14, 2017

Prof. Fader is a genius. His interpretation and composition of the markets and his explanations are simple, precise and accurate.

His interpretation of Customer centric approach will sure help me in my thinking and growth in my company.

By Elizabeth C

Jul 10, 2020

Working in Retail Management I was pleasantly familiar with many of the core concepts of this course but was able to expand my knowledge in a way that had me think differently in customer acquisition and pricing strategies! Very nice!

By Atharva B

May 26, 2020

Amazing Course !!! It covers the basics of marketing and how any company should approach while positioning their brand in open market, Also course covers the changing methodology of operations from product centric to customer centric.

By Stella O

Apr 21, 2020

Thank you for making this course free.The lecturers were detailed and straight to the point,made learning interesting, i was particularly impressed with their ability to relate their points to real businesses with practical examples.

By SANJAY K D

Jun 12, 2018

THE LECTURE IS TRULY HELPFUL IN UNDERSTANDING THE BASIC OF MARKETING. GOOD OPPORTUNITY TO IMPROVE THE KNOWLEDGE ABOUT BRAND MARKETING. IT CAN ALSO BE USED IN THE REAL LIFE APPLICATION OR WORKING AS SALES ASSOCIATE IN ANY ORGANIZATION.

By Vikrant C

Apr 28, 2019

The course was really good and helped in understanding several marketing analytics concepts like calculating Customer lifetime value, lift in sales and many such concepts which will help someone wanting to work in marketing strategy.

By Lauma S

Apr 17, 2016

An excellent course. I learned a lot and it was very interesting. All the marketing concepts are clear and well explained. Professors are great!!! It was nice time sudying for this marketing course while gaining a lot of information.

By Gerrit K

Mar 15, 2016

This was a fantastic introductory course. I learned a lot of new and interesting concepts, as well as understanding some of which I had only had 'dangerous half-knowledge' as the Germans say.

Thanks a lot to the team and to coursera!

By Ana S A

Feb 3, 2021

The best course for people who want to learn and really understand all aspects and concepts of marketing. Covers everything amazingly and all three professors are incredible. I adored this course and really recommend it to everyone

By Akshatha K

Jun 29, 2019

I was a complete newbie to marketing. This course helped me understand the concepts and various strategies with interesting real world examples which helped me relate better. I enjoyed learning from the experienced faculty as well.

By Dwayne S

Dec 21, 2020

The strategies and initiatives delivered by this course were uniquely designed to help with the practical application of marketing. They presented everyday challenges with fitting solutions that can bring about practical success.

By Liu C

Feb 24, 2016

Professional and easy-going course design for non-business background students. Highly recommended to the person who want to equip with the foundation of business knowledge and alter their career path toward business management.

By Manish R

Jun 25, 2020

It has indeed been a very comfortable learning experience, everything in the course material has been very helpful to gain fundamental insights into the world of marketing. Thank you UPenn for the amazing learning experience :)

By Giuseppe M

Sep 21, 2019

Insightful, comprehensive and thorough overview delving into the marketing world. The way this programme is structured, along with the reading and video lecture support, facilitates learning at ones own pace. Just wonderful!

By Leonor E d P

Feb 21, 2016

Includes the basic concepts of marketing but also the right amount of depth to learn way more than basics. Very didactic and gives tons of examples to understand more. A course that's very well structured and great professors!

By SAGAR P K

Sep 27, 2020

The coures is really good. My concepts of marketing are pretty much clear. Aspecially regarding brand and customer acquisition and how to position a brand. Thank you so much for giving me appournity to learn from this course.

By Agnes K

Aug 8, 2016

It's a good course and easy to understand especially for the beginner like me who don't have any background about businesses. Thank you so much University of Pennsylvania and Coursera for make this course happen in Indonesia.

By Amina B

Jun 21, 2016

I found this course very easy to follow, and with no prior knowledge of marketing I thought it was quite easy to understand all the concepts explained in this course. I would definitely recommend it to beginners like myself.

By Banu D K

Nov 23, 2019

I am so glad that Wharton offers such an opportunity worldwide. This course strengthened my marketing skills by giving me a different perspective. This will be very helpful developing my research thesis. Thank you, Coursera!

By Harsheel S

Jul 9, 2018

This is a fantastic course and covers a lot of material from ground up - you do not need any background to understand the concepts thought. The videos are self-sufficient to understand the concepts. Clear, lucid explanation.

By Reynaldo B J J

Apr 14, 2021

A great marketing course for beginners and for those who want to refresh or straighten their understanding of the foundation of marketing. I love all the professors here.

I just hope that case studies could be updated ;-)

By Bhargava B

Jan 14, 2021

Excellent lectures especially by Prof Kahn

Business Foundations Specialization is a must have knowledge for all marketing professionals and Wharton is the best place.

Fantastic lectures and meaningful examples/ case study.