Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Marketing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Marketing by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
10,796 ratings
2,117 reviews

About the Course

Taught by three of Wharton's top faculty in the marketing department, consistently ranked as the #1 marketing department in the world, this course covers three core topics in customer loyalty: branding, customer centricity, and practical, go-to-market strategies. You’ll learn key principles in - Branding: brand equity is one of the key elements of keeping customers in a dynamic world in which new startups are emerging constantly. - Customer centricity: not synonymous with customer service, customer centricity starts with customer focus and need-gathering. - Go-to-market strategies: understand the drivers that influence customers and see how these are implemented prior to making an investment. Complete this course as part of Wharton's Business Foundations Specialization, and you'll have the opportunity to take the Capstone Project and prepare a strategic analysis and proposed solution to a real business challenge from Wharton-governed companies like Shazam and SnapDeal or to a challenge faced by your own company or organization. Wharton-trained staff will evaluate the top submissions, and leadership teams at Shazam and SnapDeal will review the highest scoring projects prepared for their companies....

Top reviews

AS
Apr 29, 2021

Learnt a lot of concepts in marketing that were hiding in plain sight. I want to thank all the professors who were part of making this course and Wharton online for making this accessible to everyone.

AT
Jun 8, 2017

This course enhanced my perspective, I took it parallel to my ongoing courese, the cases discussed in this module helped me to analyse the application of various marketing concepts. Thanks a lot...!

Filter by:

1676 - 1700 of 2,084 Reviews for Introduction to Marketing

By Mohammed H

Mar 26, 2016

Nice

By Paul M

Jan 27, 2016

Good

By Mohamed A

Dec 28, 2015

good

By Miguel E C

Oct 7, 2020

4.5

By Ashok R

Jul 31, 2019

G

By So Y K

Mar 31, 2019

T

By Fardad G

Jul 22, 2018

t

By Eric H

Feb 22, 2018

B

By wbcngd

Jan 18, 2017

E

By D N S B

Sep 13, 2016

I

By P K S

Dec 5, 2015

m

By Ali T

Sep 1, 2019

I learned a lot even though my emotions towards the lectures were not all positive: David Bells' lectures were fantastic and what you can hope for from a professor who is doing research. Barbara E. Kahns' lectures were interesting too, although I felt it mainly targeted towards larger corporations. As her view of marketing was only through the lense of branding. Which I find important but incomplete. I had the hardest time going through the lectures and the book of Peter Fader. Although the idea is interesting, these lectures were much less focused on their actual research. Nore could he present many positive role models from the real world. Rather, it felt like a call for a religious type of belief where you should trust that companies who don't do this are doomed and only those companies who fully immerse themselves into this approach will succeed in the future. It was hard for me to filter out the dogma from research. Overall, I really learned a lot and I got what I were looking for: learning new ideas and approaches that I would not naturally search for. Which is why I gave it a 4 star.

By Chelsea N C

Oct 17, 2018

The flow of content is great in the first two weeks and the final week. However, week three, despite Prof. Bell's enjoyably jovial demeanor, seems to drag on forever. Week three takes you totally off the rails with its missing content (cut for the sake of shortening the duration of the course, but done in a way that leaves a lot to be desired) and its lack of sufficient transitions and connections between topics. Professor Kahn's lectures were my favorite, due to her clear way of explaining concepts and giving multiple examples that very clearly demonstrate her point. Speaking of examples, this course could also use a overhaul to bring it back up to date. Five years may not seem like a long time, but that's practically decades when it comes to marketing communications! Overall, this course is a great refresher for those who've studied ad/IMC/branding already, and a good starting point for those just getting into the field.

By trung d

Mar 7, 2016

Great course!

This is quite interesting course on marketing in general although it does not cover much on marketing mix (4 Ps) but I found it quite useful for people who really want to understand basics of brand, STP, brand mantra,etc and especially for ones working on ecommerce projects because they teach quite interesting theories about online-offline world interaction. Moreover, an indept knowledge on brand is a plus to this course. Last but not least, they also mention increasing trend of taking advantage of huge data for online startups and companies, which i found very important for the future of marketing.

I myself reflected a lot on real world's marketing tactics thanks to this course such as referral, brand upgrading, color of the brand, etc.

By Alex O

Sep 16, 2020

The quality of information in this course is top notch. However, my biggest feedback to the instructors is to consider how they could have been more engaging. I really appreciated Professor Fader shooting some of his videos outside. Professor Khan used breaks in the video to make thinking about the concepts she was presenting more salient. However, both could have done even more.

I felt Week 3's instructor, whose name I can not remember, created rather boring content. The thing that is so disappointing is that his videos covered the most interesting topics, and as someone more familiar with branding, I felt disappointed that it week 3's videos were so hard to watch. I actually found it easier to just read the transcript

By Owais S

Nov 25, 2018

A very well made course. I was fortunate enough to learn a lot of new things, and a lot of the examples were very thought provoking. My only complaint is that the videos were rather long -- some could reach up to 15 minutes per video which may not always be ideal for professionals who wish to watch bite-sized videos. However, on the whole, the course itself is immensely informative and fairly priced -- given the value of the Wharton School's brand. I would recommend this course to any marketing/advertising//business student in college or marketing professionals who seek to learn new concepts in an informative manner. I thank the 3 professors, Coursera and the Wharton School for this wonderful course.

By Suryasree R

Mar 9, 2016

The course content was extremely informative and each concept was explained well with examples. I loved the case studies they presented and enjoyed every bit of the information. As I am in the process of setting up my own start-up, the various Marketing strategies and concepts helped me tremendously.

The reason why I rated it 4 is because, the scope of clearing your doubts through the discussion forum was quite low. Frankly, it depends on the number of peers, who are active. If, we could be given a mode of communicating with the professors regarding our doubts, it would have been perfect.

Nevertheless, I found this course extremely useful and enjoyed every bit.

By Valentina F

Dec 23, 2015

a very introductory, extremely condensed and fast pace course. The first module is much harder and technical than the other 3.

I strongly suggest to enroll in advance: you can up to 1 month before and have access to this first module. So you can start to study it some weeks before the actual beginning of the course. You will use it's main concepts in the other modules.

This way will be easier to complete your exams and get the certification.

In previous versions there were slides. I still think they were valuable and it's a pity they had canceled them.

The fifth module is optional and is composed by case histories, which I think is a very good idea.

By Musa

Jun 29, 2020

- I would have loved to have one more week focused on Marketing in Tech.

- Social media (Rise of instagram and Tiktok) should have been focused more, consequently focusing on Digital Marketing. Brands that have risen in the modern "rap" culture like Supreme or LV should have been discussed.

- The Influence of celebrity CEOs like Elon Musk is important these days as well and how did they build it over the years.

- What makes some companies of the modern doing giving exactly same services as competitors be far more over valued and perceived to be superior? How does a company like "Nikola" make zero revenues but is valued more than Ford?

-

By Vatsla B

Jun 17, 2019

The course study material is detailed and thorough. It is easy to understand 90% of the times but I would like to recommend the following additions to the course:

1) Direct response from faculties or marketing students (verified) on posts in forums, class interaction to share case studies for engagement

2) Active links to reference material in all videos below the transcription would be a huge help in understanding concepts mentioned better. Those mentioned on a slide are not always easy to access.

I learnt a lot and I am glad that the course was packaged in an easy to understand format. Thank you, Wharton and Coursera! :)

By Jan P

Jun 14, 2020

I found it really helpful and - as a total newcomer to marketing - learned quite a lot. However, although there's really much information in it, I'd have liked it a little bit more "interactive" - meaning e.g. not covering everything in slides, so you have to write some stuff down. Plus I'd have liked the part of Professor Raju to be devided into two parts. He's a great tutor, but I found it a bit monotone, to be honest. There were times where I really thought "when does this lecture end" - a little more "vivid" speech and/or two smaller parts instead of one 3-hour part would have helped with that.

By Toy R V

Dec 27, 2015

I would rate this course a full five points if the course lectures slides were provided. I prefer to read the slides, print the quizzes. read the questions then listen to the lectures and take notes on the slide printouts. This way i'm picking up key information only and really listening instead of focusing on writing everything - reading it after and then filtering the key points and information. Thank you for taking the time to provide this course. I enjoyed both Professors. Marketing is actually very interesting to learn given today's increase in branding and positioning.

By LAILA B

Nov 30, 2017

I really liked this class especially the topics covered by Professor Kahn . However , I struggled with the Prof Bell's way of delivring the material as what he was saying wasn't really clearly stated on the slides that were shown on the screen . In addition to that I struggled with the videos recorded in the warehouse of diapers.com as there was too much noise and I couldn't really focus on what was Prof Bell saying . There were some really complex concepts like the Gene coefficient that needed further explanation and which I had to look for in different sources .

By Philip H

May 12, 2016

Overall, solid course with good slides and talented teachers.

I particularly like the integration of provoking questions throughout the presentations, which require you to stop and think about an answer to a question posed by the teacher, or to review your notes before moving on. Very helpful in solidifying my learning.

Sometimes however, I would have appreciate a more useful background while the instructors are speaking. While it's nice to have a busy street or factory in the background, I think that visual diagrams would be much more useful as a learning aid.

By Johanna S

Oct 23, 2020

This course covers a lot of material and gives a good overview of the field of marketing. I would have appreciated having more readings or extension opportunities--there were no projects or other ways to put into practice the ideas I was learning and only 2 suggested short readings. For students who are looking to grow their skill set, both projects and readings are important. It's also clear that they updated module 3 at some point with a different professor, as the original professor is mentioned in both the syllabus and the final test, which is confusing.