Chevron Left
Back to Operations Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Operations Analytics by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
4,936 ratings

About the Course

This course is designed to impact the way you think about transforming data into better decisions. Recent extraordinary improvements in data-collecting technologies have changed the way firms make informed and effective business decisions. The course on operations analytics, taught by three of Wharton’s leading experts, focuses on how the data can be used to profitably match supply with demand in various business settings. In this course, you will learn how to model future demand uncertainties, how to predict the outcomes of competing policy choices and how to choose the best course of action in the face of risk. The course will introduce frameworks and ideas that provide insights into a spectrum of real-world business challenges, will teach you methods and software available for tackling these challenges quantitatively as well as the issues involved in gathering the relevant data. This course is appropriate for beginners and business professionals with no prior analytics experience....

Top reviews

EW

Apr 26, 2020

Excellente course. Very challenging especially for beginners. The motivation to achieve my final goal of reinventing myself professionally, makes every challenge a welcome experience. Thanks Coursera!

SB

Apr 13, 2020

Course delivery, material , work sheet is excellent , I enjoyed throughout course , I had excellent learning for optimization , decision tree, simulation which will help me in my professional career.

Filter by:

851 - 875 of 924 Reviews for Operations Analytics

By Brian V

Aug 9, 2019

Very Good. Learned a lot.

By Zaheer

Jun 22, 2021

enjoyed the challenge

By Manikandan R

Aug 23, 2017

Crisp and succinct

By Seshu B V

Jan 14, 2016

Simple and easy to

By Yew C C

Jul 20, 2016

Useful use cases.

By Cher L

May 2, 2020

Good materials.

By Nazatul A B A R

Jun 29, 2017

Course is good.

By Vivek G

Feb 26, 2019

VERY helpful

By SHAHID A

Jun 4, 2020

nice course

By Gunay A

Jun 7, 2020

perfect

By Rahul B

Jul 21, 2020

Thank

By arup k d

Sep 19, 2016

great

By ayush t

Feb 4, 2020

nice

By Rama K

Jan 25, 2023

👍

By David P

May 10, 2018

A

By Trond H

Jun 17, 2017

G

By Sharath B

Jan 29, 2016

Hi,

I am someone who works in Sales & Operations Planning and thus have experience in the field of Operations. I have taken other courses from Wharton, namely Prof Terwiesch's course on Operations Management and thus have a comparative reference in rating this course.

The course videos were good and I am looking forward to reviewing the case examples once again, but I was hoping for mode in depth discussion on key metrics and analytics in Operations. The course only provided an introduction to everyday concepts of Operations Management. The review quizzes were underwhelming since they only scratched at the surface of the concepts and were not challenging enough, the quiz of week 3 was a prime example where I felt application of algebra was being tested and not the concept of optimization itself.

That being said, the videos were excellent and detailed introduction to the concepts and the pace was well suited to make someone comfortable with the topics being discussed.

Thank You Coursera and Wharton team for providing this course. I look forward to attending more courses from Coursera and Wharton.

By Jingxia P

Jan 14, 2016

The content is too simplified, basically only three points introduced : how to do operation analytics, simulation and optimization ( by excel) . The quiz is not challenging at all. No further essay or maths involved.

In real world, the content is taught within 4 hours class time, which is at most content for no more than two first weeks for an undergraduate similar courses.

Challenge us please! Brain torture us. No one will complain it is too hard for them to learn coz we are here to learn, and after all, this is Wharton!!

But if it is too simplified to learn? Hmmm.....

Hope Penn guys can enhance the quality of content later.

By Tanguy V

Nov 9, 2015

this mooc is pretty well structured and is aimed to beginners in solver & random number generation. If you're looking for technical skills, it's ok. Don't expect any feedback from any Wharton ppl/ mentor if you have any question.

Videos are pretty long (sooo slooow sometimes), teachers there keep on repeating themselves. The good thing is you'll probably interiorize some key concepts.

By Deepa M

Dec 8, 2016

This is a tough course to complete. It took me a few trials and couple of revision sessions for the course material to understand all the concepts along with additional research and content study. But now I can confidently talk about operations analytics in my industry and help our clients in the future. Thank you to all the professors and Wharton for creating the course curriculum.

By Brent A

Aug 14, 2018

While there was some good tools which were introduced, many of the assessments on the course were very frustrating since they were not self-contained; you had to refer back to spreadsheets which were done earlier in the course.

The content of the course was very straightforward and the instructors were very knowledgeable.

By Isaac S

Mar 1, 2022

Great content and delivery from instructors. Format could use some work. Videos were very long for online learning. Video length was more traditional class room 40min to hour. It was not accommodating to flex learning since Coursera doesn’t save time in video. Audio was very quiet compared to other MOOCs.

By Carla M

May 26, 2016

The rest of this Specialization tends to focus on the cutting edge of data and how data is changing these different aspects of marketing, HR, and other departments of a company. This course didn't seem to fit very well. It is very, very Excel heavy without any link to how data is changing operations.

By Rahul R T

Aug 2, 2016

The lectures were dry. I know the subject is bit dry too. But if real life examples are infused in the course I think it will more interesting. Also, I do not mean to disrespect the teachers but I think the delivery by the Senthil sir is sluggish. Makes me want to sleep

By Nathan H

Jan 21, 2017

Savin was a good, engaging presenter. Veeraraghavan had very interesting material, but his presentation style was very dry, unengaging, and far too slow. Gans was not bad, but could also use some improvement in presentation style.