Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Operations Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Operations Management by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
stars
2,249 ratings
502 reviews

About the Course

Learn to analyze and improve business processes in services or in manufacturing by learning how to increase productivity and deliver higher quality standards. Key concepts include process analysis, bottlenecks, flows rates, and inventory levels, and more. After successfully completing this course, you can apply these skills to a real-world business challenge as part of the Wharton Business Foundations Specialization....

Top reviews

KR
Aug 24, 2020

Great Instruction by Prof Christian - very lucid and with real world examples. Learning a business skill is mostly learning observation.. Now I know what to observe when looking for productivity!

RE
Jan 28, 2021

I found this course to be very informational; the practice and homework were excellent to prepare for the exams, and the instructor covered all material in the lectures that was on the exams.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 486 Reviews for Introduction to Operations Management

By Caio A V

Nov 1, 2016

Far from the best and below the average quality of Wharton's courses, has plenty of critical technical video issues that detract one's experience and easily misguide a good understanding.

Even though, if you compensate this by taking into account the extraordinary effort Wharton's teachers have been putting on their courses and accepting as a personal challenge, you certainly will learn admirable and fundamental efficient skills regarding the operational process and decision-making process.

By Andrew H

Mar 16, 2020

I would rate this higher than 3 stars because I learned quite a lot, if not for the wording and scant instructions as to rounding on some of the quizzes, in particular Week 3. I managed to pass most of the quizzes on the first attempt, but only after looking and getting tips in the forums on how many decimals to round to. In Week 3 Quiz, there is also a set of problems poorly worded which lead to two equally reasonable logical assumptions being possible- so that one should be fixed.

By J C

Dec 31, 2017

Great information, but it is difficult to understand the professor and read his handwriting which makes the course difficult to follow. There are a number of discrepancies between the material shown in the video and the materials provided for download which can create some confusion. It would be helpful if the professor would clearly outline the various formula and calculations used and reference them consistently.

By Gabriel F

Jul 9, 2016

OK, the course starts a bit confusing and boring, but it gets better after the second week. The last week is actually very, very interesting. Handwriting is perhaps not the best thing to offer in the presentations. But the main problem of the course are the tests, by far the most difficult I ever had in coursera. Time to devote per week is way over the estimated 4/5 hours.

By Daniel M

Jan 13, 2018

I found the content to be very good. That said, I believe a few of the items on the exams provided enough deviation in scenario that the subject should be covered in more detail (example...processing demand flow) or the questions should be more specific so as not to have the tester assume or "read-in" to any variable. Again...enjoyed the learning experience.

By Dayo-Dunmoye, D

Jul 18, 2017

This course seem mechanical the fluid of it is lost on me. I find it as difficult as i did 4 years ago when i first attempted it on this platform. I need to say though that the content is relevant but it just seemed for difficult to grasp. i will revisit it IF the delivery is changed or modified to be user-friendly.

By Alivia W

Apr 22, 2020

In general a very great course with good organization and useful materials. However, comparing to other courses in the specialization, this course is significantly heavier in workload. To add, many questions in homework and exams show no similarities with questions covered in materials and gave no feedback.

By Nathan

Jan 29, 2019

I found it a little hard to follow along and some of the assignments were difficult to solve because of lack of reference resources (in the course or discussion forms). The course was overall very good but I think it could be made better if delivered better.

By 于一铭

Dec 7, 2018

I think for calculations there should be a sample answer so that students can know what's wrong with theim when their own answer is wrong. It's just so painful for me to go over and over again with these exams without knowing what's wrong with my answer.

By Choudary j

Aug 16, 2020

The material was rushed and some parts were not well explained. I understand the time constraints to cover a large course. Like in Toyota Management style, Its better to be good at some concepts rather than be average at all concepts.

By Jeffery W L J

Oct 29, 2018

Some great information. The final test though appears to have some errors. I found a discussion in the forum about it from a few years ago where an admin states otherwise. I'm not convinced however.

I enjoyed the course though.

By Vyom G

May 13, 2020

The content of the course is very good, so is the faculty's teaching method.

The course presentation seems outdated and the there is a bit of disconnect between the theory and its application in practical problem solving.

By Nithyashree S

Jan 26, 2020

This course helped me understand the basics of operations management and the real life implications of the same. The professor delivered the content in a comprehensible and fun manner.

By David M

Mar 16, 2017

Topic is great, covers a lot of concepts that are important in this field.

Providing the students with examples of the formulas and definitions prior to the course would be a big help!

By PETER G

Mar 12, 2019

I was not impressed with course up to about week three. Then the light went on and I understood the layout of the curriculum Good course with a lot of intense calculation required.

By Alex M

Oct 20, 2017

A very academic course that turns intuitive concepts inside out, with little perceived benefit. The course would benefit from more applied examples with clear added value.

By Ashish V

Mar 27, 2017

The presentation and course material is of minimal use. It should be more descriptive so that we can review the subject at a later time after completing the course.

By Vasanth P

Dec 27, 2019

This is the most difficult course in the entire Wharton fundamentals, i struggled a lot with this. You need to understand the formulate and keep practicing.

By Philipp R

May 22, 2018

Interesting course material, but the slides and presentation could be more clear. Exam questions are not always stated precisely.

By Sainath A

May 28, 2020

The videos aren't enough to get through the homework and quiz which I thought were to go through.Rest the content was good.

By Marlowe D

Mar 4, 2017

This course is fairly informative but it take much longer than advertised unless you have a background in operations.

By Philip R

Jul 4, 2017

Decent material and very sincere instructor, but somewhat dry and not as vividly applied as would be possible

By Xinhua L

Jul 22, 2018

some concepts are not very clear and exam questions are not reflecting the concepts taught in the course

By Mukil V N

Jul 6, 2020

The test taking instructions needs to be more specific. This was a big pain. The lessons are good.

By Angelene M S V

Sep 1, 2016

A pretty hard course with a very fast paced mode of learning. Still useful and challenging!