Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Operations Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Operations Management by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
stars
2,192 ratings
486 reviews

About the Course

Learn to analyze and improve business processes in services or in manufacturing by learning how to increase productivity and deliver higher quality standards. Key concepts include process analysis, bottlenecks, flows rates, and inventory levels, and more. After successfully completing this course, you can apply these skills to a real-world business challenge as part of the Wharton Business Foundations Specialization....

Top reviews

KR

Aug 25, 2020

Great Instruction by Prof Christian - very lucid and with real world examples. Learning a business skill is mostly learning observation.. Now I know what to observe when looking for productivity!

AJ

Oct 28, 2018

This is an awesome comprehensive operations management course. Although, the course in an introductory course, it covers pretty much everything you need to know about operations management.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 470 Reviews for Introduction to Operations Management

By Nithyashree S

Jan 26, 2020

This course helped me understand the basics of operations management and the real life implications of the same. The professor delivered the content in a comprehensible and fun manner.

By David M

Mar 17, 2017

Topic is great, covers a lot of concepts that are important in this field.

Providing the students with examples of the formulas and definitions prior to the course would be a big help!

By PETER G

Mar 12, 2019

I was not impressed with course up to about week three. Then the light went on and I understood the layout of the curriculum Good course with a lot of intense calculation required.

By Alex M

Oct 20, 2017

A very academic course that turns intuitive concepts inside out, with little perceived benefit. The course would benefit from more applied examples with clear added value.

By Ashish V

Mar 27, 2017

The presentation and course material is of minimal use. It should be more descriptive so that we can review the subject at a later time after completing the course.

By Vasanth P

Dec 27, 2019

This is the most difficult course in the entire Wharton fundamentals, i struggled a lot with this. You need to understand the formulate and keep practicing.

By Philipp R

May 22, 2018

Interesting course material, but the slides and presentation could be more clear. Exam questions are not always stated precisely.

By Sainath A

May 28, 2020

The videos aren't enough to get through the homework and quiz which I thought were to go through.Rest the content was good.

By Marlowe D

Mar 04, 2017

This course is fairly informative but it take much longer than advertised unless you have a background in operations.

By Philip R

Jul 04, 2017

Decent material and very sincere instructor, but somewhat dry and not as vividly applied as would be possible

By Xinhua L

Jul 22, 2018

some concepts are not very clear and exam questions are not reflecting the concepts taught in the course

By Mukil V N

Jul 06, 2020

The test taking instructions needs to be more specific. This was a big pain. The lessons are good.

By Angelene M S V

Sep 01, 2016

A pretty hard course with a very fast paced mode of learning. Still useful and challenging!

By Duong B N

Apr 22, 2016

Plz help to make knowledge as short and simple as they can be for the learner.

By Henry M

Jun 23, 2016

Goes through the material somewhat quickly. Could have done more with week 1

By Rajarajeshwari S M

Jun 28, 2016

Need more sample problems to understand the concepts better.

By ABHISEK D

Mar 26, 2016

This is not upto the standard of Wharton, I believe.

By Rean T

Nov 06, 2017

Formatting of answers during quizzes wasn’t clear.

By Lauren J

May 20, 2020

Prof is not good. Works out problems by just scribbling numbers that you can barely read with no explanation of how he got them. Which later in forums you might find out are wrong and he never redo and corrected the video. How he got the numbers and if they are correct is for you to figure out on your own making the whole "review" useless and not at all helpful to be able to complete the test or homework. Forums are somewhat more helpful as people actually explain how they solved the problems. The practice questions being solve is actually also useful as it is solved by someone other then the prof. The homework and finals should have instructions on how many decimal places it accepts as I would have 3 decimals on some answers and they would be right. Then on the next question I would solve it 6 times, look over all the examples and everything in the forum and final put the SAME ANSWER in again with two decimals not three (like the other correct questions) and then it's right. So why that would change part way through a test and not be noted is beyond me. Overall the prof made me hate the course and everything to do with Operation Management which I previously enjoyed. Would not recommend to a friend. Extremely frustrating course

By Pedro R

Aug 24, 2020

The course content was good, however, the teacher has a lot of room for improvement to say the least. He seems to be an expert on the field but he was bad in transmitting knowledge. His language was confusing and not clear in both verbal and written explanations (terrible handwriting). I have no problem with the fact that he is not a native English speaker, but he could try to open his mouth a little bit more when talking so it is not so hard to understand him. Also, he throws a lot of statistical concepts into excel formulas without explaining where do they come from when doing the exercises which makes it very difficult to understand without having a background knowledge forcing the student to look for external resources and do a lot of investigation outside COURSERA. Finally, the exams were the worst part. They were poorly designed with unclear wording that can be misleading and cause the student to fail just to try it again assuming different meanings of the message. Also, the answers had to be manually inputted instead of multiple selection, which increases the possibility of format errors.

By Alex G

Jun 26, 2020

Incredibly difficult for an intro class, especially as the Prof makes a lot of assumptions in calculations that aren't clearly defined. The homework quizzes and exams involve problems and formulas that are a bit too complex for an intro course for the general public! A lot of careful interpretation of wording and multiple steps mean that this course is quite challenging and takes a lot of careful attention.

I'd give it 1 star, except that the more you take of the course, the more the concepts start to make sense and the formulas become the tiniest bit easier.

Far too complex and challenging to be necessary for the overall specialisation; I thought that being a qualitative oriented person (with a PhD from an elite, Top 20 university in Social Science) that Corporate Finance would have been the toughest course on the specialisation, but actually, I think this one is. (Corporate Finance is actually *incredibly* well taught, by the way, and I gave that course 5 stars!)

By Brian G

Aug 07, 2020

Several problems were not explained well. The Quizzes (which do not count toward final grade) did not provide the solutions - which would have allowed me to try and work the problem backward to find the solution. I understand not providing the test/assessment answers for integrity reasons, but not providing the answers in the quizzes only perpetuates the ignorance. The instructor's accent and verbiage use cased confusion. When definitions are defined by the use of a single word or another this can lead to lots of lost time and frustration. This is understandably a by-product of English not being their first language, they must be more careful in their discussions to avoid this in the future.

By Shelby

Aug 19, 2016

This course is designed much differently than the other Fundamental Courses. The content is clear in the lectures, however, the questions in the quizzes are not based on concepts learned in the lesson directly. The quiz and final exams are not multiple choice, but instead require you to enter you answer manually and it is graded. The two combined makes it difficult to know which answer the teacher is searching for and leads to a frustrating process while test taking.

By Sven B

Jul 05, 2020

What I would argue as the deficiency of this course is the lack of deeper insight into the topics. The lectures themselves were very “dry,” but what disappointed me the most was the professor’s lack of deeper meaning in explaining the things he does and his approach to problem-solving. He should explain his reasoning in more detail when he is solving problems (giving more mathematical explanations and arguments etc.)

By Christian J K

Oct 02, 2019

Great course content. However, the graded homework and final exams have several unclearly-written trick questions that ask for answers that are not covered anywhere in the lecture videos or handouts. It is my professional opinion, as an experienced course developer and assessor, that this subject's assessment tools and evidence guides need to moderated and validated to be reliable, fair, flexible and valid.