Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
4,544 ratings
868 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP

Jun 16, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 31, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

801 - 825 of 843 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Mathew L

Apr 27, 2016

I would have liked the quizzes to explain why an answer was right or wrong.

By Brendan C

May 22, 2018

good course, quizzes should not be locked though...disappointed with that.

By Deleted A

Feb 19, 2018

I think the contents of this course can be more difficult and challenging.

By Michelle l G

Feb 09, 2017

It was an interesting module, however, not sure how I will apply this in

By Gary V

Jul 12, 2017

Very basic things that any person with a stats background should know

By Abhed M

Jan 12, 2020

It should be more rigorous. I completed this course in three days.

By Olivia X

Sep 18, 2016

too easy. not enough practical skills or tools teaching

By Abhishek P

Feb 09, 2017

There should be lab or hands one calculation exercise.

By Steeve V

Feb 03, 2017

It was theoretical but provided an apt understanding.

By Roma

Mar 31, 2018

Questions with actual raw data would be helpful.

By Craig K

May 06, 2017

More reading about theory than actual doing.

By Daguo X

Apr 19, 2017

Too fundamental, too easy. No depth in math

By Watabe

Mar 06, 2016

please improve hand-out for self study.

By Jeff K

Mar 12, 2016

A little too basic, but still good.

By Zhao y

Jun 22, 2017

Review of simple high school math

By Mike B

Dec 14, 2016

Way, way too basic and hand wavy.

By Handong D B

Jul 26, 2016

the lecturer is kind of boring

By Krishna M R

Dec 30, 2017

This course is for beginners

By Syed M H A

Jan 17, 2018

P

r

a

c

t

I

c

l

e

E

x

a

m

p

l

e

s

?

?

?

By Shraman G

Oct 13, 2016

Basic but informative

By Apurva D

Aug 10, 2017

Good but too easy

By weihaochai

Jul 29, 2018

too simple

By Ng C

Dec 16, 2017

very basic

By Marta

Mar 19, 2017

The student needed to have a good foundation of statistics and high levels of math to be able to follow the class. I have not taken statistics or trigonometry in many years so I struggled. I would have benefited greatly if there were more examples of how to calculate the models, including the calculations part of it. The professor did not do that and that got me wondering (not knowing) how to calculate the formulas. I think if I had seen a few examples, it would have been enough to understand and keep up.

So, more step-by-step instructions on the mechanics of formulas, would be my biggest recommendation.

But the professor did a superb job explaining the concepts, and showcasing some industry applications of the models.

Thank you for asking.

By Rubén M F

Feb 27, 2016

Great explanations provided by Prof. Waterman, however for the price of this course (in my view quite expensive) the materials available are quite poor (e.g. the formulas shown in the pdf slides are a mess, not a mathematical summary, etc), and the level of the quizzes is very basic. I would have expected much more from a course coming from Whaton.