Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
6,663 ratings
1,324 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP
Jun 15, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC
Jul 30, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

851 - 875 of 1,296 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Tanmay H

Sep 30, 2018

great

By Miram I A M

Jul 22, 2017

Great

By Yuning G

Dec 3, 2016

Good!

By ELAACHAQ W

Oct 4, 2020

good

By Charles T R

Jul 20, 2020

good

By FADZAI D C

Jun 16, 2020

good

By Chandrakala D

Apr 4, 2020

Good

By Donguk I

Feb 17, 2020

Good

By Muhammad S

Feb 7, 2020

good

By sandeep d

Sep 8, 2019

Best

By Gaurav A

Jul 1, 2018

GOOD

By Kenneth

Dec 29, 2017

good

By Bella N

Aug 11, 2017

good

By Rishi R P

Feb 2, 2017

nice

By Akash A

Oct 8, 2016

good

By rajan a

Feb 27, 2016

sdfd

By sbikanerwala@hotmail.com

Aug 29, 2016

na

By Yoshihiro K

Jan 21, 2017

G

By Islam K

Dec 7, 2016

k

By Kumar B

Aug 16, 2016

T

By Bhaskar

Jun 27, 2016

C

By Shoaib A K

May 8, 2016

E

By José C d H

Feb 16, 2017

The information in the course seems appropriate for an introductory level class and is presented clearly and in an understandable manner; the theoretical portion of the course is solid.

Having said that, the course could do with more exercises and practice tests in which you can apply and understand the formulas, how they are used, and why. The arithmetic component of the course felt glossed over and while that was not the focus of the course a few extra exercises could make things clearer and would not be a burden.

Fundamental knowledge of probability/statistics will help you better understand some of the concepts in the course, so if you have the time you could try checking those subjects before, or even while, studying this course.

Didactically, looking at the instructor's face for long periods of time gets tedious after a while, but this is just a minor issue.

By Yinzi L

Dec 25, 2017

I'd give 5 stars if only we can see answers & explanations after finishing the quiz. I understand why answers aren't shown, probably because it's to prevent people from memorising answers before re-attempt the quiz to get pass. However, this can be circumvented by showing answers to people who have passed for the first time - and not record scores after that. I've been frustrating with not knowing where I got wrong. Although I can ask in Forum, it's hard for me to replicate what the selected/unselected choices are.

By Michail T

Oct 27, 2018

The content was very useful. The instructor is great and his presentations are very helpful. I rank this course with 4-stars because during the tests i couldn't see the explanations of my wrong answers. I have sent a ticket for an explanation but i haven't received an answer yet. Lastly, we haven't been tough how to transform back a log regression and i believe that you should add an extra presentation for math problems like this. Thank you for the knowledge, i am looking forward for the next course.