Chevron Left
Back to Modeling Risk and Realities

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Modeling Risk and Realities by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
1,579 ratings
215 reviews

About the Course

Useful quantitative models help you to make informed decisions both in situations in which the factors affecting your decision are clear, as well as in situations in which some important factors are not clear at all. In this course, you can learn how to create quantitative models to reflect complex realities, and how to include in your model elements of risk and uncertainty. You’ll also learn the methods for creating predictive models for identifying optimal choices; and how those choices change in response to changes in the model’s assumptions. You’ll also learn the basics of the measurement and management of risk. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to build your own models with your own data, so that you can begin making data-informed decisions. You’ll also be prepared for the next course in the Specialization....

Top reviews

JN

Apr 13, 2018

covers good amount of material and exactly what is in the outline, presented with enough detail to follow. Good walk-through of the spreadsheets helps understanding, easy to follow along and practice.

LC

Dec 19, 2016

Material was very well presented. Week 3 was challenging, but taking time to print out the slides, work through them rigorously proved very helpful. I found all sections very, very informative.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 208 Reviews for Modeling Risk and Realities

By deepak

Nov 25, 2018

good

By Aleksandra Y

Jan 04, 2019

Professor Savin is a rare kind, who explains very clear and brilliant. My excel skills were also sharpened. Overall, a course is worth attending.

By Anupriya

Feb 15, 2019

Amazing experience

By Preetty G

Jan 23, 2019

very useful

By Niket J

Jan 22, 2019

Excellent illustrations on Excel. However, in my opinion, Week 3 can be improved.

By Prateek S

Jan 25, 2019

Great Course

By Adrian J M S

Feb 20, 2019

Great to get in the world of real uncertainty and model designing, great profeessors

By Zhongyuan Z

Feb 22, 2019

Crystal clear! Very helpful! I love the slides and excel sheets!

By Ana M C R

Mar 20, 2019

Muy completo

By Sheraz K

Mar 26, 2019

I must say this is a very good course for business modeling. I have learned linear programming, simulation and decision-making in the course. Both professors have done fantastic job while explaining complex terms. Also, the course contents are aligned with the quizzes at the end of each week. I will definitely applying these skills in my job that I have learned. Thank you Wharton Online and Coursera for making this wonderful specialization.

By Ashish k j

Feb 02, 2019

So nice it provide concept how to deals with the risk associated with market.

By Yash L

Apr 03, 2019

Enjoyed learning.

By Olesia A

Mar 31, 2019

This is one of the best course I have taken on Coursera. The frameworks and tools that are covered in the course are essential for any person involved in planning, budgeting, or financial modeling. The professors give very straightforward and clear instructions so that students can easily implement them into their own projects. Thank you!

By Mesa I N

Apr 10, 2019

Submission with straightforward and easy to understand and structured language.

By Nicholas J C

Feb 26, 2019

Wow! I was worried after the previous course in the certificate series, and frankly it could be skipped! This course does everything the last course should have done. I loved the way you could work along with the instructors and do the work yourself in excel instead of simply watching. The quizzes were directed and used the classwork, not just random nonsense! Much better!

By Nguyen T T

Sep 22, 2018

This is a very helpful course for a lot of fields in managing risks and realities by using numerical analysis. Thank you for incredible lessons. Hope the website have more students and more useful courses like this.

By Sergio L F

Aug 26, 2018

Apreciei os exercícios em Excel com as simulações.

By Dimitar P

Oct 23, 2018

A very useful course mainly because it shows to its audience a way of thinking

By Emem M

Oct 26, 2018

My only concern is that the assessments had very short mathematical exercises. I would have loved to dive deeper into the different types of distributions, and experimented with how different assumptions about the initial data would lead to different simulations. This WAS a part of the course, but maybe there will be a more advanced course that dives even deeper into that subject.

By Ambuya J

Oct 29, 2018

The course was what I expected it to be. I was desperately looking for enlightenment in model risk and realities which was well delivered in the course.

By NIKHIL V

Nov 11, 2018

Great course.

By Shivam c

Aug 23, 2018

Course with full of knowledge regarding Financial modelling and how to tackle with uncertainty by generating several scenarios. Ultimate teaching pedagogy with perfect excel examples.

Can Improved up to a better level by introducing some more real life examples to model Sensitivity and uncertainty.

By Neil K

Dec 22, 2017

Well explained, very interesting and relevant

By Bintang A S

Jun 25, 2016

the examples were really helpful and easy to understand

By Tze M H

Aug 30, 2017

Very useful for people are learning simulation or optimization.