Chevron Left
Back to Modeling Risk and Realities

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Modeling Risk and Realities by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
1,979 ratings
283 reviews

About the Course

Useful quantitative models help you to make informed decisions both in situations in which the factors affecting your decision are clear, as well as in situations in which some important factors are not clear at all. In this course, you can learn how to create quantitative models to reflect complex realities, and how to include in your model elements of risk and uncertainty. You’ll also learn the methods for creating predictive models for identifying optimal choices; and how those choices change in response to changes in the model’s assumptions. You’ll also learn the basics of the measurement and management of risk. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to build your own models with your own data, so that you can begin making data-informed decisions. You’ll also be prepared for the next course in the Specialization....

Top reviews

JN

Apr 13, 2018

covers good amount of material and exactly what is in the outline, presented with enough detail to follow. Good walk-through of the spreadsheets helps understanding, easy to follow along and practice.

LC

Dec 19, 2016

Material was very well presented. Week 3 was challenging, but taking time to print out the slides, work through them rigorously proved very helpful. I found all sections very, very informative.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 276 Reviews for Modeling Risk and Realities

By Jorge A

Jul 28, 2019

Excellent course

By George G

Nov 11, 2016

perfect and free

By Artem S

May 11, 2016

Really excellent

By Jonathan I O

Jul 14, 2017

Awesome course!

By NIKHIL V

Nov 11, 2018

Great course.

By Manoel L C N

Jun 25, 2018

Great Course!

By Jeremy F

Mar 30, 2017

Nice course..

By Ana M C R

Mar 20, 2019

Muy completo

By Prateek S

Jan 25, 2019

Great Course

By Stefanie L S O

Sep 01, 2017

Great course

By xudankai

Jun 28, 2016

Learn a lot!

By Samant J

May 29, 2020

Good course

By Preetty G

Jan 23, 2019

very useful

By Akash A

Sep 27, 2016

good course

By Diego F B M

May 10, 2019

Excellent

By Liu Y

Oct 28, 2017

I like it

By Vishal M

May 23, 2016

brilliant

By Felix H

Apr 22, 2017

Amazing

By deepak m

Nov 25, 2018

good

By Shrenik V Z

Jan 10, 2018

best

By Fu S

Dec 22, 2017

G

By Jack R

May 28, 2020

Good course that definitely helped me understand the creation and analysis of models using Excel. However, I found that the quizzes did not adequately test my ability to create those models but rather my ability to interpret already created (or mostly created) ones. It would've been far more beneficial if the quizzes, or the lectures themselves, engaged the student to create each model from scratch and then analyze it. My goal in taking this course is to learn how to create models in the first instance and then interpret them in the second - after all, you can't interpret something you weren't able to create in the first place.

By Murugan M K

Jun 09, 2017

The quizzes were below average if we come to consider the intended magnitude of learning.

I sincerely would have loved to have some DIY questions for which there was a problem statement and a dataset rather than the quiz asking us to change some number and enter the output from a preset model.

The course could be made a more descriptive, there can be more resources and link like in the previous courses of this specialization.

Although i rate them higher as this course had a lot more content and description as compared to the rest of the introductory courses of this specialization.

By DIONYSIOS Z

Nov 21, 2016

Nice course, probably the best so far in this specialization. I really enjoyed Sergei Savin's lectures - they were simple & clear. Unfortunately, I cannot say the same for Senthil Veeraraghavan's lectures -he tried to explain an introductory 2-3 months statistics course in just one hour-absolute failure. I definitely recommend the course but I would like to see some improvements in the future sessions with more examples on excel instead of reading mathematical formulas from ppt files.

By Clem T

May 10, 2020

Fascinating material, but one minor complaint. The slides for these Classes were unnecessarily long. We don't require 5 different slides that add one point to a theme. You can give us 1 slide and we can follow along in the proper order. At times, the slides were 60 pages or more, when they could have been 15 or 20. Not very eco-friendly. Its a small point and the education delivered was top notch. Thank you.