Chevron Left
Back to Managing Social and Human Capital

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Social and Human Capital by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
stars
2,081 ratings
360 reviews

About the Course

People are the most valuable asset of any business, but they are also the most unpredictable, and the most difficult asset to manage. And although managing people well is critical to the health of any organization, most managers don't get the training they need to make good management decisions. Now, award-winning authors and renowned management Professors Mike Useem and Peter Cappelli of the Wharton School have designed this course to introduce you to the key elements of managing people. Based on their popular course at Wharton, this course will teach you how to motivate individual performance and design reward systems, how to design jobs and organize work for high performance, how to make good and timely management decisions, and how to design and change your organization’s architecture. By the end of this course, you'll have developed the skills you need to start motivating, organizing, and rewarding people in your organization so that you can thrive as a business and as a social organization....

Top reviews

DM
Oct 19, 2018

Excellent Course. Understanding human behavior is one of the most difficult challenges in an organization. This course describes the challenges well and offers approaches to tackling those challenges.

J
Nov 4, 2019

A fantastic, thought provoking course. Gave us a lot of things to reflect on and be mindful of in different situations in the organization. Thank you Prof Cappelli and Prof Useem. Grateful to you.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 354 Reviews for Managing Social and Human Capital

By Andrew B

Apr 18, 2019

The quality of this course compared to others in the Business Foundations specialization was disappointing. I did not feel that the professors took the same amount of time to create helpful visuals and presentations as they did in previous courses.

By Srimathi C

Aug 13, 2020

Professor Capelli was really amazing. He took the natural flow of explaining the subject slowly with pauses and expressions while Professor Mike's explanations were really hard to follow, dry and was hard to focus.

By Andreas K

May 24, 2018

A nice course with important concepts pointing out the importance of the subject Human and Social capital. On the other hand it scrapes only on the surface of this important area for a manager.

By Federico B

Dec 6, 2017

First two weeks were super interesting; the second two seemed a little "dispersive", lots of time focused on the details of the examples but not enough explaining on the core messages.

By Keiran H

Apr 16, 2020

Very much an introductory course with fairly slim content supported by a lot of examples. This felt a lot less substantial than the Intro to Marketing course in this specialisation.

By Amy T Z

Feb 13, 2020

I was hoping this course would go deeper into psychological managing. This course seems better suited to just learning the architecture of the building departments.

By Jonah R

Jul 1, 2020

Case studies were good but it was otherwise a very theoretical course and didn't often feel like it could be boiled down to everyday application.

By Rahul S

Jun 23, 2020

The notes from Mike were not very interactive. ALso the flow of Mike's presentation was not captivating

By Roman P

Jan 20, 2018

Great introduction. A bit more depth and breadth (ie. 8 week course) would be terrific!

By Gusen Y

Jan 19, 2018

Way too easy and general...I wanna learn more from the instructors.

By Gil R

Dec 19, 2016

I think more examples would have been better for the class.

By Balazs M

Aug 4, 2017

Thought provoking albeit at times vague and dragged out.

By Jordan X R

Mar 24, 2020

It started off strong but lost momentum.

By Kyle N

Sep 22, 2019

Could be a bit more interesting

By Marc T

Dec 19, 2019

Content is too anecdotal.

By Nolan S

Jul 13, 2020

Boring!

By Niwech H

Nov 19, 2016

5 points out of 5 for professor Peter. 1 point out of 5 for professor Mike. The first 2 weeks were good as professor Peter presented with very brief and sum up the ideas. On another hand, the last 2 weeks were bad, professor Mike didn't do well in term of summary. He spent 70% for introduction of each topic before reaching to the points that he want to make. Most of the time, he didn't make any points. Plus he didn't answer the questions that he asked. I am disappointed. I was expecting to learn more as the course structure was impressive BUT the actual lectures are not covered the topic.

By Steve M

Apr 21, 2020

This is a survey course. It uses several simple case studies to explain some basic points, but does not go into detail in any particular area. For example the course does not explain well different organizational models or their strengths and weaknesses (functional, regional, etc). I expected more than a cursory mention of matrix management, which is powerful but complex to implement well. There are no hands-on activities other than quizzes at the end of the week. The subtitles are broken and/or of poor quality in several of the videos.

By Q W

Nov 15, 2020

Taking this course as part of the series of courses offered by Wharton on intro to business. I'm coming from engineering background so not sure if this is true to everyone, but I feel this course does not offer much in-depth on those topics, it's just a slight touch on the surface of those. Among the series of courses I've took so far I fee the accounting course is definitely the No.1 among all others, no doubt at all.

By Janice A

May 4, 2020

I think the Professors are both great and well-knowledged, but I find that the presentation of the material could have been better. I find that case studies took too much time to present and discuss, and I also think that the quizzes do not highlight the importance of the materials. The quizzes contain too many trivial questions and those that do not have much added value to the learning experience.

By celine

Jul 15, 2019

great theory and principles but could be a little more tactical and related to real case scenarios of the working environment. such as: how to manage your bosses as well as react to peers when competition exists though team work must prevail. How to handle medium performers. How to handle politics in the offices when bosses use preferences and similarity concepts.

By Yi-Chien, C

Jan 18, 2020

It was a very general overview through human resource management. Hope that more insights could have been offered by providing more concrete strategies. Also, it would be a plus to offer recommended readings for the topic.

By Samantha B

Apr 22, 2020

I didn't quite feel I left with a sense of practical knowledge on how to manage or build the architecture of an organization.

By Eoghan C

Aug 22, 2017

felt a bit dated. older materials, older case studies and examples. all quizing should be a little tougher i thought.

By Keiji H

Oct 14, 2017

Explaining many abstractive things with a couple of concrete actual stories and less correct materials.