Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
60,860 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to know why Data Science has been labelled as the sexiest profession of the 21st century? After taking this course you will be able to answer this question, and get a thorough understanding of what is Data Science, what data scientists do, and learn about career paths in the field. The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people using data to derive insights and predict outcomes have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In today's world, we use Data Science to find patterns in data, and make meaningful, data driven conclusions and predictions. This course is for everyone, and teaches concepts like Machine Learning, Deep Learning, and Neural Networks and how companies apply data science in business. You will meet several data scientists, who will share their insights and experiences in Data Science. By taking this introductory course, you will begin your journey into the thriving field that is Data Science!...

Top reviews

SB

Sep 9, 2019

Very learning experience, I am a beginner in DS, but the instructors in this course simplified the contents that made me I could easily understand, tools and materials were very helpful to start with.

AP

Jan 15, 2022

I throughly enjoyed the course and the fact that everything was explained thoroughly. I always enjoyed Dr. White's personal experience with Data Science as well as other Data Scientists point of view.

Filter by:

9001 - 9025 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Axel G

Apr 8, 2020

Good course explaining the very basics of Data Science. I believe that the course may be a bit repetative from time to time which may not be necessary for the simple nature of the things gone through here,

By Rohan J G

Mar 12, 2020

A very basic introductory course which gives you an idea of what Data Science. Great for people who are completely new to the field. Would recommend people who have a basic idea to skim through the course.

By Moi I

May 2, 2019

This course has enabled me to understand data science in a broad way, its application and the need for data science in the world as well as gave tips on what attributes you need to become a data scientist

By Kevin B

May 10, 2022

A great introduction for someone who wants to venture into an interesting and rewarding field. Plenty of informative articles and videos to help define the perspectives of what makes up a data scientist.

By SAURAV S

Dec 5, 2019

This course provides you a basic informative idea about Data Science. Starting from How Data Science evolved? Why analyzing data is required?, to Various methods of doing so, all is well-explained here.

By Lanneken D

Sep 29, 2022

a little too easy.

the quiz questions sometimes are weird and do help with memorizing the most important information..

For example: Hal is which company's Cheif data officer..??? it's just very strange

By Mark O

Jun 16, 2022

Out of the plethora information, sometines confusion, this course provided me with great appreciation of data science, skill set that needs to be built to become a data scientist and stay competitive.

By Felix H

Apr 3, 2022

A good comprehensive introductory course providing understanding of what is data science, current employment needs in the market, what characteristic and skills are important to be success in your role.

By Mohammad F K

Nov 4, 2019

Good quality lectures but very basic. Would have given 5 stars if Reading material was better and more technical. Also the courses locked 2nd and 3rd week quiz. It doesn't allow us to do on a fast pace.

By Shiv S

Jul 31, 2019

The course was pretty good. It gave a nice birds-eye view of data science, its various tools and techniques, and its future. The course also gave an idea about the skills requires to excel in the field.

By Jennifer S

Jul 23, 2019

Data Science 101 through interviews of folks in the field. This interview style learning was a nice change of pace and couldn't be used for many topics, but I liked it for this beginner/101 type course.

By Tobías O

Jun 11, 2022

I dont´ like the final exam. It had a lot of question that were irrelevant to Data science. The rest of the course was great, really like the mix between videos and text and the quizzes in the middle.

By Prateek M

Aug 15, 2020

I was happy with content quality, but the peer review system is incredibly slow, and holds back meritorious candidates. Please reduce the latency between assignment marked and grade shown on dashboard.

By shivraj n h

Sep 28, 2019

i found course is very helpful for me and new candidates. it indroduces scope and varoius facts about data science, i enjoyed by learning this course. course quizes are helpful to understand subject.

By Avinash Y

Mar 12, 2020

It is a good start I could say, because folks like me who does not have any prior knowledge on what exactly a Data Science is, I recommend learning this module will give better understanding.

Thank you

By Ramon A

Nov 27, 2019

Very good introduction into data science. Some of the videos are very monotone, and it's easy to lose track of where the conversation is going. If you pay attention, you can get some good information.

By Prashanth V

Oct 6, 2019

The unique way the definitions of Data Science and Scientist were explained was exemplary. Hearing from experts and people who are practicing Data science is what made the course interesting thus far.

By Nicholas F

Aug 26, 2019

This section of the course is decidedly an orientation and not so much an introduction. It leaves more to the student to wonder, which perhaps is intended to encourage students and not to hammer them.

By Rishi M

Jun 10, 2019

The course is a perfect introduction to data science, making a person comfortable and showing the participants of the course a daily work of data scientist and to simplify the meaning of data science.

By Utkarsh Y

Dec 27, 2018

The Course answers the question which the title says. It is a very basic course, and no skill can be learned from this, but it provides insights from actual people who are working /teach data science.

By Ethan B

Dec 18, 2021

The only reason it isn't a 5 is because it makes you do a final peer assessment with the grade posting outside of the free trial period which is super weird. Good foundational course other than that!

By Felipe J

Jan 11, 2019

Describe que es la ciencia de datos y los medios para lograrlo, que debe contener un informe científico, como así también cual es el papel de un científico de datos, sus cualidades y características.

By Luis O L E F

Oct 23, 2019

Good as an introduction to what data science is and what can be done with it.

Eventhough it is supposed to be an introduction, it could contain a lot more of different tecniques used in data science.

By Lorena M

Dec 17, 2020

It is a really nice, gentle, and non-intimidating introduction to Data Science. Basic concepts are beautifully explained and demonstrated. Murtaza Haider is brilliant and inspiring. Thank you, IBM!

By Selegmz S

Apr 27, 2020

if you are unknown to the data science, this is right for you. it introduces you the basic role of data science, the professional pathways, its involvement in global scenario and future prospectus.