Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
60,884 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to know why Data Science has been labelled as the sexiest profession of the 21st century? After taking this course you will be able to answer this question, and get a thorough understanding of what is Data Science, what data scientists do, and learn about career paths in the field. The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people using data to derive insights and predict outcomes have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In today's world, we use Data Science to find patterns in data, and make meaningful, data driven conclusions and predictions. This course is for everyone, and teaches concepts like Machine Learning, Deep Learning, and Neural Networks and how companies apply data science in business. You will meet several data scientists, who will share their insights and experiences in Data Science. By taking this introductory course, you will begin your journey into the thriving field that is Data Science!...

Top reviews

SB

Sep 9, 2019

Very learning experience, I am a beginner in DS, but the instructors in this course simplified the contents that made me I could easily understand, tools and materials were very helpful to start with.

AP

Jan 15, 2022

I throughly enjoyed the course and the fact that everything was explained thoroughly. I always enjoyed Dr. White's personal experience with Data Science as well as other Data Scientists point of view.

Filter by:

9076 - 9100 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Chiara P

Apr 18, 2020

Good course, good introduction to the topic but didn't like getting stuck in the peer-review system. Could have used that time to learn instead of spamming people to get reviews.

By Lohith U

Nov 22, 2019

It was my pleasure to start Data Science using this introductory course. Content was clear. Now, i am pretty much clear about data science, scope of data science, use cases, etc.

By Fernando C

Mar 27, 2022

It was a good introduction to what is Data Science. It looks like there are different perspective on how to define it , so it was good to have this course to go over all of them

By shayan h

Feb 23, 2022

A brief introduction to what data science is and which kind of skills are needed to have a successful career in its related fields such as machine learning, deep learning and AI

By Ahmed A H

Jun 22, 2021

The course is good and I like it. I just don't like the memorization. "Who is this guy?" or "where was he working?" are not good questions. Please replace them with better ones.

By Dam M

Mar 27, 2022

The course does provide very good information. I like all the experts in the videos. However I think it can have evem better content. The reading content seems a little dated.

By Erika M T G

Sep 12, 2021

Los subtítulos en español requieren mucha atención y una auditoria por parte de un traductor profesional. Hay un par de videos sin subtítulos en iOS y errores en traducciones.

By Jeremiah T

Dec 6, 2019

This is a good introductory course. It felt a little slow to me because I had just finished a book covering most of this content. I'm excited to get into the following courses!

By Ankita S

Feb 13, 2019

Good Introduction to the v.interesting area of data science, its applications and the techniques/tools that are used.

Being curious is the ultimate thins to be in data science!!

By ABDELOUAHAB S

Apr 14, 2022

Bonne présentation du rôle du data scientist et des compétences attendues pour comprendre en quoi consiste l'analyse des donnes et la plus value attendue d'un data scientist .

By Jhoanna C

Apr 28, 2020

Basic introduction to the concept of data science and the role of a data scientist / analyst. Good for setting the ground for the next courses, which should be more technical.

By Asad I

Apr 22, 2020

The course is really good for the people who want to start their career in data science or are in the beginning stage. Course overviews all the basic elements of Data Sciences

By Ashish U

Apr 17, 2020

Its the best introductory course for the beginners in Data Science . Individuals who want to know about the Data Science can go through this course for thorough understanding.

By DEBSANKAR M

Mar 14, 2020

Very nicely arranged for the beginners.Study materials should more precise and compact.

At the beginning steps are to be mentioned to complete the course.

Ok ,very good.

Thanks.

By Shreya R

Jun 7, 2019

Its a really chilled and informative introduction to data science. It can help you gain more perspective from various people who deal with data science in their everyday life.

By Juan P

May 6, 2019

This course allows to immerse in Data Science subject. However, it is a kinda basic. It would be better if we could learn more about some software, tools, etc. in this course.

By Eduardo C

Jul 27, 2022

Las evaluaciones toman en cuenta detalles que me parece que no son tan importantes, tales como los de la lectura de "Regression", pero en términos generales es un buen curso.

By Matthew M

Feb 19, 2019

This provides a solid introduction to what data science is from a number of perspectives. The question answer format, as well as the presence of the transcripts was helpful.

By Fayaz O

Feb 7, 2019

Good introduction to data science for the complete novice. Well presented, and the exercises were useful for understanding. However, it could have been a bit shorter, though.

By Fagner B

Aug 21, 2022

O curso foi bem interessante, abordando coisas que acabei não vendo em minha Pós Graduação de Big Data e Data Analytics. Sigamos em frente nos demais cursos da certificação.

By Ryan F

Jul 29, 2022

Quality introduction to the topic for someone with little to no exposure, some content redundant, but overall usefull in exposing one to, and explaining, the basic concepts.

By Maureen F

Aug 25, 2021

Procedure unclear. Wasn't sure if there was book I was supposed to get and didn't know test had started on peer part, wasn't ready to take it, was just heading out to lunch.

By Christian R R S

Mar 23, 2021

Introductory course in data science, but it has the necessary information about the scope of what is data science and a data scientist, a general course to enter this world.

By Carsten K

Jan 17, 2020

Great overview and introduction on what data science is. Only minus is that the reading material is hard to read on a mobile device, as it does not scale to the screen size.

By helen

Jun 27, 2019

Gives a good brief background about the type of people that get into data science and what it could potentially entail. Good for a beginner to see what is possibly expected.