Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM

4.7
stars
46,258 ratings
8,663 reviews

About the Course

The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people working in data science have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In this course, we will meet some data science practitioners and we will get an overview of what data science is today....

Top reviews

RS
May 11, 2020

Very learning experience, I am a beginner in DS, but the instructors in this course simplified the contents that made me I could easily understand, tools and materials were very helpful to start with.

KK
Feb 23, 2020

Terrific introduction to the Data Science course. Never expected but was extremely excited with the quality of content, speakers and a very honest attempt to making this course interesting.\n\nKrishna

Filter by:

8451 - 8475 of 8,609 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Tirthankar B

Aug 20, 2020

Very high level view of dat scien

By Axel B

May 10, 2020

Actually not much happening here.

By Satya S

Sep 2, 2020

A lot of unnecessary information

By Mark H

Jan 30, 2019

Pretty basic. Didn't learn much.

By Joseph S

Mar 29, 2020

I didn't think it was helpful.

By Deleted A

Mar 11, 2020

Very boring.Not useful at all

By Nicholas J

Jan 23, 2020

It's really not very useful.

By Shivam D

Dec 11, 2018

A very very basic course...

By Sean M

Dec 21, 2018

very basic introductions.

By Brandon M

Jul 20, 2020

Correlation = causation

By Chaojie L

Oct 11, 2019

Maybe shorter is bet

By Xingyi

Jul 30, 2020

wordy, wasting time

By Michel M E

Dec 7, 2020

Not useful at all.

By Shubangini N

Jun 20, 2019

It was very basic.

By Felipe S

May 9, 2019

Very poor content.

By Alpana T

Apr 21, 2020

It's too basic.

By Gurjeet

Jun 2, 2020

waste course

By Rushan N

Mar 18, 2020

Way too easy

By VINAY C

Jun 11, 2019

Well curated

By Syed A A A

Oct 12, 2018

Very basic

By Manu k

Jun 1, 2018

Too basic

By Julian W

Jan 12, 2020

Really disappointed with the whole specialisation... I am leaving this review here because probably you might not check the others courses before you start it.

Specialisation is short and it is the only good thing about it. It took me I think 10-12 hours to do it.

So first of all the whole thing is not really informative. A lack of videos - Most of the time there is only "power-point"presentation with code written on it. I don't really understand why they have narrator who just read text - no emotions almost like a machine.

Courses:

1. You will spend a lot of time learning listening to videos about how sexy is to be data scientist... and that parents start sending their daughters for data science (sic!), and that it is a new science... Plus some rather simple information which you rather know taking into consideration you want to study it online. At least it is nice to watch - there is life in it.

2. You will spend the whole course watching different notebooks like jupyter R studio etc . without really learning any useful stuff. In the end you will just click run to create some already written commands in python. Yeap that's it. I know it is intro but adding 1 +1 third time in different console...

3. You will learn some methodology - A lot of complicated knowledge read by narrator who is not making it easier or more interesting. Almost like somebody reading you technical book...

4. SQL - you will try to learn it from presentations. I think there are no proper videos just images in narrated power point presentation. I watched some coursera lectures about sql before but still I had problems with following it. To make it worst you will have to use IBM products which are FREE - other reviews are probably outdated. The problem is that materials from this course are also outdated. So they are presenting you IBM tool-set which is already different. It is a problem because they are not even trying to show how they work just where to click.

I managed, you will too but, IBM, please do better.

By Hakki K

Jul 9, 2020

Hi,

I completed entire program and received the Professional Certificate. On the Coursera link of my certificate "3 weeks of study, 2-3 hours/week average per course" is written. This information is not correct at all, it takes approximately 3 times of that time on average! I informed Coursera about it but no correction was made. It should be corrected with "it takes approximately 19 hours study per course" or "Approx. 10 months to complete Suggested 4 hours/week for the Professional Certificate".

Here is the approximate duration for each course can be found one by one clicking the webpages of the courses in the professional certificate webpage: (*)

Course 1: approximately 9 hours to complete

Course 2: approximately 16 hours to complete

Course 3: approximately 9 hours to complete

Course 4: approximately 22 hours to complete

Course 5: approximately 14 hours to complete

Course 6: approximately 16 hours to complete

Course 7: approximately 16 hours to complete

Course 8: approximately 20 hours to complete

Course 9: approximately 47 hours to complete

This makes in total approximately 169 hours to complete the Professional Certificate. As there are 9 courses, each course takes approximately 19 hours (=169/9) to complete.

(*): https://www.coursera.org/professional-certificates/ibm-data-science?utm_source=gg&utm_medium=sem&campaignid=1876641588&utm_content=10-IBM-Data-Science-US&adgroupid=70740725700&device=c&keyword=ibm%20data%20science%20professional%20certificate%20coursera&matchtype=b&network=g&devicemodel=&adpostion=&creativeid=347453133242&hide_mobile_promo&gclid=Cj0KCQjw0Mb3BRCaARIsAPSNGpWPrZDik6-Ne30To7vg20jGReHOKi4AbvstRfSbFxqA-6ZMrPn1gDAaAiMGEALw_wcB

By Laurentiu-Lucian A

Aug 15, 2020

The course content is exciting and high level. In this course the student does not do any hands on data science, except the occasional introduction to an IBM tool. Instead, they are introduced to a broad range of topic, tools, and perspectives on data science. It is a good introduction to the subject, and I would likely have given this course three stars, maybe four, had there not been so many large bugs, that at the time of this writing, almost two weeks since posting in the Discussion Forums and contacting Coursera Help several times, has not been fixed.

For anyone going into the course, please take screenshots of all quizzes and assignments you complete. If you experience the same issue I have, and hundreds of others are having, than your progress data may get erased. I should have received my badge for completing this course two weeks ago but it is still saying I have "overdue" items and that I've completed everything at the same time.

I am sad to give this one start rating, but so it goes. I hope they fix this as soon as possible, and it may end up affecting people's billing.

By Svyatoslav A

Feb 11, 2021

Has too rigid an understanding of a complicated field. The track would be better off without this class, as it's just confusing. Videos of "real people talking" are a big waste of time. Videos and material contradict themselves multiple times. Quizzes test memorization, and not actual understanding of the material (as in, only ST types will do well on MBTI typology spectrum, but SF, NF, NT that have better understanding will achieve worse grades, at least give challenging questions that apply knowledge learned, not just ask people to define terminology), peers literally copy paste answers for the final exam portion. Basically, just horrible and a waste of time all around, so at least make it just one hour.

Final project being in academic format is the worst, as data science projects in the real world are usually in the form of dashboards, presentations, or products... so this academia bs is literally useless in preparing people.