Chevron Left
Back to Compose and Program Music in Python using Earsketch

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Compose and Program Music in Python using Earsketch by Coursera Project Network

4.5
stars
308 ratings
67 reviews

About the Course

By the end of this course, you will create a basic composition using the Python programming language in Earsketch. You will learn basic Python functions in order to create a basic music composition. Learning basic Python functions will allow you to develop your skills in programming and diversify your knowledge of various programming languages. Python has become increasingly popular in computer science; knowledge of Python is highly desired in the computer science industry....

Top reviews

SS
Sep 28, 2020

Exciting way to implement & combine - Music and Python coding. Got a very good exposure on using Earsketch. Many thanks to the Guide for giving a good explanation about things and how to use it.

MA
Sep 2, 2020

Make Social Media pages Like FaceBook , Instagram , Twitter that we invite more Friends for like ur page and Grow Up. 👍👍👍❤️💙💛🌸🌸🌺🌺💜💖🌹🍃💞💝🌱🌷💐💕🌿🌱💓\n\nYouTube : https://bit.ly/2PBEung

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 65 Reviews for Compose and Program Music in Python using Earsketch

By Ivan Z

Jun 21, 2020

This course does little more than teach you the user interface of Earsketch - most of which is basic computer knowledge that you most likely already have, since you managed to find your way to this page.

It's fine if you want an easy-to-follow videoguide instead of reading a manual yourself (bearing in mind that you only learn to use a couple of pre-defined functions), but I expected a more profound look into the inner workings of Python or some insights into music theory as related to scripting, and got none of that.

Presentation could use more work, too. The course is a strict "repeat after me" exercise, but the instructor doesn't explain how functions work, why they are written the way they are, which available music sounds harmonize with each other, and in what way Python is helpful in all this. Earsketch as a whole feels more like a gimmick than a useful tool at this point.

By Hannah

Apr 30, 2020

The instructor provided a clear and concise tutorial on how to script python code in EarSketch to create one music composition. It was a quick way to learn how to use EarSketch. However, all of the information provided in this course is available in the EarSketch free online tool. Seems a bit silly to pay for a course here when all the info is available inside the EarSketch program.

By Federico J

Jun 16, 2020

It was a nice course (guided project). One that's totally worth your time spent.

By Bhavesh L

May 13, 2020

Its a rather short and very easy course. Honestly, it isn't difficult at all. You don't need to follow this course to understand EarSketch. Although for absolute beginners with no coding experience this may be useful as a foundation.

By Aditya D

Jun 3, 2020

Bit too easy for me. Could have explored earsketch on my own. Neverthless thanks for introducing me to earsketch!

By Karthika A W

Apr 28, 2020

Very poor course. No content. Waste of time,

By Bensen A

Nov 4, 2020

This is clearly the BEST of all Coursera 'Project' Courses I have done so far! Stacey's explanation is Perfect: easy to understand, crisp and concise and includes the required components. I love both Music and Python, and this Earsketch is extremely useful. It makes coding so Fun and instantly Fulfilling. I wish I could give more than 5 stars! Great Job, Stacey!

By Mustafa A

Sep 3, 2020

Make Social Media pages Like FaceBook , Instagram , Twitter that we invite more Friends for like ur page and Grow Up. 👍👍👍❤️💙💛🌸🌸🌺🌺💜💖🌹🍃💞💝🌱🌷💐💕🌿🌱💓

YouTube : https://bit.ly/2PBEung

By SRIDHAR S

Sep 28, 2020

Exciting way to implement & combine - Music and Python coding. Got a very good exposure on using Earsketch. Many thanks to the Guide for giving a good explanation about things and how to use it.

By Ferenc L

Sep 3, 2020

The content was interesting, I enjoyed it. There was little information provided.

By Amrita P

Sep 16, 2020

Easy and understandable.Also very helpful for beginners

By Naomi G

Sep 22, 2020

This was FUN and I learned a lot! Thank you so much!

By Devendra k S

Sep 3, 2020

Very interesting course models and course content

By BAJJURI. J

Sep 3, 2020

Where to get my catificate and a Nise course

By Arjun H

Sep 17, 2020

Best course for new Beginners of Python

By Heinz D

Oct 10, 2020

Interesting guided project. Thank you.

By Les G

Mar 12, 2021

Loved learning this program!

By Mohd S

Aug 31, 2020

Thanks for certificate

By Leslie Y

Mar 14, 2021

Great for beginners!

By Niket N

Mar 7, 2021

nice and excellent

By Mayank T

Sep 23, 2020

learned new thing.

By Gangone R

Jul 5, 2020

very useful course

By JONNALA S R

May 7, 2020

Good Initiation

By Rishi K M

Sep 7, 2020

Very Satisfied

By YUVARAJ

Sep 10, 2020

Goodd courses