Chevron Left
Back to Practical Vim Editor Commands On Linux

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Practical Vim Editor Commands On Linux by Coursera Project Network

4.5
stars
102 ratings
24 reviews

About the Course

Vim, or vi improved, is a standard editor on Linux. It comes with virtually every version of Linux out there and is available on Mac and Windows as well. If you are in a situation where you need to edit from the command line, for example when you ssh into another system, vim will be there. Vim is an ordinary text editor, like notepad. It inserts no special characters into the text document unless you tell it to. Vim has some powerful commands that make it fast and efficient. Vim also has a large user community, so once you are up and running with it, you can easily find the commands you are looking for online. In this course, you will clean and standardize a Vocabulary list file using Vim commands. You will come away with a gentle and not overwhelming introduction to the Vim editor. Note: This course works best for learners who are based in the North America region. We’re currently working on providing the same experience in other regions....

Top reviews

NT

Oct 01, 2020

I enjoyed it as my first project-based course. It was easy to finish although I did struggle with the split-screen function. Recommended.

AB

Sep 14, 2020

this lesson was great. it is somewhat hard at first but when you do really understand it, you find it to be a very interesting lesson.

Filter by:

1 - 24 of 24 Reviews for Practical Vim Editor Commands On Linux

By Nicole T

Oct 01, 2020

I enjoyed it as my first project-based course. It was easy to finish although I did struggle with the split-screen function. Recommended.

By Ava L

Sep 14, 2020

this lesson was great. it is somewhat hard at first but when you do really understand it, you find it to be a very interesting lesson.

By Jatin K

Sep 15, 2020

Thank you so much instructor,I really enjoyed the project and now have a firm grip over the editor

By 19BCA067-JAGANATHAN V B

Sep 12, 2020

Practical vim editor commends Linux is very useful

By Rishav D

Aug 05, 2020

want to learn Vim this is where you start.

By Anitalily B

Sep 09, 2020

Good. Gained knowledge. Easy to learn.

By Pradeesh J

Sep 09, 2020

Good gain knowledge easy to understand

By Nevindra D

Sep 22, 2020

Good for building foundation

By Ishmam I

Sep 10, 2020

Pretty easy and good one.

By Siman S

Sep 20, 2020

IT WAS A GREAT COURSE

By TWIZERIMANA J C

Sep 11, 2020

The course is Good!

By NIHAL T

Sep 10, 2020

GREAT COURSE !

By KUMARAVEL S

Sep 30, 2020

very nice

By VIKRAM B

Sep 28, 2020

Nthng

By Surya.s

Sep 16, 2020

Good

By JOBLIN.J

Sep 15, 2020

Good

By 19BCA081-KOWSITH D B

Sep 13, 2020

Good

By 18BCA134-SALINI S B

Sep 11, 2020

B

E

S

T

By Marko N

Aug 13, 2020

Decent for a basic course. More advanced course would be welcome.

By Saeif A

Aug 12, 2020

Good introductory simple project!

By 18BCA017-AMITHA R B

Sep 11, 2020

SUPERB

By MANOJ K

Sep 16, 2020

Nice

By AACHMAN M

Aug 08, 2020

Course lacks a lot of basic vim workflows like navigating with 'H J K L' keys. Also Rhyme instance never started for me (can be just a one time issue but still.)

By Neeraj R

Sep 29, 2020

Not Enough man