Chevron Left
Back to Building Batch Data Pipelines on GCP

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building Batch Data Pipelines on GCP by Google Cloud

4.5
stars
880 ratings
113 reviews

About the Course

Data pipelines typically fall under one of the Extra-Load, Extract-Load-Transform or Extract-Transform-Load paradigms. This course describes which paradigm should be used and when for batch data. Furthermore, this course covers several technologies on Google Cloud Platform for data transformation including BigQuery, executing Spark on Cloud Dataproc, pipeline graphs in Cloud Data Fusion and serverless data processing with Cloud Dataflow. Learners will get hands-on experience building data pipeline components on Google Cloud Platform using QwikLabs....

Top reviews

UB

May 28, 2020

A great course to help understand the various wonderful options Google Cloud has to offer to move on-premise Hadoop workload to Google Cloud Platform to leverage scalability of clusters.

AD

Jul 17, 2020

Great course learning what it is the big advantages of using GCP for data given they have big implementations and with better performance of what it is today in on premises scenarios

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 113 Reviews for Building Batch Data Pipelines on GCP

By RLee

Feb 12, 2020

More teaching should be focused on how to build the python file of each task, rather than ready for us to run.

By Roger S P M

Jan 24, 2020

Google did not work very hard to convey this information in its lectures. They are just bullet slides with a talking head. They need to learn how better course developers are creating courses.

By Tamás-Marosi P

Feb 02, 2020

There were some minor problem and mistake in the lab file. The python/java scripts were not explained at all. There are questions about the code itself, but then the questions were not answered.

By Prashanth T

Apr 25, 2020

I'm not from a programming (Java/.NET/Python etc) background but Informatica ETL, Oracle PL/SQL and UNIX. I wish the code as part of Serverless Data Analysis with Dataflow: Side Inputs (Python) explained step by step like where it starts and then step by step. If it sounds redundant, a document reference to each step would help.

By James W

Apr 01, 2020

Great addition to the Data Engineering line up. In addition to the updated content on newer tools like Cloud Composer and Data Fusion, I feel like the detail on tools like Dataproc and Dataflow is better than it used to be.

By Rahul J S

Apr 18, 2020

questions given in the quiz are pretty simple.. need those questions which can ensure learners to brainstorm

By Léo Z

Feb 27, 2020

Informative and interactive course introducing to DataProc, DataFlow, Apache Beam, Apache Airflow.

By Xavier A A

May 06, 2020

Last few videos in Week2 have too much python, the only relief is that we have templates to save time. I have to spend more time in understanding the python scripts used in the last 4-5 videos. I have worked with python only for wrangling data using pandas, only grep.py & grepc.py were easy, all others were deep for me to understand. Maybe the course has to reiterate the importance of python programming. What if I want to build it custom, templates may not help. So, please stress the importance of python/java skills in the course

By Scott P

Feb 07, 2020

There were too many labs with services that take 30-40 minutes just to spin up. I wouldn't have a problem with all the labs if the services took 2-5 minutes to spin up.

By Adolfo C Y

May 03, 2020

The Labs need to be tested

By Johnny C

May 03, 2020

a lot to digest on this course... pace is too high in my opinion, it should be slower. good course anyways.

thanks

By Divyangana P

Apr 12, 2020

Dataflow Labs should be explained in greater detail so as to provide comprehensive learning

By Hendra D S C

Apr 10, 2020

Some labs could be better in term of the thinking rationale, error handling, etc.

By Mahmoud M

Apr 05, 2020

Quite hard to follow

By Jeanmann P

Apr 26, 2020

Course was great. Easy to understand and has many labs to try. One issue was that the first Dataflow lab was not working due to the Apache Beam issue. I worked with a rep and he said he would follow up with me after resolving the issue. But he never contacted me again. Probably the issue was nor resolved. So I never completed that lab.

By ARVIND K S

Jun 28, 2020

An excellent course imparting tremendous knowledge and skills in several technologies for data transformation, executing Spark and Hadoop with Dataproc and serverless Dataflow. It's a great sense of achievement to actually build data pipelines in various course projects.

By Iman R

May 23, 2020

Great course. This course tell about developing pipeline for various situation, so the learned can gain the experience in the field too. Because sometime I think just doing it at the course lab and gain the experience from it, it's just not enought

By Gaurav S

May 21, 2020

It was really good. However, could be better if it has more in-depth practice labs when it comes to core concepts of cloud functions, Ptransforms, Par-Dos, Pcollections , side inputs, Maps vs Flat maps and combine

By Ivan E K

Apr 11, 2020

It is an excellent course, I really recommend it. It gives very specific information, very technical, which is ultimately what you need when things get difficult or to take the certification exam.

By Uday K B

May 28, 2020

A great course to help understand the various wonderful options Google Cloud has to offer to move on-premise Hadoop workload to Google Cloud Platform to leverage scalability of clusters.

By Alejandro D

Jul 17, 2020

Great course learning what it is the big advantages of using GCP for data given they have big implementations and with better performance of what it is today in on premises scenarios

By Aniruddha S

May 20, 2020

Informative on various features. But cloud fusion and dataflow are not very clearly explained in detail.. expecting more on this. Want to learn more on the pipeline topic please.

By Sankara S

Jun 19, 2020

Excellent course with appropriate explanation on cloud data fusion, data composer, data proc and cloud data-flow. Must learn course for all aspiring Big Data Engineers.

By Eathiraj L

Jul 10, 2020

This course really teaches me in-depth about data engineering than the cloud or any other products offered by GCP which is the most important part.

By Natarajan G

Jun 14, 2020

Good course covering Dataproc, Dataflow, Dataprep and the labs ofcourse..

great way to get introduced to batch data pipelines in GCP.