Chevron Left
Back to Big Data, Artificial Intelligence, and Ethics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data, Artificial Intelligence, and Ethics by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
179 ratings
52 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you context and first-hand experience with the two major catalyzers of the computational science revolution: big data and artificial intelligence. With more than 99% of all mediated information in digital format and with 98% of the world population using digital technology, humanity produces an impressive digital footprint. In theory, this provides unprecedented opportunities to understand and shape society. In practice, the only way this information deluge can be processed is through using the same digital technologies that produced it. Data is the fuel, but machine learning it the motor to extract remarkable new knowledge from vasts amounts of data. Since an important part of this data is about ourselves, using algorithms in order to learn more about ourselves naturally leads to ethical questions. Therefore, we cannot finish this course without also talking about research ethics and about some of the old and new lines computational social scientists have to keep in mind. As hands-on labs, you will use IBM Watson’s artificial intelligence to extract the personality of people from their digital text traces, and you will experience the power and limitations of machine learning by teaching two teachable machines from Google yourself....

Top reviews

MV

Apr 28, 2020

A perfect course for beginners and non-computational professionals who are curious to explore Digital foot print, the state of the art Artificial Intelligence applications and the research ethics.

AG

Jun 12, 2020

This is a very comprehensive course that gives a very good understanding of what we mean by Big Data, how it is utilized and relevance to the data and AI in our lufe.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 51 Reviews for Big Data, Artificial Intelligence, and Ethics

By JEBIL J C

May 19, 2020

The course has been extremely useful to me. Especially inn developing interests in the filed of Big Data and AI. It also helped me to realize the moral and ethical responsibilities one needs to have while engaging in the fields.

By Malla V

Apr 28, 2020

A perfect course for beginners and non-computational professionals who are curious to explore Digital foot print, the state of the art Artificial Intelligence applications and the research ethics.

By Charlotte H

Apr 19, 2020

Thank you for this very interesting program. However, I think that reflection could go even further on ethics, by also tackling the legality aspect, since the law often lags behind practice.

By Pranjal S

May 24, 2020

The course is great and it helps to get us an idea about what this AI is all about

By Sunil S

Jun 15, 2020

I expected it to give a brief knowledge about AI and big data with the help of coding, but it only showed the past of it and its ethics, which was not quite helpful.

By Prasad K

Jul 09, 2020

Excellent course on How the Big Data, AI and ML technology plays a big role in developing the world. Thanks to all the professors who made it even easier to understand the subject with clarity.

By Arpita G

Jun 12, 2020

This is a very comprehensive course that gives a very good understanding of what we mean by Big Data, how it is utilized and relevance to the data and AI in our lufe.

By Pragati C

Jun 11, 2020

i m very grateful to learn big things in simple way, with experienced prof from various streams. impact was mind storming by peer reviews and solving assignment.

By Guan-Yuan W

May 31, 2020

I would say this course is a good introduction to Big Data, Artificial Intelligence, and Ethics. Highly recommend to one who wants to learn basic knowledge.

By Poliana D

Jul 20, 2020

The course is very interesting and provides a good basis for what digital footprint is, the limits of big data and a sense of artificial intelligence.

By Deleted A

Jul 15, 2020

Pretty awesome and helpful for a new comer detailed explanation of every topic and provide a strong and firm foundation for the topic!

By Milena

Jul 04, 2020

Excellent course, lots of interesting concepts covering the field of artificial intelligence and a welcomed take on research ethics.

By Esther R J

Jun 03, 2020

This course is really very interesting.I have learned a lot about big data,artificial intelligence and ethics.

By Dindson P

Apr 19, 2020

Great course for a quick and easily comprehensible overview of what big data, machine learning and AI entails.

By Minh C N

May 13, 2020

This course has a very engaging and exciting instructor that motivates me to learn more about this subject.

By Jesús P

Jul 03, 2020

Excelente curso para conocer más y con algo de profundidad sobre los temas avanzados en el primer modulo.

By Mohamed T

Jul 30, 2020

amazing course people should know more about this this course and its really good for future knowledge

By ALEJANDRO G

Jul 02, 2020

It is an important overview of ethics as a researcher in the field of computational social sciences.

By Syed w

Apr 24, 2020

it is a very excellent course for understanding some of the big things regarding technology

By G C

May 17, 2020

Really it's very gud online course..... They will teach very gud

By A S R

May 22, 2020

Awesome course and ethics part i love so much.

By N'guessan K E F H

Apr 07, 2020

un cours qui offre plusieurs opportunités

By Steve M D

Apr 02, 2020

Learnt a lot! Thanks to all the tutors!

By PARASRAM M

Jun 04, 2020

Good Course and I Enjoyed this course.

By Bellala P

May 31, 2020

I have learner what is social science?