Chevron Left
Back to Big Data, Artificial Intelligence, and Ethics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data, Artificial Intelligence, and Ethics by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
499 ratings

About the Course

This course gives you context and first-hand experience with the two major catalyzers of the computational science revolution: big data and artificial intelligence. With more than 99% of all mediated information in digital format and with 98% of the world population using digital technology, humanity produces an impressive digital footprint. In theory, this provides unprecedented opportunities to understand and shape society. In practice, the only way this information deluge can be processed is through using the same digital technologies that produced it. Data is the fuel, but machine learning it the motor to extract remarkable new knowledge from vasts amounts of data. Since an important part of this data is about ourselves, using algorithms in order to learn more about ourselves naturally leads to ethical questions. Therefore, we cannot finish this course without also talking about research ethics and about some of the old and new lines computational social scientists have to keep in mind. As hands-on labs, you will use IBM Watson’s artificial intelligence to extract the personality of people from their digital text traces, and you will experience the power and limitations of machine learning by teaching two teachable machines from Google yourself....

Top reviews

VM

Apr 27, 2020

A perfect course for beginners and non-computational professionals who are curious to explore Digital foot print, the state of the art Artificial Intelligence applications and the research ethics.

PK

Jul 8, 2020

Excellent course on How the Big Data, AI and ML technology plays a big role in developing the world. Thanks to all the professors who made it even easier to understand the subject with clarity.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 129 Reviews for Big Data, Artificial Intelligence, and Ethics

By Pranav J

Aug 6, 2020

Excellent course. Helps in developing a good base in artificial intelligence for beginners. The explanations and lectures are very clear and understandable. Won't bore the listeners.

By JEBIL J C

May 19, 2020

The course has been extremely useful to me. Especially inn developing interests in the filed of Big Data and AI. It also helped me to realize the moral and ethical responsibilities one needs to have while engaging in the fields.

By Vijayeta M

Apr 28, 2020

A perfect course for beginners and non-computational professionals who are curious to explore Digital foot print, the state of the art Artificial Intelligence applications and the research ethics.

By Tuhina R

Mar 9, 2021

A very informative and well designed course. Strongly recommended for beginners in computational social science with no prior background in coding. Especially liked the NLP task and the lectures of AI and Big data ! Kudos to the hard work of course organizers who presented the vast /seemingly complex topic in a simple manner .

By Charlotte H

Apr 19, 2020

Thank you for this very interesting program. However, I think that reflection could go even further on ethics, by also tackling the legality aspect, since the law often lags behind practice.

By Azizah S

Apr 8, 2022

It's very good course!. it is equipped with basic information about big data and AI that for common person (never learnt about AI before) like me is easily to understand.

By PETER H

Jul 30, 2022

Volume and speed of recordings are not as good. Needed to follow text most of the time, except for Dr Hilbert.

By Pranjal S

May 24, 2020

The course is great and it helps to get us an idea about what this AI is all about

By Ben B

Nov 10, 2020

I like the specialization. It offers a quick first glance on many topics of computational social sciences but don't expect deep insights. I see the course as a point of reference to start exploring more sophisticated tools, methods, and theories. Again, prof. Hilbert is an entertaining lecturer and his collaborators add practical and theoretical expertise.

Be prepared that the peer-review process might take a couple of days.

Again, the tools used are simple and limited in scope, but a good opportunity to get your hands dirty.

By Sandeep G

Nov 28, 2021

The course is very good and recommendable. However, it is more about history, evolution, implications, research, and ethical implications of AI and ML.

As per the description, it is for basic understanding and social-science oriented

By Rafaela S R

Aug 9, 2020

The course provides an overall introduction to the theme and it is quite helpful. However, there were some videos with a very poor sound and it was necessary to add subtitles to understand better.

By Sunil S

Jun 15, 2020

I expected it to give a brief knowledge about AI and big data with the help of coding, but it only showed the past of it and its ethics, which was not quite helpful.

By Fernando A

Jan 21, 2021

Delighted with the content of the course, the pace and how much I've actually learnt. Even though I studied branches of AI (Genetics Algorithms, Neural Networks and Computer Vision) in my degree, this course has provided me an incredible current and relevant understanding that has changed how I think and feel about AI.

With everything that's going on, I truly believe this is a "must do" for everybody who wants yo understand how the world works today and in the future. Well done University of California putting this course together.

By Ulansari M

Dec 24, 2023

this course is waaayy better than I expected. the lecturer are great. I personally like how Prof. Hibert delivers the course. Many things need to be learned. How fast the technologies and how powerful big data is a quite creepy but I hope whoever has access to it can always use it in a good way

By Liliana R

Sep 27, 2021

Excellent course. I obtained the required tools to participate in Big Data, AI and Ethics forums and contribute to my work team.

Excellent speakers, good material, very easy to understand and I liked the interactive part with other students

By Malini A W

Oct 26, 2020

Absolutely loved the course content. The section on Ethics was absolutely brilliant with case studies and in depth explanations! My only wish was that was longer!

Thankyou for such a wonderful curated course!

By Georgios L

Sep 7, 2020

Given a high score and it provides a great deal for Big Data and Ethics. I would expect a bit more for AIm but overall, a nice course if you don't have the time to technically deep dive into these areas.

By Prasad K

Jul 9, 2020

Excellent course on How the Big Data, AI and ML technology plays a big role in developing the world. Thanks to all the professors who made it even easier to understand the subject with clarity.

By adheena p

Nov 29, 2022

It was a great experience learning a new language ;) . This course gives a lot info regarding big data ,its applications and IBM (I loved nature learning processing ).

By A G

Jun 12, 2020

This is a very comprehensive course that gives a very good understanding of what we mean by Big Data, how it is utilized and relevance to the data and AI in our lufe.

By Pragati C

Jun 11, 2020

i m very grateful to learn big things in simple way, with experienced prof from various streams. impact was mind storming by peer reviews and solving assignment.

By Raj S

Aug 16, 2023

VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE,INFORMATIVE,WELL PREPARED AND WELL PRESENTED COURSERA COURSE ON BIG DATA,AI AND ETHICS. THE COURSE IS ALSO WELL PRESENTED BY INSTRUCTORS.

By Guan-Yuan W

May 31, 2020

I would say this course is a good introduction to Big Data, Artificial Intelligence, and Ethics. Highly recommend to one who wants to learn basic knowledge.

By Blessen S

Apr 9, 2021

The course gave me absolutely great insights into AI & Big Data. Will definitely carry forward the discipline and will engage in an advanced level course.

By Poliana D

Jul 20, 2020

The course is very interesting and provides a good basis for what digital footprint is, the limits of big data and a sense of artificial intelligence.