Chevron Left
Back to Blockchain Scalability and its Foundations in Distributed Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Blockchain Scalability and its Foundations in Distributed Systems by The University of Sydney

4.5
stars
94 ratings

About the Course

Blockchain promises to disrupt industries once it will be efficient at large scale. In this course, you will learn how to make blockchain scale. You will learn about the foundational problem of distributed computing, consensus, that is key to create blocks securely. By illustrating limitations of mainstream blockchains, this course will indicate how to improve the technology in terms of security and efficiency. In particular, this course will help you: * understand security vulnerabilities of mainstream blockchains; * design consensus algorithms that tolerate attacks, and; * design scalable blockchain systems....

Top reviews

RY

Dec 14, 2021

This course very help full for me because currently doing research project in collage and work on blockchain scalability problem and its solutions

GV

Sep 13, 2023

It great and gave awesome understanding of distributed systems and communication. However, this has prerequisites of blockchain knowledge.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 29 Reviews for Blockchain Scalability and its Foundations in Distributed Systems

By Diego M S

Nov 6, 2020

This is a great course if you are a seeking a deeper understanding about Blockchain and its challenging. It is well structured and contains good presentations to help students understand the topics covered. It will give you a fundamental knowledge about the consensus problem and its role in Blockchain systems.

By Vincent G

Oct 14, 2020

A course that teaches the link between the consensus problem and the blockchain.

By Mahwish A

Mar 7, 2021

A knowledge-intensive research-oriented course that brings together concepts of distributed computing to address blockchain consensus problems - mainly public and community blockchains. The instructor briefly brings in the discussion on the permissioned-blockchains as well.

By David H

Dec 17, 2020

This course has helped me to grasp the fundamentals of blockchain and how it is related to the theory of distributed systems. The worked examples in the lectures were very useful in solidifying my understanding and the course content was laid out in a logical progression.

By Victor K

May 5, 2022

Very detailed and difficult, well explained , quizes are challenging

By Sutthima S

Aug 7, 2021

New technology that it people need to know about block chain.

By Thomas B

Sep 22, 2021

Finally, something else than Bitcoin...

By Adnan J L

Jun 21, 2022

While it is a great learning experience, I would recomend adding some further details / explaination on algorithms, specially EIG, DBFT, BCA and BVBA in video format.

By James F

Jul 19, 2022

The foundational elements of this course were indeed useful, however the wk3 dive into symbols and algorithms through me for a bit of a loop. Got there in the end.

By Samuel C

Sep 2, 2021

I'm sorry, but as a business management student without IT background, I rather say that the language is a little bit to hard, especially in the formulas mentioned in Module 3. Hopefully, we can doing real practicum how to make blockchain and cryptocurrency.

By Mohammad H

Oct 25, 2021

This is not even for beginners , it directly take you for consensus with basic understanding of blockchain it goes through consensus pseudo code also how its for beginners and its total to 1 hour even less

By Sasanka S

Oct 12, 2023

Hi, First of all, I extend my gratitude to Prof. Vincent Gramoli for presenting this course to gain much-needed insights into distributed computing at a time that was very essential to me to gain knowledge to support my individual research on blockchain. The content is clearly presented with extra reading which was very helpful. Clear structuring of the course makes any new learner understand and catch up with distributed computing on blockchain. Also, thank you for making this presentation freely available. I highly recommend this course to any person at any age level who would want to gain insights into blockchain! Best Regards, Sasanka S.

By Shao

Nov 28, 2023

I am appreciated that Professor Vincent Gramoli prepare this course for us to gain much-needed insights into distributed computing. It was very essential for me. The content is clearly presented and it was very helpful. Clear structuring of the course makes any new learner understand and catch up with distributed computing on blockchain. Also, thank you for making this presentation freely available. I highly recommend this course to students interested in blockchain!

By Nizomjon K (

Nov 9, 2023

The "Blockchain Scalability and its Foundations in Distributed Systems " course explains well in every aspects with diagrams and examples. I have learned more about distributed system challenges and solutions for them. Especially in blockchain use cases, really well explained. I am waiting next courses from University of Sydney which are related to blockchain. Thank you so much Vincent Gramoli for your great course.

By Saeed A

Apr 5, 2022

Blockchain has grown rapidly in the last two decades after the immense success of public blockchain networks such as Bitcoin and Ethereum. However, it has not disrupted as many industries as was expected because of the fundamental issue of scalability, which has become a major concern, especially when applying blockchain to the real-world business environment.

By Ilyas N

Aug 13, 2023

"Thank you for the insightful course on blockchain scalability and distributed systems. As someone from a non-computer science background, some concepts were challenging, but your explanations made it more relatable. The focus on balancing efficiency and security was enlightening. Looking forward to applying these learnings. Much appreciated!"

By Ester D P

Mar 9, 2023

In my opinion this course is very interesting obout blockchain securtity, the instructor is really focus in the subject of course and explain very very well.

Thank you for everything.

By Rishikesh Y

Dec 15, 2021

This course very help full for me because currently doing research project in collage and work on blockchain scalability problem and its solutions

By Gaurav V

Sep 14, 2023

It great and gave awesome understanding of distributed systems and communication. However, this has prerequisites of blockchain knowledge.

By Ndubuisi

Dec 25, 2022

This course is well explained and very useful for one who is at any level in the blockchain space.

By Harish R

Mar 17, 2024

amazing useful course on Blockchain Scalability and its Foundations

By Liviu B

Nov 9, 2022

Very constructive course.

By Victor K

Jul 29, 2021

Fast and well structured

By Daniel T

Dec 27, 2020

Fabulous course

By DALLI P R

Sep 1, 2021

GOOD