Chevron Left
Back to C Programming: Getting Started - 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for C Programming: Getting Started - 1 by Dartmouth College

4.6
stars
74 ratings

About the Course

Start learning one of the most powerful and widely used programming languages: C. Within moments you will be coding hands-on in a browser tool that will provide instant feedback on your code. The C programming language is one of the most stable and popular programming languages in the world. It helps to power your smartphone, your car's navigation system, robots, drones, trains, and almost all electronic devices. C is used in any circumstances where speed and flexibility are important, such as in embedded systems or high-performance computing. In this course, you will get started with C and learn how to write your first programs, how to make simple computations and print the results to the screen, how to store values in variables and how to repeat instructions using loops. Beginners, even those without any programming experience, will be able to immediately start coding in C with the help of powerful yet simple coding tools right within the web browser. No need to install anything! Why learn C and not another programming language? Did you know that smartphones, your car’s navigation system, robots, drones, trains, and almost all electronic devices have some C-code running under the hood? C is used in any circumstance where speed and flexibility are important, such as in embedded systems or high-performance computing. C is a foundational programming language taught at engineering schools around the world, and represents one of the building blocks of modern computer information technology. Invented in the 1970’s. It is still one of the most stable and popular programming languages in the world. We are excited to introduce you to the world of coding and launch you along your path to becoming a skilled C programmer! This is the first course in the C Programming with Linux Specialization. This series of seven courses will establish your programming skills and unlock doors to careers in computer engineering. This course has received financial support from the Patrick & Lina Drahi Foundation....

Top reviews

RS

Jul 3, 2022

Great explanation of the basics; very simplified which makes information easy to handle, especially with the help of their awesome tool codecast!

SR

Oct 21, 2022

very useful and simple method of teaching...really enjoyed a lot

Filter by:

1 - 18 of 18 Reviews for C Programming: Getting Started - 1

By Guy G

May 28, 2022

Great course but auditing seems impossible since all lessons are locked until one upgrades.

By 马镓浚

Aug 12, 2022

Excellent course for beginner to learn C programming. The codecase used in this course is very powerful. And the explanations by professors are very clear. Highly recommended for everyone who want to start learning C programming.

By Roberto N S

Jul 4, 2022

Great explanation of the basics; very simplified which makes information easy to handle, especially with the help of their awesome tool codecast!

By sisi L

Jul 26, 2022

Very detailed instruction and lots of hands-on activities.

By Calvin K L Y

Apr 30, 2022

A great introduction to C programming language with superb online IDE to practice with.

By Qaiser K B

Aug 14, 2022

This course is absolutly is what that I desired. Thank you

By Peter

Jul 21, 2022

Simple and practical.

By Abhishek A

Sep 18, 2022

I'm sure this course is good. Unfortunately, I could access nothing. There is absolutely nothing to audit in this course. Everything is for paid students only. I was excited about this. C and Linux are something I always wanted to get deeper into. Coursera began with a mission and I've been following it for a decade. But I think the free courses are getting subverted now with more and more courses offereing restrictive or payment only content. This is a huge disappointment for life-long learners like me.

By Cristian M

Jan 15, 2023

Awesome course, I do not have words to express how much I appreciate the teacher's efforts, amazing dedication.

The course is brought to the student in the most accessible and easy way on the world with really step by step guidance.

Huge thank you, you made me realize how a great teacher looks like without even meeting, just via a MOOC.

Definitely worth's it, for me at least it was the most exciting programming course I have ever seen.

All the best for everyone!

By Ricardo V

Oct 17, 2022

Codecast is incredible. You would expect a lot of bugs or slow processing for a fully online compiler like this, but I never had any issues. The instructors were very clear and concise and the assignments were a good measure of how well the ideas of each objective were learned.

By Fatih S

Dec 25, 2022

Great course for absolute beginner. Interactive learning methods are higly efective both learning and practicing.

By Nguyen M T

Jan 9, 2023

Today, I am feeling so good. Coursera help me to gain knowledge about programming C.

By Sri R B

Oct 22, 2022

very useful and simple method of teaching...really enjoyed a lot

By Abdul W A

Dec 31, 2022

A Detailed and informative course.

By Gia H D T

Sep 2, 2022

Very useful

By Ridwan O

Nov 8, 2022

great one

By Long M

Sep 15, 2022

This course is better than expected!

By Rezuwan K

Dec 27, 2022

It doesn't teach you how to do stuff. It just makes you do it if you know what i mean.