Chevron Left
Back to Natural Language Processing with Classification and Vector Spaces

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Natural Language Processing with Classification and Vector Spaces by DeepLearning.AI

4.6
stars
2,727 ratings
561 reviews

About the Course

In Course 1 of the Natural Language Processing Specialization, offered by deeplearning.ai, you will: a) Perform sentiment analysis of tweets using logistic regression and then naïve Bayes, b) Use vector space models to discover relationships between words and use PCA to reduce the dimensionality of the vector space and visualize those relationships, and c) Write a simple English to French translation algorithm using pre-computed word embeddings and locality sensitive hashing to relate words via approximate k-nearest neighbor search. Please make sure that you’re comfortable programming in Python and have a basic knowledge of machine learning, matrix multiplications, and conditional probability. By the end of this Specialization, you will have designed NLP applications that perform question-answering and sentiment analysis, created tools to translate languages and summarize text, and even built a chatbot! This Specialization is designed and taught by two experts in NLP, machine learning, and deep learning. Younes Bensouda Mourri is an Instructor of AI at Stanford University who also helped build the Deep Learning Specialization. Łukasz Kaiser is a Staff Research Scientist at Google Brain and the co-author of Tensorflow, the Tensor2Tensor and Trax libraries, and the Transformer paper....

Top reviews

SK
Jul 17, 2020

One of the best introductions to the fundamentals of NLP. It's not just deep learning, fundamentals are really important to know how things evolved over time. Literally the best NLP introduction ever.

MN
May 24, 2021

Great Course,\n\nVery few courses where Algorithms like Knn, Logistic Regression, Naives Baye are implemented right from Scratch . and also it gives you thorough understanding of numpy and matplot.lib

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 558 Reviews for Natural Language Processing with Classification and Vector Spaces

By Lorena P

Feb 14, 2021

I believe that explanations where too shallow

By Sihao L

Aug 18, 2020

So many small mistakes here and there

By Harshita B

Dec 4, 2020

I didn't quite get the feel of it

By jkf

Oct 14, 2020

Just ignore the video!

By Rishik R

Apr 5, 2021

Too easy

By Dmitriy I

Jan 28, 2021

Too easy

By Christoph H

Sep 3, 2020

I believe the course does not allow you to study NLP in depth. Compared to the deep learning specialisation by deeplearning.ai, this course has probably hours(!) of video material less. PCA is for instance presented in ~4 minutes and the lecturer concludes with "now that you know all about PCA". The only further reference provided is a link to the standard textbook in the field, no detailed study guide or references for individual topics. Excercises are done in notebooks and test beginner python skills instead of nlp understanding (Basically: "Look up key i in dictionary j and store vector k"). It does do a good job in giving an overview about NLP.

By Andreas B

Sep 8, 2020

I was torn between two and three stars. Two, as mathematics are dealt with far to shallow. No proofs, no motivation, nothing. And in the final week, there is a massive notebooks with a lot of flaws and a lot of cells you have to code in a specific, sometime suboptimal, way. Otherwise, the grader will throw errors. All in all, things are handled to shallow and it is more of a coding lesson than a deep dive into ML, which necessarily requires mathematics. This is one more of those "Become a data scientist without mathematics" things the world does not need.

By Jorge E P C

Feb 3, 2021

The lectures skip over important features that should be explained in more detail. Other important concepts are left to the labs, even if those require a good explanation. Evaluations are not a help to practice or understand concepts. Most of the time spent on evaluations is figuring out how to do things in Python rather than follow the concepts. People can obtain 100% in the evaluations but learn nothing. It is indeed a very poor course.

By Paul D

Oct 19, 2020

Rather shallow and elementary course, I am disappointed. I did the deep learning specialization so I expected the same quality level here, but no it's not the case. In a way you're exploiting the fame of Andrew Ng to attract students, but Andrew is not teaching here and you're offering a content that is not up to expectations. I will try the following course and hopefully it will be more interesting.

By Foteini D

Feb 23, 2021

The course covers some basic aspects of Natural Language Processing and can serve as an introduction to NLP, but it definitely not an in-depth course. The assignments are just some Python scripts where you have to fill in the gaps, which is not a helpful learning strategy, since you aren't given the opportunity to try things out by yourself and figure out what works.

By Darien S

Nov 18, 2020

There are too many errors in this course. The lecturing is uninspired. The assignments are boring and weak. Coming from many Andrew Ng courses and the Deep Learning Specialization, this is a huge disappointment. You had an opportunity to create an organization responsible for top tier tutorials and learning, and this level of commitment wastes that potential.

By Fabian Z

Sep 4, 2020

The content is pretty nice, but the videos are so superficial. The assignments provide more theoretical background than the input sessions. There are many mistakes in the slides as well as in the assignments. I feel that this course is not mature yet.

By K C K

Mar 17, 2021

The course runs through the important NLP topics at a very high level. It mostly explains the steps to solve problems using various methods, but an intuitive explanation of the techniques is missing.

By Yu Z

Mar 8, 2021

The concept explanation is too weak in videos. The homework is too much focus on coding. The overall course lacks interactions between teachers and students , but I do learn some new stuff.

By Tim L

Sep 16, 2020

Exercises can be completed without the need to understand the methods. No flexibility in solving the programming assignments. Many small inconsistencies in the notebooks.

By Shafquat M

Nov 6, 2020

The course is very hurried without going into much details. It would be better if the instructors spend more time on the theory rather than skimming through codes.

By Kabakov B

Sep 5, 2020

Too superficial. Without DL specialization it could be too tough to understand what is takes place here. With it, everything is just too simple and flat.

By Utku Ş

Feb 10, 2021

Mostly elementary feel-good with dinner recipe style follow-ups. Assignments are not set up well, have weird issues with submission error margins

By Daniel J

Aug 19, 2020

Might be good for absolute beginners but if you have some background in maths or machine learning you won't find much new.

By Tsegaye H

Jun 25, 2020

I want to skip this course because I don't enough background in the concept to be able to follow the lectures.

By Sergei G

Aug 22, 2020

Very confusing theory and labs comparing with previous Deep Learning track.

By Deleted A

Sep 21, 2020

A

l

o

t

o

f

e

r

r

o

r

s

By Ben S

Apr 19, 2021

By far the worst course I have ever done.

The 'lectures' are just a few minutes long and as expected are very thin. Moreover, the majority (yes > 50%) of the lectures are spent explaining basic linear algebra (much of which is high school level) and hardly any time is spent on NLP itself. Most of the core NLP concepts are barely mentioned and it is obvious that the labs were written by someone else than the person who wrote the lectures as terminology gaps / differences exist and as the content is very thin it's impossible to put two and two together.

The readings are simply annotation summaries of the already brief lectures. They add no value.

The labs do not support learning in anyway. They are simply a 'fill in the gaps' exercise where > 50% of this would simply be figuring out which variable you need to index inside a loop. It is a joke.

The only good aspect of this course is the slack community and is the only thing I can recommend. If you can sign up for the trial for the course / specialization and participate in the slack community. Apart from that, the remainder of this course is a huge waste of time: you won't learn NLP here, you will simply have a guided python tour with NLP problems as content.

By Jianwei Y

May 29, 2021

The content is not as good as I expected comparing to the deep learning specialization. Mistakes can be found from both lecture and assignment. The instructor did not explain as much and it seems like he was just trying to finish the video rather than explaining. The grading scheme for the last assignment is terrible as my feedback said. I feel disappointed.