Chevron Left
Back to Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students by University of Pittsburgh

4.8
stars
1,971 ratings
558 reviews

About the Course

Understanding the clinical terms and abbreviations commonly used during verbal or written communication in U.S. hospitals is challenging. This course is designed for U.S. health care profession students and for international students and practitioners who want to become more familiar with the language of the U.S. clinical setting. Others, such as caregivers and medical interpreters, who wish to develop a better understanding of terms and abbreviations used by health care providers will find this course helpful. The course provides visual and auditory learning experiences to enhance the understanding of terms and abbreviations commonly encountered on a general U.S. hospital unit. All content including quizzes are available at no cost to the learner. If you need a certificate, you can apply for financial aid or pay the fee. To find out more, click Learn more and apply next to the information about Financial Aid. (Use a computer, not a mobile device, for this step.)...

Top reviews

FB
Jan 1, 2018

This course was really helpful. I took notes and will review them often to keep abreast with the medical terms. These will also help me communicate clinically with my PCP. I truly enjoyed this course!

ER
Apr 15, 2019

The instructor's calm and clear explanations make this a joy to watch.\n\nThis course is very useful for me as a medical product translator to get an understanding of the actual clinical environment.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 555 Reviews for Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students

By Deleted A

Mar 22, 2021

Good basic introduction to decoding medical terms.

By Carola L J N

Nov 14, 2020

La semana 6,la parte practica,es poco estricta

By Mohammed N

Aug 3, 2020

perfect course to start understanding medicine

By VAISHALI T

Apr 26, 2020

I learnt a lot of things from this course .

By Michael S A C

Dec 31, 2020

its a good sourse of clinical terminology

By Азамат

Aug 27, 2020

its very helpful skills for med students

By beverly v

Jun 28, 2020

Good introductory or refresher class.

By Linda T

Apr 18, 2020

Week 6 correction was not accurate

By Tuấn H H

Aug 26, 2019

Thank you and wish you always happy.

By jeana w

Sep 5, 2020

Interactive practical relevant

By Samantha G

Apr 28, 2020

good program and teaches alot

By Chelsea

Jan 6, 2021

Great for nursing students

By Stephanie

Mar 23, 2019

Thorough and comprehensive

By Nguyen H L

Apr 26, 2020

Very very helpful,

By Kareem a m d

Nov 15, 2017

very good course

By Isha S

Jul 7, 2020

very insightful

By Catarina F

Aug 24, 2017

good reminder

By Eman E

Oct 4, 2020

wonderfull

By Larissa A d L

Jun 30, 2020

Excellent!

By Tajbibi S

Jan 28, 2021

Excellent

By JOSH E

Oct 2, 2020

not bad

By Mohammed M S M

May 18, 2021

Good

By Chitra W

Oct 21, 2017

i

By Naomi L

Jul 30, 2020

It was definitely informative, but it would help if the medical dictionary had the words in it that they want you to look up in these lessons. Also several times I would try to look up a word with an asterisk in the PRS list and would be unable to find any part of the word in the list. My mother (who has worked in hospitals several times in her life and is familiar with medical terminology) couldn't find any part of some of those words in the list. It would also be extremely helpful if you could have some way of knowing what you got wrong in a quiz. Several times there would be a problem with several answers that seemed to be the same but with different wording, or there was a question in the beginning asking who the doctor is speaking to (the answer was not immediately clear and the question had nothing to do with medical terminology) and when it was marked wrong you had no way that I could find of discovering why your answer was wrong.

By Christina N

Aug 28, 2019

Some of the shorthand used in this course is not relevant in the clinical setting. The videos in week 6 were also cringy in the way the nurses handled the pt and how they carried out the procedures. The way they did things would be flagged immediately in the clinical setting.

Overall though it was a decent learning experience to add to my knowledge of clinical terms, and is a good basic introduction to what you will hear while working in a clinical setting.