Chevron Left
Back to Computer Vision Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Computer Vision Basics by University at Buffalo

3.8
122 ratings
47 reviews

About the Course

By the end of this course, learners will understand what computer vision is, as well as its mission of making computers see and interpret the world as humans do, by learning core concepts of the field and receiving an introduction to human vision capabilities. They are equipped to identify some key application areas of computer vision and understand the digital imaging process. The course covers crucial elements that enable computer vision: digital signal processing, neuroscience and artificial intelligence. Topics include color, light and image formation; early, mid- and high-level vision; and mathematics essential for computer vision. Learners will be able to apply mathematical techniques to complete computer vision tasks. This course is ideal for anyone curious about or interested in exploring the concepts of computer vision. It is also useful for those who desire a refresher course in mathematical concepts of computer vision. Learners should have basic programming skills and experience (understanding of for loops, if/else statements), specifically in MATLAB (Mathworks provides the basics here: https://www.mathworks.com/learn/tutorials/matlab-onramp.html). Learners should also be familiar with the following: basic linear algebra (matrix vector operations and notation), 3D co-ordinate systems and transformations, basic calculus (derivatives and integration) and basic probability (random variables). Material includes online lectures, videos, demos, hands-on exercises, project work, readings and discussions. Learners gain experience writing computer vision programs through online labs using MATLAB* and supporting toolboxes. This is the first course in the Computer Vision specialization that lays the groundwork necessary for designing sophisticated vision applications. To learn more about the specialization, check out a video overview at https://youtu.be/OfxVUSCPXd0. * A free license to install MATLAB for the duration of the course is available from MathWorks....

Top reviews

AM

Jun 15, 2019

This course is a good course to start computer vision for beginner level student, and I offer This course to everyone who is eager to learn computer vision conceptually.

AA

May 06, 2019

The course content is good.There are too many examples and applications.I use python but using MATLAB for the computer vision is new experience for me.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 47 Reviews for Computer Vision Basics

By Dhritiman S

Apr 26, 2019

I'll start with the positive. There were some lectures (Pinhole Camera Model) which were effective. However, this course was extremely superficial.

I'm not sure what the intention of this course was. All the material in the entire course could have been presented over the course of one week. The lectures were mere minutes long and extremely superficial. There was no practical guidance whatsoever with respect to the assignments. I passed the assignments through a lot of trial and error and by relying on prior knowledge of computer-vision and programming.

There were times when the lecturer would mention that certain algorithms would be covered in the next lecture, only to jump to another topic altogether. Not sure if the course content was accidentally uploaded like this.

By An M C

May 26, 2019

This course should have a zero star. TA's are not answering the questions on the forum discussion. Both lectures and assignments are very poor in quality. It's a BIG SHAME that the University of Buffalo has such a crappy material and expects people to pay for it. It's a waste of time!!! The professors and the school should be really embarrassed to put such poor quality material and charge people for it!

By Ashish k

Jul 11, 2019

The course was full of theoretical concepts. No practical concepts were taught by the instructors. If they didn't taught any practical concepts then why they are asking in assignments. They didn't even tell ABCD about Matlab and aspect us to solve assignments in Matlab. This is ridiculous. They should have given at least some examples to solve the assignments. I am highly disappointed with the assignment part. Rest theoretical part was good and to the point but could be more detailed.

By Harsahib S

Jun 27, 2019

I personally do not feel the course is up to the mark.

By Mao S

Jun 15, 2019

The instructor gives pretty good in explaining things however the matlab assignment is frustrating after several attempts failure. More guidance probably should be given for the matlab assignment or it get really frustrating after 6 hrs stuck at the same position struggling to guess the real answer. You should at least familiar with matlab operation for getting started in this one. "intermediate level" is pretty accurate. I am a undergrad year-2 EE student at a Top 10 UK uni and this still remains a bit challenging. The overall level is OK but sometimes stuck at a same place for hours really make me wants to give up for some time.

But overall its a really good course but probably for for a total beginner.

By Evan R

Jun 17, 2019

There isn't enough in the free version of the course to push me to make a purchase. If Matlab guidance is lacking on some examples I have no faith it would be any better once I unlock the assignments. I may be biased after taking the Machine Learning course but the contrast between the two is stark. This course feels like someone is talking at you for a couple of hours rather than guiding you through material.

By Pranay M

Jul 04, 2019

Videos are not complete,lack examples and proper explanation.

By Dmitry F

Jul 23, 2019

One of the worst courses on Coursera. Very superficial. What is the point of this? For example you mentioned Least Squares. In a 1 minute video. Great, what is it? How do I apply it? Nothing, instead in the optional material you send me to a pdf from a University of Puget Sound (what?!) that mentions I was supposed to learn in the class. Huh? And this happens with every concept, some names and terms are being thrown, even the quizes that are being asked right after don't always correlate with it, and in most cases you have to use your intuition, as what is being asked was not explained. The whole course can be finished in 2 evenings (which I did) and I learned absolutely nothing except very basic usage of Matlab.

By Kevin C

May 02, 2019

Great Course

By Ali K M

Jun 15, 2019

This course is a good course to start computer vision for beginner level student, and I offer This course to everyone who is eager to learn computer vision conceptually.

By Aayush A

May 06, 2019

The course content is good.There are too many examples and applications.I use python but using MATLAB for the computer vision is new experience for me.

By Lida M

Aug 11, 2019

It is a good introduction course but I think some more demo coding for matlab in the first assignments will be a good thing so we don´t have to spend a lot of time on google and on trial and error.

By Ziyad M A

Jul 25, 2019

The material is really poor for the assignments. Not enough guidance is provided that I ended up trying randomly to solve some of the problems.

By Syed S W

Aug 21, 2019

Not good enough, atleast for me. The assignments were totally, totally different from the stuff taught there. Plus everything taught here was a vague theory which was not even remotely related to the assignments. Expecting better quality in the next courses.

By Peter R

Sep 19, 2019

Probably the 2nd worst Coursera/edX class I have ever taken (part 2 of this specialization is even worse!). Why do I say that? Well a typical week consists of watching a few videos where the Indian bloke waves his right hand around in a very annoying/distracting manner, followed by some multiple choice quizzes that have little to do with the video you just watched, and that the videos do not necessarily prepare you to answer. Then they want you to read some Wikipedia pages, and finally there's a problem that has to be solved with MATLAB. Again, there is little to nothing in the material presented in the lectures to help you solve the graded problems. At best, this course reminded me of stuff I mostly already knew, and enabled me to brush up on my rusty MATLAB programming skills. This is an interesting topic, and the course could have been so much better. Definitely not good value for the money. On the plus side, it only takes a few hours a week for 4 weeks to complete the whole thing, and they don't make you grade your fellow students' homework - the grading is automated. Which was nice.

By Mikael B

Sep 12, 2019

Plain awful

By shubham m v

Jul 21, 2019

Course was very well designed, it is the best course for beginners.

By Fahim A

Jul 22, 2019

organised lectures.

By Brice L

Aug 10, 2019

A good theoratical introduction to the subject. I am looking now for something more practical.

By Arjun S

Jul 02, 2019

G

r

e

a

t

c

o

u

r

s

e

By Betsy G

Jun 12, 2019

very usefull

By Andriy P

May 09, 2019

I would like it to be more dense on content. It gives overview of many areas without diving into details. The labs feel somewhat disjointed from the rest of the course.

By Hussni B M Z

May 28, 2019

staff not responsive on forums

By Kush S

Jun 17, 2019

I would like to thank my course instructor. It is a short introductory course.

It's interesting and have pushed me to further complete other courses in the specialization.

By aryan

Jul 31, 2019

Overall great, howeve the last assignment needed more help/background from the instructors than provided. I pass 96% of the class but still was not able to get the certificate.