Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Key Constitutional Concepts and Supreme Court Cases

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Key Constitutional Concepts and Supreme Court Cases by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
1,234 ratings

About the Course

This course offers an introduction to the U.S. Constitution and landmark Supreme Court cases interpreting it. It explores the Constitution’s origins, its amendment over the years, and methods of constitutional interpretation. Topics include the nature and structure of the federal government, the powers of the federal government, and individual rights....

Top reviews

SJ

Jul 21, 2017

Professor does a great job and in explaining the complexities. He does not take any partisan stand and does a great job and giving prominence to all sides of the argument. Enjoyed the course throughly

GS

Jun 20, 2020

This course was very didactic and easy to understand. I liked the way that the different theories about each subject were presented, allowing me to build my own opinion and perspective on each matter.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 340 Reviews for Introduction to Key Constitutional Concepts and Supreme Court Cases

By Alison L

Apr 6, 2017

I really enjoyed this course! As I'm sure many people have, I've recently been interested in understanding more about our government in order to be an engaged and knowledgable citizen. Roosevelt explains things very clearly and shares enlightening perspectives on many controversial theories and decisions that surround the Constitution and Supreme Court decisions. It's inspired me to do further research about certain cases and issues, too. I've already had many conversations with friends about this material, and I'd definitely recommend the course!

By Fabrício S

Jul 21, 2020

Dear University, I greet you cordially. First of all, we appreciate your initiative for this excellent course. We also thank Dr. Kermit, professor of excellence. The course provides fundamental understanding of Constitutional Law. What we extract is that the adequate understanding of constitutional law provides a broad infraconstitutional view. After the course, the vision of the right operator is firm regarding the normative force and the principles of the constitution. The course is very interactive and clear and of theoretical depth.

By Carrol L

Jun 17, 2017

This was a brilliant course and the professor was outstanding. My inclination at first was to drop the course after week 1 but I received a passing grade and decided to continue. Amendment XIV was indeed an eye opener for me. I'm sure this time around no sitting Judge will deny me the I not taken this course, I guess I would have died never knowing I had Constitutional Rights under the XIV Amendment under the Constitution for all Americans born or naturalized in the United States of America.

By Michael C

Nov 29, 2018

Enjoyed the course. I've read a lot of US History and was familiar with many of the cases through that reading experience but this is the first time I've studied just the Supreme Court. I have a better understanding now of the Court's historic thinking and ability to change it's thinking overtime. It also helps me to disagree with the court, especially the current court, by reviewing the constitutional reasoning be hide the decisions

By Theresa D

Mar 27, 2023

A very good course for learning about Constitutional provisions and their interpretation by the Supreme Court. I gained some new perspectives about the debates the Court has had regarding different social movements, the rights of various groups, and issues of racial and sex discrimination. Just be prepared to take a lot of notes. I definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to get some insight into why the laws are what they are.

By Sha L

Feb 12, 2017

Learning this course is a fantastic experience for me, a STEM background and without any formal knowledge of US constitution. The professor pick the key clauses and concepts from US constitution and present them in different perspectives. All of these are extremely refreshing and intellectually enlightening to me. I consider this course so far the best art&humanities course I've ever taken. Thank you professor and UPenn

By Pris

Aug 21, 2022

Espectacular, me encantó el curso muy entretenido, interesante, interactivo, ojalá tuviera profesores como el, este curso tiene algo adictivo de lo bueno que es que no quieres parar de verlo, pareciera una serie de televisión o una pelicula, me encanto todo y como explica tan facil de entender y los casos de la vida real y como se puede aplicar todo lo explicado en cada clase, muchas gracias fascinante!!!!!!!!!!!

By Sabrina

Jun 11, 2021

An excellent course to get introduced to the making of constitution of USA, ruling behind interesting Supreme Court cases and the idea of democracy . Professor explains it in a very engaging style with relevant examples. The course modules, quizzes and discussions are highly insightful. Highly recommend it to all naturalized citizens and to anyone who wants to learn more about the process.

By Larry L E

Sep 25, 2016

Outstanding course. Once I started it, I couldn't stop. Kermit Roosevelt III is an amazing teacher and speaker. He presented all sides of many of the central issues in Constitutional law for those of us not trained in the law, and he presented the material in a way that inspires us to become more active in the political process - preferably non-partisan (but that part is just my view).

By Diane B

Jul 21, 2020

A very interesting course. Plenty to learn regardless of one's political bent. The videos are long enough to present the information, but short enough to keep interest. The available transcript helps accommodate multiple learning preferences. It helped me gain an appreciation of where people I disagree with are coming from, and I think I can have more meaningful conversations with them.

By Rafael A R C

Mar 29, 2024

Excelente curso, sobre las leyes americanas y los casos del Tribunal Supremo. Es un gran ejemplo el sistema legal americano que deberían seguir los países latinoamericanos. La búsqueda de la perfección de la justicia parece un ideal del sistema legal Estadounidense. Muy interesante y preciso las clases del profesor Kermit Roosevelt de la Universidad de Pensilvania.

By Eric M

Sep 9, 2022

This is a perfect history MOOC for me - short lectures, a consistent framework and position by the prof, and a lot of insight about what happened to create the current controversies. The legal history is under-reported and this course goes a little bit deeper. Great for a generalist. Sometimes it feels a bit like a Civics course, but again, at one level deeper.

By Sean b

Oct 25, 2017

This is a course that everyone should take, EVERYONE! It brought an easily understandable, non-partisan, no-bs approach to learning about the Constitution and the issues surrounding it. As a unofficial student of the Constitution and a proud American who has sworn to serve and protect it I feel that the points brought up in these lectures need to be seen by all.

By Lea G

Oct 26, 2020

VERY INFORMATIVE & WELL-ROUDNED! This course helped to explain constitutional foundations, the function of the Federal Government, Congress and the President and how they interact in a way that was understandable. Also included many visuals and video clips to establish key points. Well done! Thank you Professor Roosevelt, University of Pennsylvania and staff!

By Carlo

Dec 3, 2016

The best course I have ever attended on Coursera!!!!!!! A must! Maybe some improvements could be made but it is going to be very hard: very well structured, deep and yet very clear, couldn't be more relevant in these post Trump election times, opinionated and yet well-balanced, very good use of the medium. More, please, Professor Roosevelt, more!!!

By Evgen V

Mar 27, 2018

Excellent, even if a bit brief, course discussing the fundamental concepts of the US constitutional law. The instructor's willingness to present two sides of the debate is very helpful and thought-provoking. As a non-US citizen, I would really recommend taking this course to anyone interested in the United States and its rich legal tradition.

By Brittney H

Jul 6, 2020

I learned more from this course than any US Government course taken in high school. If you want a better understanding of US political culture, take this course. I certainly appreciate the evaluation and distinction between the Founding Fathers Constitution and the Reconstruction Constitution and the two views on the Equal Protection Clause.

By Francisco A R P

Feb 1, 2017

An excellent opportunity to learn what constitutional law is about and understand the way the U. S. Supreme Court interprets the Constitution asserting the values it reflects. Professor Kermit Roosevelt conveys the message in a clear and direct way, making the classes easy to follow. A real enjoying experience for me. Thanks you all.

By Luiz G A A

Aug 14, 2019

Excelente curso! Recomendo a todos que não são Norte Americanos (principalmente Brasileiro). Nosso sistema se baseou muito aos moldes americanos. Porém, claro não podemos descartar as diferenças culturais. Mas tendo em vista o molde base da para fazer uma comparação interessante e ver quais pontos deficitários existe em nosso país !

By Russell B

May 13, 2021

This course greatly & rapidly deepened my understanding of American constitutional law. Note: I'm a qualified lawyer with experience in professional practice, but I'm not from the US. The lecturer is very good: he gets right to the nub of issues, and his revision notes at the end of each lecture provide a concise, useful summary.

By Anh P

Feb 8, 2017

Professor Roosevelt did a stunningly fine job at explaining and linking everything together. I knew about the Constitution and the American Declaration of Independence before, but not the Articles of Confederation, and now thanks to Professor everything clicked into its place, everything made sense to me. Thanks a lot!!!

By Ron R

Oct 16, 2020

I thought the course was excellent. It was informative, but more importantly it gave different perspectives and made you think about the rationale behind the constitution and Bill of Rights. I learned a lot and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to learn about the constitution and Bill of Rights. Thank you.

By T A

Nov 13, 2020

Dr. Roosevelt explained with real examples how the constitution influence our daily lives. Most of the videos about court cases and recent issues, make me think about how the constitution can play in our lives as well as how the supreme court develops its job. Very interesting course and I am completely satisfied.

By kenneth s

Sep 15, 2022

this is a grteat class for all Americans to take and learn from. presented in a straihght simple format with a ton of valuable information presented. Shows the why behing the decisions made over time and how they can change. The professor is excellent and makes you want to take more law classes from him