Chevron Left
Back to Consulting Approach to Problem Solving

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Consulting Approach to Problem Solving by Emory University

4.8
stars
178 ratings

About the Course

This is the #3 course in the specialization on management consulting. Management consultants excel at solving difficult and complex business problems. How do they do this? Shouldn’t clients know more about their situation than external consultants? Consultants are trained to systematically break down problems into logical pieces, then aggressively pursue answers with data: • Think about the problem broadly; strategy, operations, people, technology • Define the problem clearly; articulate “what does success look like?” • Break the problem into “buckets” so it is easy to understand • Use hypotheses to “guess” your way to the potential answer(s) • Find and clean up messy data; convert the data into useful recommendations...

Top reviews

KB

Nov 27, 2023

I have lot to appreciate Mr. Kim, the whole course was simplified in way that anyone, who is unknown to the management consulting will change the approach towards it ! great learning and Thanks again

DH

Jan 14, 2024

Goldilocks sort of course, just right length and amount of material as platform to next stage. really enjoyed the teacher also who added value to his written material and kept the interest levels up.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 68 Reviews for Consulting Approach to Problem Solving

By Teresa H

Oct 16, 2023

The course is well structured! As a sophomore in college, I find that, many of the times, the 'tricks' taught in the course can be also applied somewhere else in my life, e.g. creating a good impression for my professors or on-campus employers... This course definitely has motivated me to move towards the consulting industry, and becoming a better person in communications!

By Max M

Nov 13, 2023

John Kim is extremely clear in his explanations, using appropriate examples and useful tools to illustrate the concepts he is teaching. He loves to teach - that is obvious - and I feel like I have learned a lot of useful information including tools, approaches, concepts, and where to find further tips and learning.

By Trần B K

Nov 18, 2023

This series of Management Consulting Course is like a great movie with all the prequel, sequel. I just can't stop learning, it so much helpful to me. It super easy to understand, lots of materials, lots of great tips. I wish Mr. Kim has more course like this.

By Giancarlo A

Nov 14, 2023

very interesting and usefule course, not only for a career in consulting, the teacher is clear and gives many examples and tips for everyday jobs. Suggested for everybody.

By Meline G

Dec 6, 2023

one of the best courses on coursera i have taken

By Nduta N

Aug 18, 2023

Clear, concise and educational. Worth my time

By Victorena D

Feb 10, 2024

Really great course on problem solving. My biggest take away is to open up the problem slowly to clearly define it before going into "fixing mode". While it may seem boring, it is an essential part of the job that will dictate the direction of the whole project. This course also spent quite a lot of time on data requests, cleansing, and basic skills you need to have on Excel to be a consultant. I'll definitely look into buying the book John recommended: Bullet-proof Problem Solving and upskill myself on Excel formulas afterwards.

By Rebecca L P

Jul 8, 2023

As I've learned from the earlier two courses in this 5 course specialization, I've been serving in an "internal consulting" capacity. This course provided me with the awareness I'd need to function in an 'external capacity'. Some nuances I've just not 'processed', you know... In taking on &/or suggesting special initiatives (on top of primary role), I've just "been doing it". My primary takeaway from this course was "framing and communicating" so that engagement with future clients will be (even more) productive.

By Ben W

Mar 17, 2023

Although I'm twice the age of most of his students and completed my doctorate long ago, I found Professor Kim's presentation and frameworks to be very helpful. I took extensive notes, and will be applying some of his teachings to my own professional work. I very much recommend the entire Management Consulting Specialization for people from different fields who are looking for fresh approaches to business development and management, especially this course and Consulting Presentations & Storytelling .

By John W

Jan 8, 2024

John Kim makes the content very approachable and even entertaining while ensuring coverage of concrete problem solving approaches and frameworks like buckets, trees, DMIAC, etc. He also leverages. The information and exercises provided helps provide a structured approach to understanding and using the consulting approaches to problem solving. Highly recommended for those interested in solving problems the consulting way.

By Rajshri K

Sep 26, 2023

As always, found the content taught in this module very practical too. I specifically find various resources reference being provided very useful as well making a best one stop for helpful content on management consulting (it will take years of experience to find these by ourself). Sincere thanks to instructor Sir John Kim.

By P B

Jan 3, 2024

Excellent content and presentation in this course! I found the focus and depth was just right for my understanding the essential steps in being a developing consultant. The breakdown tips for each type of consultant role - new, internal and external-solo - are well worth understanding.

By KUSHAL B B

Nov 28, 2023

I have lot to appreciate Mr. Kim, the whole course was simplified in way that anyone, who is unknown to the management consulting will change the approach towards it ! great learning and Thanks again

By Carlos V

Jul 24, 2023

Problem-solving is such a necessary skill but quiet foggy to learn about it. This course help me a lot to start thinking different and take a problem-solving perspective on any kind of situation.

By andres c

Jul 21, 2023

I really enjoyed the course, it presents a clear problem solving methodology together with practical experiences and tips for its implementation. Very well explained and presented by John.

By Bülent A

Oct 23, 2022

As a "red airplane" :) it is perfect to see how to get the benefit from the experiences that we had after many years. Clear messages for all kind of audiences, it was really nice to have.

By Sachin D (

Nov 30, 2023

Very nice with good examples to explain the concepts. Instructor also had a very good approach and made it interesting to learn.

By Daniel K

Dec 5, 2023

Teaches consulting practices that can be translated and used in regular life too ! Thanks!

By Reza S

Dec 17, 2023

an excellent course for you who have a growth mindset and a will to be a better person.

By Puspavally A

Sep 24, 2023

This was an absolutely practical course that teaches problem solving in the real world

By Othmar D

Jan 15, 2023

another helpful module, thank you very much; happy to start with module 4 soon

By David H

Jan 15, 2024

Goldilocks sort of course, just right length and amount of material as platform to next stage. really enjoyed the teacher also who added value to his written material and kept the interest levels up.

By R V

Dec 18, 2023

Amazing Examples to Understand a practical approach to issues, Which is a much more learning focused approach instead of just teaching approach. Thanks Mr. John Kim

By Daniel L

Feb 17, 2024

Very engaging course. I highly enjoyed it and learned a lot. Many tips easy to implement in the daily business life.

By Siyao C

Apr 14, 2024

Good teaching style and applicable knowledges and good explanation of the "management / strategy consultant" metier