Chevron Left
Back to Cybersecurity for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cybersecurity for Data Science by University of Colorado Boulder

3.8
stars
19 ratings

About the Course

This course aims to help anyone interested in data science understand the cybersecurity risks and the tools/techniques that can be used to mitigate those risks. We will cover the distinctions between confidentiality, integrity, and availability, introduce learners to relevant cybersecurity tools and techniques including cryptographic tools, software resources, and policies that will be essential to data science. We will explore key tools and techniques for authentication and access control so producers, curators, and users of data can help ensure the security and privacy of the data. This course can be taken for academic credit as part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Data Science (MS-DS) degree offered on the Coursera platform. The MS-DS is an interdisciplinary degree that brings together faculty from CU Boulder’s departments of Applied Mathematics, Computer Science, Information Science, and others. With performance-based admissions and no application process, the MS-DS is ideal for individuals with a broad range of undergraduate education and/or professional experience in computer science, information science, mathematics, and statistics. Learn more about the MS-DS program at https://www.coursera.org/degrees/master-of-science-data-science-boulder....

Top reviews

MN

Mar 9, 2024

Learned many aspects of Cybersecurity. Opened my mind into how to make sure not become a cyber victim.

DB

Mar 6, 2023

It is a very good and enjoyable course. I have learnt a lot of things related to cyber security.

Filter by:

1 - 9 of 9 Reviews for Cybersecurity for Data Science

By William W

Oct 16, 2021

This course should be re-done. It had an overview of security, but didn't really relate it to data science.

By matt t

Apr 19, 2022

I don't know that the professor added much value to this course, and I’m honestly uncertain what I paid for. If you have to take this course for the MS-DS course then power through, if you don’t find another course to take. All educational content in this course came via links to outside educational materials/sources: TED Talks on YouTube and links to articles. Those sources were beneficial, but I didn't need to take this course to get that info. It was pretty frustrating especially given that I think this is a very interesting topic and extremely important right now.

By Yasushi Y

Aug 22, 2023

Just lots of external linkings for reference and nothing goes deep.

By Deleted A

Mar 25, 2023

Can anyone unroll me from this course?

By e

Jan 28, 2024

I'm currently making my way through the course material, and based on what I've seen so far and my understanding of the upcoming material, I feel that this course should be remade. The topics are, at best, loosely related to the topic of data science. They seem to me like topics that are better suited for a class that prepares a student for IT certifications, like CompTIA A+ or Security+ for example. Also, the videos don't really teach any content, but instead point to external articles to read and videos to watch. There just doesn't seem to be much substance to the course material.

By Art G

Jan 7, 2024

Don't think that I learned something during course

By Mahvash N

Mar 9, 2024

Learned many aspects of Cybersecurity. Opened my mind into how to make sure not become a cyber victim.

By Deepsankar B

Mar 7, 2023

It is a very good and enjoyable course. I have learnt a lot of things related to cyber security.

By Megan A

Oct 4, 2022

The homeworks were interesting and allowed us to learn and apply it in a creative manner