Chevron Left
Back to The Language of Design: Form and Meaning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Language of Design: Form and Meaning by California Institute of the Arts

4.6
stars
601 ratings

About the Course

In this course, critique is defined as a detailed, objective analysis of a work of graphic design and its effectiveness. Critique is an integral part of the making process for designers: it’s not just how we determine if a work of design is or is not successful, it’s how we move our work forward. Critique is also where other voices and opinions can be brought into the design process. This course will introduce a lexicon (or vocabulary) in order for you to demonstrate clearer and more considered ways of talking about graphic design in the context of critique. Through this lexicon and a provided Critique Framework, we will model and then practice objectively describing how well a work of design functions based on specific, clearly articulated criteria. By refining this skill, you will enhance your ability to communicate about design with peers, colleagues, and clients. This course is essential to anyone looking to develop and refine a critical vocabulary around talking about art and design, such as: - practicing graphic designers at all levels - future and current students of art or design programs - teachers teaching visual art, design, or related subjects - any stakeholder in a design project that needs to communicate effectively with designers on their team. This course is recommended to learners enrolled in either the Graphic Design Specialization or UI/UX Design Specialization on Coursera to further develop their skills in graphic design. You may take this course before, during, or after completing either Specialization. Note this is not an art appreciation course for a general audience. While no prior experience is required to begin, the knowledge and skills taught in this course is useful only if you have some relationship to design in a professional context, i.e., practicing, studying, or teaching design, or working directly with designers. No specific software or tools are required to complete this course....

Top reviews

DO

May 19, 2022

It was well structured and every video, quiz and peer review helped the concepts and teachings really sink in. With that being said, I'm definitely going to take the course again and again and again

JW

Jul 5, 2020

Short course that gives a good introduction to analyzing design elements. This will give you the framework and vocabulary to clearly convey points in your analysis,

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 176 Reviews for The Language of Design: Form and Meaning

By Irem

Apr 27, 2020

I learnt a lot about form in design and the terminology about visual hierarchy, shape and contrast etc. The course was very helpful.

By Chatanrin P

Sep 25, 2021

It's very helpful for practical application. I think for those who don't have much time. This course will answer your questions.

By XIANGYU S

Sep 16, 2020

Very good Course! I like all the design in this course so much! Thanks for providing such great lesson for us~! I learnt a lot~!

By Itza A U C

Jul 27, 2020

Excellent course, I learned a lot. Is really cool to learn in detail about a design concept, and how to interpret the meaning.

By Idaura L D

May 18, 2020

O curso é muito bom e aborda os principais aspectos da linguagem para os que estão interessados em começar a conhecer ot ema.

By Shaun V

May 1, 2020

Well presented and structured. The lectures were well put together and flowed well into each other. The lecturers were great.

By Mehak M

Jul 13, 2020

This course is really a great opportunity to learn something new. Thank you very much coursera and CALARTS University.

By Renata E

Aug 3, 2020

It is fun and as a designer, it help to understand the point of view of the audience in making arts and designs

By Yudi Y S

Jun 2, 2020

It's really hard but challenging myself to improve my knowledge about language design. This course is great!

By Haidar A

May 21, 2021

very helpful ! help you to organize the critique process of any pice of design based on academic knowledge.

By Abram U

Jun 2, 2020

This course is amazing. I learned so much how to correctly critique design. Thumbs up to the instructors!

By Adler A

Apr 16, 2020

This Course is as good as previous I had from CalArts, with short informative videos and tons of practice

By Travis J E

Jun 1, 2021

Change my entire perspective on design analysis! This is a great course! Learned quite a bit from it.

By Michele F

Oct 25, 2021

A basic course to be able to deal critically and analytically with the work of the graphic designer.

By Manoj S B

Dec 20, 2021

​Simple and focused on all the framework terms and explained well for the beginners. Great course.

By Aaron M A

Apr 28, 2020

Amazing course. It really helps you learn to look at designs and understand them in clearer terms.

By Niloy K J

Jul 5, 2021

Special thanks to the instructor for their effort.

Very usefull to gain knowledge.

Thank you again.

By Redvers F C

Aug 20, 2020

A great course. But, I can't reset my deadlines for some reason and that means I am disappointed

By Andrea B

May 15, 2020

This course helped me understand the complexity of design and how to give an objective feedback.

By GARAH A

Aug 26, 2020

great course and true explorative course. an exodus to the world of form and meaning in design

By Amanda E

Jun 30, 2020

learned about poster composition and it has inspired me to use this information in the future!

By Siddharth M

Apr 22, 2020

Very well designed course regarding the lexicons and vocabulary used in the design industry.

By Elga L N d C

Sep 8, 2020

Great to understand about visual hierarchy and to develop skills to critique visual works.

By Saksham J

Jun 14, 2021

Really enjoyed doing the course and learning about design and how things are criticized.

By Elis H

Jun 5, 2020

I loved the course, very clear, objective and content with great practical references.