Chevron Left
Back to Designing the Organization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Designing the Organization by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.6
stars
1,551 ratings

About the Course

Organizations are complex and can be difficult to manage well, so managers need tools to help them better understand and deal with the many complexities and challenges associated with organizational life. In this course, you will learn theories, principles, and frameworks that will help you design more effective organizations. You will be able to: - Analyze organizations from multiple perspectives to better understand business challenges - Strategically plan for effective organizational governance - Develop systems to plan for growth and change - Understand implications of the external environment on business and strategically respond to these factors This course is part of Gies College of Business’ suite of online programs, including the iMBA and iMSM. Learn more about admission into these programs and explore how your Coursera work can be leveraged if accepted into a degree program at https://degrees.giesbusiness.illinois.edu/idegrees/....

Top reviews

DS

Apr 27, 2020

It was the hardest, but best course so far. Surely, it will be very useful to apply in any context. It gives one satisfaction to better understand leaders, organizations, and what could be better.

DH

Dec 10, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, as it helped me understand the corporate world better and how organizations are designed. I found it explained the company I work for very well.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 300 Reviews for Designing the Organization

By charles n N

Jan 5, 2018

outstanding

By Arun V

Jun 29, 2020

Excellent!

By Mustafa A H

Apr 14, 2020

great work

By Ariel V

Mar 17, 2020

Excellent!

By NORBERTO M D V

Apr 27, 2019

Very good!

By Deleted A

Dec 8, 2020

Thank you

By VIDIYALA J S

Nov 9, 2020

very good

By Caio B

Oct 16, 2020

Amazing!!

By Zeyad C

Mar 18, 2020

Excellent

By Julian K

Mar 23, 2019

Excellent

By IVAN P

Nov 8, 2017

Great one

By Jamal M S

May 8, 2022

thanks

By Allan C

Aug 5, 2021

Great!

By Niklas L

Mar 29, 2021

great

By Musa M

Dec 13, 2019

GREAT

By sadia n

Nov 20, 2021

good

By Gaitri A X

Jun 1, 2021

N/A

By Machavarapu V A T

Dec 26, 2020

good

By Balam J

Oct 11, 2020

good

By Malek A A

May 27, 2020

good

By Indra K P

Apr 11, 2021

.

By Georgy T

Jan 13, 2021

o

By Mohamad M H

Mar 30, 2019

e

By Subash K

May 16, 2018

G

By Richard M ( D J

Jun 24, 2018

I enjoyed taking Designing the Organization: From Strategy to Organizational Structure, which is my third course in the Strategic Leadership & Management Coursera specialization with the University of Illinois. I enjoyed all aspects of the course because it gave me insight into how organizations come together, and the strategies that should be employed when putting together organizations. I unknowingly followed many of these principles when putting together organizations and teams, and the course showed me where I made mistakes, and outlined some course corrections for me for the future. Due to business needs I took quite a bit of time to complete this course, but I still got a lot out of the course. I think the most recent study, Week 4: Elements of Organizational Design - Integration was one of my favorite areas of the course. Once you set on a path to put an organization together, you do have to integrate, and the organization needs to execute on its objectives. I particularly like the last reflection essay, which I did on Why Corporate Functions Stumble, as I found a lot of applicability to my own work in this article.